CPEC panel okays ambitious Karachi coastline plan

rif Alvi was once in JI, so maybe that's why, JI are bunch of Thugs and their Gunda gardi is well known in Universities and colleges across Karachi,
Yah I know college main hum ne bhi aik do Islami Jamiat Tulba waloo ko peeta hai .... but those were their last days in institutions after 2006 their downfall from educational institutes started and now they are almost non-functional in most of the educational institutes.
but when it comes to Seats they won't win much as they are just crazy lunatics.
agreed but as we know even the number 100 have two zero in it but at the right, place same is the case here in Karachi politics JI have zero political value on its own it can not single constituency but PTI could lose seat with thin margin to its opponent keep in mind MQM is habitual to leave the government within the one year before election so in coming election OTI would need at least 5% additional votes in every constituency in Karachi.

PPP being in governing party is in position to influence the next general election as we know they have already done their homework for this appointment of Murtaza Wahab as administrator Karachi is also related to this strategy, just few days back a scandal related to voter list have emerger and as per initial details some constituency have more registered votes than the population as per the last consensus.

So PTI will have no option in Karachi in next general election, they would not make alliance with ANP in Karachi for obvious reasons, nor MQM will support them as per their traditional strategy.

Is evergrande among the investors 😂😂
Could be
Evergrande will default on foreign bond holders
I guess who will be the losers
china, ofcourse not ..its privatr entity with several large private entities default in USA every day
Local holders wont be effected as govr is forcing evergeande not to pay bonds fees but rather complete it projects

Could be
Evergrande will default on foreign bond holders
I guess who will be the losers
china, ofcourse not ..its privatr entity with several large private entities default in USA every day
Local holders wont be effected as govr is forcing evergeande not to pay bonds fees but rather complete it projects
Does the Evergrande issues corporate bonds in Pakistan? Or investment?

Nope
People need to underatand that if Pam air or at&t get dwfaulted it wont hurt usa the same way evegrande wont do shit to china

Its not like its chinese govt bonds

Nope
People need to underatand that if Pam air or at&t get dwfaulted it wont hurt usa the same way evegrande wont do shit to china

Its not like its chinese govt bonds

The problem is that Evergrande does not owe Karachi govt money, but Evergrande invests in Karachi. How does Evergrande's debt hurt Karachi?

They can build on the ruins of whatever Bhutto’s & Zardari’s legacy leaves. Karachi is a lost now due to them.

This is not a game-changer when just a few miles away people in Machar colony and alike are suffering due to disease, Poor healthcare, infrastructure and unemployment. PM Imran Khan keeps yelling that the difference between poor and rich is increasing on the world stage, yet he ignores his backyard.
They can build on the ruins of whatever Bhutto’s & Zardari’s legacy leaves. Karachi is a lost now due to them.
Yes, but it is not like Imran khan is showing any pity to karachites. PPP deserve all the hate they get plus more. But Imran Khan is stubborn in lending a helping hand to the people of Karachi just because of differences with PPP. How about we ignore them and work for the masses, the average Joe.

I love the project and want it to happen, but as someone from Karachi I can almost give you a guarantee that this project will never happen. Unless, of course, at least 50% of the profits are handed over to Zardari, PPP and the waderas. I doubt that the company planning this would do that.

That whole development is sitting on a highly populated shantytown. People here say that it has 500,000 people living there. It hasn't happened in Pakistan's history that so many people have been moved out of any area. When building the Lyari Expressway moving a few thousand illegal squatters took more than a decade.

If a Chinese company planned this they may be be thinking that Pakistan is like China. I know that in Beijing, Shanghai and other cities there are no slums any more. They've bulldozed the slums and moved people into highrise apartments. In contrast, over 70% of Karachi consists of slums, built with no planning permission.

In Pakistan you touch a slum dweller and they'll call their local thug and before you know it there will be armed resistance and violence controlled from PPP headquarters.

If there's a miracle and they're able to get rid of half a million people, then this project will be nice. Except that it'll be like living in a smelly gutter. Karachi's sewerage, produced by 20 million, people is dumped untreated into the sea very near this site. The place smells of rotten sewerage and the sea water is black.

In the latest Economist Intelligence Unit list of most livable cities in the world Karachi is ranked 134. Basically it is a hell on earth.

The issue of who governs Karachi needs to be solved first. Will the people of the city ever get a say in running the city or will it be forever controlled by outsiders who hate it?

Secondly, the city's infrastructure needs to be fixed. It is a vast garbage dump. No water, no electricity, no traffic management, no planning, no storm water drainage, no sidewalks to walk on, no greenery. The vast bulk of Karachi is worse than the worst cities in Africa.

Pakistanis living abroad, who can afford expensive real estate, don't want to move to Karachi. People who already live there want to invest abroad or to leave when they get a chance.

I can write a whole book about the systematic destruction of Karachi, but you get the idea? The Chinese will find out soon enough.

arey yaar, who would object to such a wonderful real estate deal? They would build them, sell them and will make twice as much all in 5 years. I am pretty sure their business will be sovereign protected too. This is like investors dream opportunity.

True, this investment in heart of Karachi is quite safe. China so far have refused to lower interest rate on ML-1 railway project, lets see if both countries agree in near future.

I agree with you that this isn't ideal investment for Pakistan. As long as CAD crisis exist Pakistan will not grow more then 5%. Only investment in export related industries and FDI can bring sustainable 8% growth or more.

Don't think Waderas of Sindh will let this project complete.

Built-in Point of Failure of this project

population in that area is of mixed origin Bangali, Barmi, Baloch and some Pukhtoon population resides there .... PPP not only have sizable vote bank in that area but also control the underworld and mafias of that area; consider it mini as lyari in terms of mafia and gang supported by local PPP leaders.

ANP and MQM is not any more active in this area, both in terms of politics and activities related to criminal world.

But my biggest issue with this project is Why Minister of port and shipping is consistently showing interest in real estate project than the maritime and shipping affairs ..... ????

after the failure of their first proposal now this new one .... ???

I don't think it will serve the interest of PTI and to the people of Karachi and have potential of becoming one of the scandals of PTI government.
They were harping on about Karachi's abysmal sewage system, imagine now what will happen when such a huge backwater is made into land, where will the floodwater flow through now? A narrow channel? This is the most stupid thing i have ever witnessed i am sorry to say but it just is. How can they even have the audacity to say they are fixing the issues of Karachi by literally building something that does the opposite of what they intend... Also i am extremely interested in where they will be able to accommodate such a huge amount of people other than throwing them onto the road.