Dhaka rolls out red carpet for Sonia Gandhi

nice to see indo-pak love relation :smitten:

with out india there would be no 1971...... it was her long term dream to break you down...... and the best thing happened in their history till today.....

the genuine Bangladeshis are nationalist and do not consider pakistan india big brothers like nepal bhutan......... they dont like pakistan for past , india for present!
i donot want to talk bad against pakistan .. but you left no choice......... inferiority complex ??? for what??? daily Bomb blasts??? GDP 2%?? drones????
The fact of the matter is that the creation of Bangladesh was a historically inevitable one. Albeit, better off that way. If we were to be a part of Pakistan today, we might be a water-filled glass bowl by now. We can safely assume it was for the better for a good destiny. That was one of the few points in history in which our interests coincided with that of India's. We aren't as aggressive as our Indian and Pakistani counterparts.

What we are seeing in the politics of Bangladesh and even our military today is pretty much the same as that of the Pakistan era. Just a different face and incarnation. We all know that the current AL government does not represent the interests of the majority of Bangladeshis. The AL traditionally stood for Socialist ideals. And yet - are they really Socialists considering that all of their members are millionaires? If we look back in the 90's when the AL was in power, all of the government owned industries were looted by AL people.

Credibility of the Bangladesh military is questionable at best.

It is understandable that state-wise; Bangladesh gets very little spotlight in the global arena. The status of bringing war criminals to justice is one example. So much so, even Indians and Pakistanis themselves are oblivious to it. Let alone the stark reality in Bangladesh right now. Hence the heavy prejudice by Indians here.

Currently, the problem is not just the AL, the problem is Hasina. It disgusts me to the core that Indians claim her to be an angel. Extremely disappointed in MMS's and his government's position on Bangladesh. This visit by Sonia Gandhi just doesn't do anything for the better but neither worse. It's all just photo opportunity and perhaps a first conversation with Hasina. I am sure she'll find Hasina a weirdo ;)

Jeez for the love of God please stop dragging Pakistan into every matter between Bangladesh and India!!!! Forgive me if i sound a bit harsh but this is the truth, Pakistan has nothing to do with BD, as Imran rightfully pointed out BD's affairs don't affect Pakistan. Your internal affairs don't affect us and neither do we care, we can care less if sonia ghandi comes to bangladesh or if BSF hacks/butchers Bengalis on the indo-Bangaldesh border.

Imran bhai no Pakistani here has any problem with BD giving red carpet to Sonai Gandhi. The thing that amuses us is the hatred for Bharat by some BD members. Don't you find it strange???

so many reasons...... many time discussed!! anyway go through the sticky threads of this sub-forum

True economically they have done well or so they claim and trot figures to show how they are better than Pakistan inspite of US money and Chinese aid

true to your come-across 'general nature', a very facetious way to look at it.....the direction they are headed is a more favourable one, though Pakistan economically-speaking is still larger (which makes sense, since it is more populated, larger geographically, and has a multi-sided economic story....as you are aware, US ''bribe'' money has nothing to do with anything of substantive value as far as our economy is concerned. Chinese money is mostly for infrastructure, money they will re-generate and/or be paid back (as has always been done)

It is rather disingenuous (unless you wish to be willing obtuse) to compare India with Bangladesh in for as insurgencies are concerned.

and why is that so?? You claimed Bangladesh is in anarchy. Anarchy entails (on a broader OR narrower region-specific level) breakdown of law & order and/or recurring incidents of violence/kidnap and other lapses against the law of the land. The recent unrest in the northeast and other insurgency-hit parts of your country seem to come to mind. Given the fact that they have been going on for some years now, leads me to beleive they are not ''isolated incidents'' but a full-blown insurgency (even as per PM Singh who likened the (naxal) violence as the single-biggest threat to india''

so the pot should never call the kettle black

Check the size and the composition of the population. It is practically homogeneous except for the CHT. All are Bengalis. If you want to be 'clever', then the Hindus are dispersed and so are thin on the ground and a minuscule. Hardly worthy of being a threat for insurgency. In CHT they have their problems.

there are non-ethnic Bengalis existing in Bangladesh as well; such as Biharis. Though we all know what happened to Biharis, thanks to indian meddling and murder/torture of Pakistan-sympathetic elements. What's done is done though, at this point.

But officious, here also they again score over you. Pakistan is all Muslim

i have no idea about from whom you get your information from.....but i suggest (and believe you'd be best served) finding new sources for your information. Because you are sadly mistaken.

and yet there are raging insurgency and terrorists Muslim against Muslims. I concede that.

any incidents of communal violence in Pakistan will never be close to the types of communal violence that has been witnessed (past & present) in your country

and this doesnt exonerate or ''make acceptable'' the fact that there has been misguided religious zeal being used to carry out violent attacks in Pakistan....doesnt mean that it is acceptable or ''normal'' to our society --which is largely peaceful and hard-working.

There is hardly any non stooge there. They are all stooges of someone or the other.

AL is an indian-loving stooge party....nobody can or is denying that here. And it seems that view is reinforced even by Bengalis here on the forum.

As far as the border, are you in cohorts with smugglers who cross at night that you sympathise with such activities? And have you been to the Indo Bangladesh border that you are posing as an expert?

i never posed as an expert.....i'm just basing things on what i've read. Just last week, an indian border force jawan bayonetted (viking style) an unarmed Bangladeshi. . . does that seem normal to you? No information suggests that he was a smuggler or anything like that. Wasnt even armed with a stick.

But if your aim to to set this thread on fire, you are doing a good job. Well done!

i'm sorry you feel that way....if there was a way i could console your discomfort, i would. Truth be told, I dont see how you can be justified in giving me all the credit for ''setting this thread on fire'' --just because I simply don't agree with your views or 'inputs'.

Jeez for the love of God please stop dragging Pakistan into every matter between Bangladesh and India!!!! Forgive me if i sound a bit harsh but this is the truth, Pakistan has nothing to do with BD, as Imran rightfully pointed out BD's affairs don't affect Pakistan. Your internal affairs don't affect us and neither do we care, we can care less if sonia ghandi comes to bangladesh or if BSF hacks/butchers Bengalis on the indo-Bangaldesh border.

Since when did I drag the State of Pakistan into anything? I was relating history to the the manifestations of the present Bangladesh. And yes, Pakistan does have a lot to do with the history of Bangladesh my friend.

In the context of the present, I never drag Pakistan into the affairs of Bangladesh.

ye fighter ehsaas e kamtari ka shikar hai yaar. he is simple case of brainless guy which bring pakistan for save his face as slave of india .but we are at same place may god india occupy them or tsunami wipe them our we don't care .

you forgot to highlight first 5 posts that contain the word PAKISTAN. we do not have any problem with pakistan. And not interested. thanx.
Priceless! She is there to receive the highest Bangladesh civil honor given to Indira Gandhi for her contribution to the liberation of Bangladesh.

There is a documentary on the war shown in front of the huge crowd and foreign ambassadors with lots of unseen videos specially refugees, massacre and crimes against humanity while India was the only country came to stop that. Pakistan army's name also there many times, you know for what. :P

1. Why would threads on a Pakistani defence forum (Pakistan is what Bangladesh violently broke away from) represent BD reality?
2. Do point out items in AL History that you are referring to..
3. You should write to tech support. Your Mod status is not appearing next to your name. I am assuming its a tech glitch as you are certainly throwing your weight around like you are a MOD....

I am not enamoured by Sonia Gandhi.

But to feel that the Bangladesh Liberation came about merely by the Civil Disobedience of the people of East Pakistan is a bit too thick!

Indira Gandhi played the major role.

If it were the East Pakistani Mukti Bahini alone, Nixon and Kissinger would not have been so riled up. He would have merely given the nod and the Pakistani Army would have ensured that things were all wiped up!

Do you really think that the Pakistani Army was so weak and incompetent that it could not trod underfoot a civilian rebellion?

And there were many Razakars and Biharis who were just waiting to massacre the Bengalis and were doing so.

How many of you have actually seen the Liberation as children with awareness of the times?

It reminds me of the saying - An ungrateful man is like a hog under a tree eating acorns, but never looking up to see where they come from.

We don't care that whether they take name of PA or not. What matters is that we are proud of the sacrifices of all the PA, PAF and PN officers who laid down their lives for our country in that war and that what matter for us. Rest they are independent sovereign nation and they can give awards to anyone they want. We don't have any issue with that. Apnai kharchai par jo chahai kar satai hain. :)

Hardly delusion as per the Bangladeshis.

They are convinced that the lungi clad defeated a seasoned, battle hardened Pakistan Army.

In fact, this thread itself is indicative of that fact and they do not even have the temper for history to recognise a historical fact!

ye fighter ehsaas e kamtari ka shikar hai yaar. he is simple case of brainless guy which bring pakistan for save his face as slave of india .but we are at same place may god india occupy them or tsunami wipe them our we don't care .

I don't think he called out to Pakistan to 'save' Bangladesh from Indian influence. And neither will much of the Bangladeshi folks.

A lot of Indian members did mention the word 'Pakistan' in their posts in this very thread.

Since when did I drag the State of Pakistan into anything? I was relating history to the the manifestations of the present Bangladesh. And yes, Pakistan does have a lot to do with the history of Bangladesh my friend.

Except for 1971 which happened more than 40 years ago, other than that Pakistan has nothing much to do with Bengladeshi history or its present.

In the context of the present, I never drag Pakistan into the affairs of Bangladesh.

But your countrymen did, Sonia Ghandi comes to Bengladesh and Pakistan comes into the topic from where i may ask? You mentioned Pakistan is aggressive? Where does that come into play here? And how may i forget that there was some Pakistan bashing as well.

true to your come-across 'general nature', a very facetious way to look at it.....the direction they are headed is a more favourable one, though Pakistan economically-speaking is still larger (which makes sense, since it is more populated, larger geographically, and has a multi-sided economic story....as you are aware, US ''bribe'' money has nothing to do with anything of substantive value as far as our economy is concerned. Chinese money is mostly for infrastructure, money they will re-generate and/or be paid back (as has always been done)

You maybe the Governor of the Pakistan Reserve Bank.

I am not.

Ask the Bangladeshis, why ask me?

and why is that so?? You claimed Bangladesh is in anarchy. Anarchy entails (on a broader OR narrower region-specific level) breakdown of law & order and/or recurring incidents of violence/kidnap and other lapses against the law of the land. The recent unrest in the northeast and other insurgency-hit parts of your country seem to come to mind. Given the fact that they have been going on for some years now, leads me to beleive they are not ''isolated incidents'' but a full-blown insurgency (even as per PM Singh who likened the (naxal) violence as the single-biggest threat to india''

so the pot should never call the kettle black

It is again that either you want to be obtuse or you have no idea as to what is happening in India.

Maoist have been tamed in AP and WB and are practically neutralised in Chhatisgarh.

Notwithstanding all the govts, be it the Union or the State Govts are functioning and effective. So, where is the issue of anarchy?

But of course, if you are merely posting for the sake of posting without having a clue of the facts or the desire to find out before posting, then you are welcome to have a ball.

The insurgency in the NE is not active in any case.

In Assam, the ULFA has surrendered. Barua there leader has fled from Bangladesh to China.

there are non-ethnic Bengalis existing in Bangladesh as well; such as Biharis. Though we all know what happened to Biharis, thanks to indian meddling and murder/torture of Pakistan-sympathetic elements. What's done is done though, at this point.

Yes the Biharis are wild with Pakistan. Pakistan has renegade the promise that they will be repatriated to Pakistan.

India has nothing to do with these Biharis.

If you read history, it is the Indian Army that stopped these Biharis (taken to be treacherous by the Bangladeshis) from being massacred!

i have no idea about from whom you get your information from.....but i suggest (and believe you'd be best served) finding new sources for your information. Because you are sadly mistaken.

You wont have an idea because you are rather ill read and not abreast with the facts, history or interest in current affairs.

Merely entering in to show your presence as if you are some self styled Wadera who should be given his due!

any incidents of communal violence in Pakistan will never be close to the types of communal violence that has been witnessed (past & present) in your country

and this doesnt exonerate or ''make acceptable'' the fact that there has been misguided religious zeal being used to carry out violent attacks in Pakistan....doesnt mean that it is acceptable or ''normal'' to our society --which is largely peaceful and hard-working.

AL is an indian-loving stooge party....nobody can or is denying that here. And it seems that view is reinforced even by Bengalis here on the forum.

i never posed as an expert.....i'm just basing things on what i've read. Just last week, an indian border force jawan bayonetted (viking style) an unarmed Bangladeshi. . . does that seem normal to you? No information suggests that he was a smuggler or anything like that. Wasnt even armed with a stick.

i'm sorry you feel that way....if there was a way i could console your discomfort, i would. Truth be told, I dont see how you can be justified in giving me all the credit for ''setting this thread on fire'' --just because I simply don't agree with your views or 'inputs'.

Ah ofcourse, nothing will be like India.

it will be like a slow fire so that one cannot realise the way it is destroying the country, right?

Though i wouldn't wish something this terrible upon any Muslim country, however it is funny how these Bangalis are busy bashing Pakistan when it is india massacring their countrymen on the india-BD border.

I don't think he called out to Pakistan to 'save' Bangladesh from Indian influence. And neither will much of the Bangladeshi folks.

A lot of Indian members did mention the word 'Pakistan' in their posts in this very thread.

nor pakistan has to spend single penny on BD dear. he over reacting and he should show him his original place (auqaat) i know what is BD .

Except for 1971 which happened more than 40 years ago, other than that Pakistan has nothing much to do with Bengladeshi history or its present.

That's what I was talking about.

But your countrymen did, Sonia Ghandi comes to Bengladesh and Pakistan comes into the topic from where i may ask? You mentioned Pakistan is aggressive? Where does that come into play here? And how may i forget that there was some Pakistan bashing as well.

That doesn't come into the present.

That wasn't criticism. It was observation based on history.