Crackdown against hate literature

How does eyewitness accounts have anything to do with public opinions? You didn't ask for public opinions, you asked for 'eyewitness accounts'.
I wanted the press to report the opinions of Pakistanis who witnessed the operation. My bad for not being clear about that, sorry.

we are protecting them if there identities are revealed they become potential victims of those sub- animals
Yes, that is another reason why people would have refrained from going on TV - the areas where hate material is distributed are also areas with relatively large amounts of extremists. They could attack people if they wanted to.

I wanted the press to report the opinions of Pakistanis who witnessed the operation. My bad for not being clear about that, sorry.
Right, that's fair enough. Apologies if my previous post sounded antagonistic. I too wondered why didn't they interview the locals, the should've taken an interview like they did for the Lal Masjid protests. Fear could've had something to do with it, like I explained before, people could be reluctant to show their faces in those kinds of places. Where there's hate material, there's hate too - hate that could easily turn into violence.

The material in the images is clearly extremist, something about 'Jihad', fighting and, as you can probably tell, hateful things about the US. So I don't think any non-extremist would object to those being seized.

...I too wondered why didn't they interview the locals, the should've taken an interview like they did for the Lal Masjid protests. Fear could've had something to do with it, like I explained before, people could be reluctant to show their faces in those kinds of places. Where there's hate material, there's hate too - hate that could easily turn into violence.
I wondered if it had something to do with laziness or poor standards of journalism but your explanation is more convincing - though it would behoove reporters to mention this.

Those newspapers, Dawn and Express Tribune, generally have decent standards, so I wouldn't say that's a likely reason.

The journalists saw it themselves, why do you want them to go around pestering eyewitnesses?
View attachment 182646
An FC official shows the material seized during a raid in Quetta. PHOTO: NNI

View attachment 182651

The Geo channel apologized for it - well, not enough, but at least it shows that there was a considerable outcry against it, forcing them to apologize
Geo apologises for hate speech against Ahmadis in Amir Liaquat’s show - Pakistan - DAWN.COM
I always have hope in Pakistan even a single voice like you we having. We as nation InshaAllah merge again from ashes, a drop of water make a river, Allah ap jese aur hazaron lalkhon ki esi toufiq ata farmaye. Ameen.

Crackdown started against hate literature dealers
January 07, 2015, 8:10 pm

Quetta- Several people have been arrested for distributing and selling hate literature and CDs in Baluchistan, in a crackdown against elements inciting hatred.

Police and FC jointly launched crackdown in several places of the province including Quetta, Turbat, Nokundi, Tuqftan, Chaman Market, Qela Abdullah, Noshaki, Chatkan Market, Chagi, Dalbandin, Loralai, Sibi, Mach, DhaDr, Dera Murad Jamli, Sui, Hub, Bela, Aothal, and Dera Bugti.

During the search operation, 49 computers containing hate speech literatures, 5 USB 5 audio cassettes, 46 books were found and 20 markets have been sealed while 39 have been arrested and e handed over to the Police.

-The Nation
Crackdown started against hate literature dealers

Similar, recent reports:
Hate material seized in Balochistan crackdown - Pakistan - DAWN.COM
Hate material seized in Balochistan crackdown | Pakistan Today
Shopkeepers arrested, hate material seized during crackdown in Balochistan – The Express Tribune

Some good steps are being taken but they need to be consistent. This 'crackdown' needs to be enforced uniformly and made a law that is to be enforced indefinitely.

Also, what qualifies as hate material needs to be clearly defined. There need to be degrees of offense, ranging from hate material, instigating material and terrorist material, with clear and well-defined penalties for each of these.

Great, I hope the crackdown continues. We must educate our people so that they don't easily fall prey to these Mullahs!

Anyone distributing hate literature should face the music...

The Geo channel apologized for it - well, not enough, but at least it shows that there was a considerable outcry against it, forcing them to apologize
Geo apologises for hate speech against Ahmadis in Amir Liaquat’s show - Pakistan - DAWN.COM

I've seen that apology. I've also seen another recent video of Bemar Liaquat in which he indirectly threatens Ahmadis again. The apology is useless if the actions don't match. Geo also apologised the last time they broadcast programmes, nothing happened to Bemar Liaquat though. He's back and still sprouting rubbish.

They need to look into social media particularly facebook
Nobody buys dvds these days
I don't think they can do anything to material on facebook, it's not their jurisdiction - unless you want them to ban it. At most, we can report content on FB.
Many people do rely on DVDs, posters, books etc for recruitment. People still use cassettes and VCR tapes in Pakistan, what makes you think they won't use DVDs? The vast majority of people in Pakistan don't have internet or computers, and even if they did they wouldn't know how to use it.

I've seen that apology. I've also seen another recent video of Bemar Liaquat in which he indirectly threatens Ahmadis again. The apology is useless if the actions don't match. Geo also apologised the last time they broadcast programmes, nothing happened to Bemar Liaquat though. He's back and still sprouting rubbish.
:tsk: , I was expecting it (his shameless return) but hoping it wouldn't happen. Liaqat sahab needs to be taken care of.