Dhaka vs Kolkata

ohh you care.... 1971 you forgot jats lol ......I am sure even a rat has better physique than a average bangladeshi and even though you are 170 million compared to 1.25 billion ....your hunger situation sucks

global hunger index

india 55

bangladesh 57
Hunger index don't tell the full story.While people in Delhi,mumbai and Punjab are fatass for overeating,vast majority of indian living in Uttar pradesh,bihar,Chattishgar,jharkhand,rajasthan are living in perpetual famine condition.So Indian are in general weaker than Bangladeshi.

Will you please stop with your off-topic infantile posts??

Calling Bangladeshis bhookhey-nangey, short, kaala etc. only diminishes your own credibility.

We all know what the real situation is.

Either present some quality 'on-topic' posts or refrain from posting altogether. Make sense?
usually i dont comment on BD threads and i have no grudge against you butwho started trolling ....see the first page for all kind of BS even brahmon and punjabis are masters of wb

sorry if my post hurt you ... i am out of the thread.

Bilai Bhai,You can create a sticky thread in Bangladesh defence section naming 'Urban development in Bangladesh' where we can discuss and post picture about development in Dhaka,Chittagong,Sylhet,Khulna and other major cities.:-)

Bhais @Maira La & @Doyalbaba - tomra final koro. Amar ager thread 'rename' korba na notun thread khulba?

Some recent years projects which really helped to get rid of traffic jams

Gulisthan Jatrabari 9km flyover
1381497226-muchawaited-10kilometre-jatrabari-flyover-in-dhaka-opens_2922698.jpg

11 km Hatirjheel project
9188679341_ef3f4dd551_b.jpg

3 km Kuril Flyover
kuril-flyover-sideview.jpg

1 km Mirpur Banani Flyover
bk0213.jpg

Past Khilgaon and Mahakhali flyover also helped against traffic jam

Eg2L205.jpg
Mohakhali.jpg

Malibagh flyover will be soon completed

Some more flyover, overpass, intersaction Shantinagar to Mawa. MoU signed with China firm

Dhaka elevated expressway construction started

Initial works of metro rail started

usually i dont comment on BD threads and i have no grudge against you butwho started trolling ....see the first page for all kind of BS even brahmon and punjabis are masters of wb

sorry if my post hurt you ... i am out of the thread.

No hard feelings here - feel free to post later.

No other Indian city can be compared to Dhaka other than Mumbai.Kolkata can be compared to Chittagong, nothing more.Bangladesh has GDP as per with Maharastra.So Bangladesh is comparable only to largest Indian state economy wise Maharastra and Dhaka with Mumbai.

If you look at PWC list rankings, Not only are Mumbai, Delhi and Kolkata FAR ahead of Dhaka by economic size. Cities like Bangalore, Chennai, and Hyderabad are not too far behind. Their economic sizes are 88%, 85% and 75% of Dhaka Economic size (and mind you their total populations are much less than Dhaka).

These percentages only increase in the 2025 projection by PWC (suggesting faster economic growth in Indian cities predicted)...and even cities like Ahmedabad by 2025 is going to be 67% of Dhaka economic size....and Surat about 50%.

Your Chittagong is ranked below Jaipur, Kanpur and is just a touch above Lucknow....and you are saying Kolkata is like Chittagong. o_O

--------------------

And now you are saying only Maharahstra is the only state comparable to Bangladesh GDP? :omghaha:

In 2014, Bangladesh had a total GDP of about 1.1 million crore INR. Maharashtra was about 1.4 times this amount (with a population only about 70% of Bangladesh).

Tamil Nadu was about 90% the GDP of Bangladesh GDP (population less than half of Bangladesh)
Uttar Pradesh was about 90% of Bangladesh GDP (population 1.3 times that of Bangladesh)
West Bengal was about 64% of GDP of Bangladesh (population about 60% of Bangladesh)
Gujarat was about 70% of GDP of Bangladesh (population about 40% of Bangladesh)

Even States like Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Karnataka are significant portions of Bangladesh GDP (about 50% range)...and their populations are never more than 50% of Bangladesh (Karnataka is only 40%).

So dont ever go spouting off that Maharashtra is the only state who's GDP is "comparable" to Bangladesh.

You can check all these figures yourself:

List of Indian states by GDP - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

List of countries by GDP (nominal) - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Reference: 185 billion USD GDP of Bangladesh in 2014 ~ 1.1 million crore INR in 2014.

I guess your old thread is already full of pictures of midrise architecture. The content might not be a good fit for the changed title.
Notun thread kemon hoe? @Doyalbaba vai..

@Doyalbaba suggested new thread. So it will be new thread then named 'Urban development in Bangladesh'...but I should request @waz bhai to kindly make it a sticky thread....

After we create the new thread - let's close this one. The mudslinging is getting real tiring to watch....

Thanks to @waz bhai....

Hunger index don't tell the full story.While people in Delhi,mumbai and Punjab are fatass for overeating,vast majority of indian living in Uttar pradesh,bihar,Chattishgar,jharkhand,rajasthan are living in perpetual famine condition.So Indian are in general weaker than Bangladeshi.
Take your head out of your arse ..... punjab along with north india produced enough olympic and commonwealth medalists wrestlers than bangladesh would produce in next 100 yaers .... speaking of which how many Bd Wrestlers qualified of olympics :lol:

Well sorry to sound condescending or rude but this thread seems to be a fight for the bottom of the barrel.. Never been to Dhaka but been to Calcutta, And Calcutta is veritable dump, The moment you get off the plane at SCB airport a whiff of toxic stink hits your face that stays with you through the stay

Can't comment on Dhaka cos never been there

Dhaka vs Kolkata

dhaka-garbage.jpg

But it does not need EIU’s ranking for anybody to know that Dhaka has been rotting, stinking and becoming more terrible to live in every year. Star file photo

Sharier Khan

Dhaka has been ranked as the second least liveable city among the world's 140 cities in this year's Global Liveability Index released by the Economist Intelligence Unit. Only Damascus in war-torn Syria lags behind Dhaka, which was placed in second position last year too and at the bottom the year before.
It means Dhaka is competing with a war torn city to snatch the “honour” of being the worst liveable city.

Also READ: Dhaka 2nd least liveable city in the world

This is not the first time Dhaka earned this ranking—it did so last year and Dhaka has been hanging around in the EIU’s 10 worst liveable city ranking for several years now.

But it does not need EIU’s ranking for anybody to know that Dhaka has been rotting, stinking and becoming more terrible to live in every year.

Is it because we have too much population? Is it because we have a lot of resource constraints? Or is it because we Bengalees do not know how to keep our living space nice?

If we look at Kolkata, the capital of West Bengal and perhaps the best case for comparison, we can clearly see it is neither population, nor resource constraint or cultural habits that contributed to the diminishing liveability of Dhaka.

Ask any old timers of Dhaka—they would sigh and say that Dhaka used to be a beautiful green city even back in the seventies. Back then -- Kolkata used to be a city of garbage dumped anywhere on the streets; there used to be frequent load shedding and traffic condition was horrendous. The air of Kolkata used to reek of garbage.

But look how the table has turned. According to a report based on a survey by a Non-government organisation published in the Times of India in June last year, Kolkata ranks the best among 21 selected Indian cities.

Again you don’t even need a survey to compare Kolkata to Dhaka in terms of liveability.
Kolkata has a population of nearly 14 million people (metro population is 4.5 million) while Dhaka has 14 million (with metro population of 7 million). However the spread of urban Dhaka is way smaller than that of Kolkata at present.

Kolkata has one basic advantage over Dhaka—it has many more times the number and length of streets which we do not have. The bustling city also has a metro rail service (ours will be coming a few years later) which carries a bulk number of passengers.

If you have been to Kolkata, you will not find garbage on any of the streets—which tend to sparkle with adequate lighting after the evening. Many of the streets do have potholes in Kolkata—but its nothing compared to Dhaka’s broken streets which are also often smeared with filth, stench and are often dark at night.

Kolkata has 48 government hospitals; whereas Dhaka has around 23 (17 of which are specialised). Many Bangladeshis go to Kolkata for better treatment.

The Kolkata government also runs 14 universities—compared to just four (including Shere Bangla Krishi Biswabidalay and Bangabandhu Medical University) in Dhaka.

The number of taxicabs in Kolkata is no less than 50,000 according to Indian press—whereas this number would be less than 1000 in Dhaka.

Kolkata is no longer a city of jams— Dhaka is. Kolkata now has dozens of flyovers to tackle this situation. On top of it, Kolkata has a complex “One Way” street rule enforcement—many streets remain One Way in the morning in one direction, and in the evening in opposite direction. The concept of One Way street is unheard of in Dhaka.

The biggest visible thing in Kolkata is the empowered policemen on the streets. Nobody fights with the traffic police and commuters rarely disobey traffic rules. The result is visible—you will seldom see a public bus driving like a maniac in all directions in Kolkata. No bus will stop in the middle of the road while crossing a signal. No bus will try to crush other vehicles.

It’s also noteworthy to mention that Kolkata is comparatively safe for women. You can see women passengers returning home on buses even after midnight.

And then they kept their famous Gorer Math neat, clean and green. Compared to that, how did we keep our Suhrawardi Udyan?

Recreation, street food, night life, large shopping malls, apartment lifestyle; on any account, Kolkata is ahead of Dhaka. And yet Kolkata has the same number of Bengalees we have and we share many common cultural traits.

So why do we have a city that appears to be dying? The answer is simple: if you compare the sculptures in the public places in Kolkata with those in Dhaka—you will see that we did not deploy real artists to build our sculptures. We just awarded the job to some people so that they can make some money. This goes with every aspect of the city. People who do not love our city, plan and run our city. The policymakers are not concerned about the city because they must have disconnected themselves from the services this city provides. For health care they fly to Singapore. For their children’s education, they rely on western countries. And when they buy homes, they buy it in Canada or Australia. Otherwise how can they leave this beautiful city rotting?

Dhaka vs Kolkata | The Daily Star
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Also check the pictures in this old thread:

Dhaka v/s Kolkata

:)
comparing govt. sectors LOL all know BD govt. service very limited. Some to Private sectors. Dhaka will beat hell out of kolkata.

Wiki says Dhaka's current GDP is $280 billion (PPP). Not too bad right? ;p

Also very convenient that the link source to that number on that wiki page does not work. Sorry I am gonna stick with the PWC report and the UNDP/World Bank and IMF.

And Indian are average shorter than Average Bangladeshi due to massive malnutrition and hunger in India.

Not according to FAO. What is your source?

Despite living in America for almost 6 years now, I still consider Dhaka my true home. It will always remain dear to me and I actually wish to return there after I finish my education. I cannot deny that Dhaka has serious problems that need to be solved but, this is part of the challenge we must go through while trying to develop into a better country. Sure, we have a long way to go but, Rome wasn't built in a day remember? :-)

Take your head out of your arse ..... punjab along with north india produced enough olympic and commonwealth medalists wrestlers than bangladesh would produce in next 100 yaers .... speaking of which how many Bd Wrestlers qualified of olympics :lol:
My dear jat-rat friend,wrestling is not a game popular in Bangladesh.We don't even have any tournament or infrastructure about it.Our popular game is football and cricket.We are best in football in south asia.And Indian performance in olympic is nothing but shameful for a country of 1.3 billion people.

I guess your old thread is already full of pictures of midrise architecture. The content might not be a good fit for the changed title.
Notun thread kemon hoe? @Doyalbaba vai..
I am all for a new fresh thread in Bangladesh defence section as we all visit this section regularly compared to photo and multimedia section.:victory:

We are best in football in south asia.

The FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking - Ranking Table - FIFA.com

India Rank: 156
Bangladesh Rank: 170
Pakistan Rank: 171

We all suck. But you suck just a little more than us :woot:.

And Indian performance in olympic is nothing but shameful for acountry of 1.3 billion people.

So has Bangladesh won a medal of any colour yet at Olympics? Last I heard its the largest population country in the world that has not won a medal yet at Olympics.

And for some reason 160 million people send only 5 or 6 athletes each time too, sometimes 1 or 2.

I mean India is bad, but you have no leg to stand on here when you are much much worse.

Compare the medal tallies in Asian games, Commonwealth games, any other international meet. Bangladesh never wins in the proportion it should (medals) compared to even India.

I mean when they calculate the number of people per medals won (to see which are the most athletic countries), what to do when you have won 0 medals? Divide by zero?:enjoy: