Dealing with Pakistan

kurup

Indian_Army_soldier_guardin.jpg

The long ceasefire line in J&K came into existence on cessation of hostilities when Pakistan had attacked Kashmir soon after Independence. They had almost reached Srinagar before being pushed back from nearly two thirds of the J&K State. Troops of the opposing sides occupied a ‘as is where is’ ground position at the time of ceasefire. Since then opposing Armies have been in almost an eyeball-to-eyeball contact across the CFL.

There have been frequent violations of the ceasefire. Most of these have been in the form of firing across the border. Pakistan Army resorts to unprovoked firing to cover the passage of infiltrators into India. There have also been cases where the Pakistani troops have physically crossed the line and carried out offensive actions. Ambushing an Indian Army patrol on 8 Jan 2013 and killing of two soldiers some 500 meters inside India was the most recent violation. What made this action more gruesome is the brutal beheading of one of the soldiers.

Of course this is not the first time the Pak Army has engaged itself in such a dastardly act that is not only in violation of the Geneva Convention but also against all tenets of humanity. They did it in the 1971 war as well as during Kargil operations where they mutilated the bodies of Capt Saurav Kalia and his men. This seems in the DNA of Pak Army. The fact that this time there was an additional motivation to collect a booty of five lac rupees, makes the crime even more despicable.

Pakistan of course denies all such acts. Rahman Malik the Pakistan Interior Minister made the most incredulous statement during his visit to India in December 2012 by stating that mutilation to Capt Kalia’s body could have been caused by weather. Even in the recent incident the Pakistan foreign Minister Ms Hina Rabani Khar has denied and has even asked for enquiry by an independent agency. What a crude attempt to internationalise the Kashmir issue? Seeing their denial of an incident that is blindingly clear to all, one cannot help recall an anecdote where two inebriated villagers argued whether a goat has four legs or three. When the bet was about to be settled, a sober onlooker quietly warned the three-leg backer that he would lose. His immediate retort was, “I can lose only if I agree.”

The first question that arises is why does Pak Army resort to such unsoldierly and barbaric acts? Pak Army has tasted political power at regular intervals. Even when not directly ruling the country, they have been the puppeteers of the civil government. Power like pelf becomes an addiction. Pak Army has created a myth of indispensability in their country. They will do everything to maintain that position. Any hint of improvement in Indo-Pak relations tends to threaten that public perception and becomes unacceptable to the Pak Army. It is possible, in fact likely, that the act of mutilation of the body of our soldier did not have the endorsement of the civil government. The Army would have acted independently, which should come as no surprise in Pakistan. But the overall responsibility must rest with the civilian government who must be held accountable.

What does India do? The first action of issuing a strong diplomatic protest was a mature and the right step. Pakistan must admit that their Army has committed the crime. Secondly, they must apologise to India for this act of commission. However, seeing their Foreign Minister’s follow-up public statements this appears a wishful thinking. They are determined not to accept any responsibility. Indian government has now to decide how it wishes to follow through on the strong ‘threat’. We have in the past projected ourselves as an over tolerant, if not a soft State. If we do not act this time we will also project ourselves as unconcerned with the life and safety of our citizens. Our responses in the past have invariably been of ‘we will not accept a recurrence’ kind. Pakistan cannot be faulted in concluding that our bark has no bite. Time has come for us to act tough, and without waiting. Let our Army respond to the specific incident in the manner and at a time and place that suits them; it does not have to be war. Immediately draw down our diplomatic presence in Islamabad and ask Pakistan to do the same in Delhi. Stop all cross border movement of trains and buses. Cancel all trade, sporting and cultural exchanges. Simultaneously gather international support against Pakistan for its highly provocative and cowardly act. In the long run send a clear signal to Pakistan that their economy is largely dependent on agriculture and their irrigation system is based on water flowing out of Indian territory. So far we have meticulously honoured the Indus Water Treaty. But we should not be obliged to, since there is no reciprocity of agreements and neighbourly niceties.

Acting responsibly is a sign of our maturity. However, doing so against a rogue neighbour repeatedly violating civilised norms is foolishness.

Dealing with Pakistan » Indian Defence Review

I agree, aman ka tamasha is a joke and really insults the killed soldiers, cutting off diplomatic ties, and talks, trade and travel, cancelling the visa regime, stopping all cultural and sporting events should be immediate steps. Deniability will go on and India cannot expect anything better, what can be done is reverse the peace dialogue completely.

Totally agree with the article, Unless and Until you wont reply with on the same side of the coin, you will be considered as weak and vulnurable, Any such incident, demands same reply with Interest.

Lets shed this 'professionalism' burden and reply with same harsh action as your enemy's do.

If they don't wanna play with the Rule's then why should we carry the burden?

all india need to do is cut off all border trade , civillian and deplomatikk contact and call back owr diplomats and throw owt the ones here from Land of the Pure and just leave them as they are as we did in 2002 trust me we will have to do nothin

A 1977 Pakistani song roothay ho tum tumko kaise manaoon piya is dedicated to you for this special occasion. :D

Majority of Indians don't wants diplomatic ties / peace talks with Pakistan such things won't make drastic changes in their behavior its nothing but wasting time and resources. India should give up the status of quo in territory issues and make attempts to get our territories back , if you are not annoy them they will. Pakistan existence is always the threat to India.

Totally agree with the article, Unless and Until you wont reply with on the same side of the coin, you will be considered as weak and vulnurable, Any such incident, demands same reply with Interest.

Lets shed this 'professionalism' burden and reply with same harsh action as your enemy's do.

If they don't wanna play with the Rule's then why should we carry the burden?

What about the 'fact' that within same timeframe India killed 2 Pakistsni soldiers..
What revenge India is on about?

Majority of Indians don't wants diplomatic ties / peace talks with Pakistan such things won't make drastic changes in their behavior its nothing but wasting time and resources. India should give up the status of quo in territory issues and make attempts to get our territories back , if you are not annoy them they will. Pakistan existence is always the threat to India.

Because majority of Indians are illiterate...

For real... Ties should have been squashed right after Kargil. No one gives a crap about pakistan in India, except when it comes to cricket.

Which dogs bark they never bite.....let some dogs to bark........A dog of their army also barked in 1965 that he will do breakfast in Lahore.........but then took breakfast of his own ****.:bunny:

Here's why talks with Pakistan cannot lead to anything concrete:

1. God knows who is controlling whom in Pak Government

getimage.dll

2. Any possibe solution (provided it exists) should be palatable to a lot of controlling factions in Pak

Jst.jpg

3. & finally, keep changing the faces on Pak delegation side, the results of meeting remains the same

cartoon_a.jpg

paksreplycartoon.jpg

And india couldnt 'squash' Pakistan 'during' kargil,had to beg USA for diplomatic pressure on Pakistan...
How could they 'squash' after Kargil when they had a practical experience during Kargil that Pakistan may be small but not weak..

Ghand mein dum nahin aur hum kisi sey kum nahin. :laugh:
An acute case of blind leading blind......let us know when you Bhartis have done with chest thumping and come to some conclusion. :cheesy:
I often want to quote this but don't because of this damn title.

I mean there are many times to say this when a drone strikes, when US raids inside Pakistan, ANA shelling in Pakistan, Talibunnies killing people, TTP, BLA killing PA and Politicians and entire Govt. says, Stop Drone Attacks, Its violation of our sovereignty and blah blah blah.

Itna dam bhi nahin ki jin terrorists ko pakda, unko bhi faansi de do. ::rofl

And india couldnt 'squash' Pakistan 'during' kargil,had to beg USA for diplomatic pressure on Pakistan...
How could they 'squash' after Kargil when they had a practical experience during Kargil that Pakistan may be small but not weak..
Beg to US ? Dude, what are you talking. India didn't ask anyone. Clinton called Vajpayee, What are you going to do, Vajpayee said, What do you want me to do, I have to reply to my people. Clinton got the message and summoned NS and told him to back off.

Same after 26/11, Pakistan called, US, China, KSA etc. saying India is going to attack please mediate.

Even you went to US and UN this time too, they said its your own matter, deal with it. There is a thread on it. Even China gave you a cold shoulder.