Country producing surplus power: PM

Kabira

KARAK - Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi on Thursday inaugurated an oil and gas processing and LPG recovery plant in the Nashpa of Karak, which, he said, has been completed at a cost of Rs20 billion.

Addressing the inaugural ceremony, the prime minister said that the OGDCL would get Rs60 billion annual income from the project, while 400 tons of LPG would be processed at the facility on a daily basis.

Abbasi said that the federal government has paid Rs42 billion to the Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa government in royalty against the oil and gas produced from the area. The premier announced to bear half of the expenditures, with the KP government, in providing gas facility to the people of the district.

He said that when the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz government came to power in 2013, about 1000 tons of gas was produced in the country and now the production has reached 1800 tons.

Abbasi recalled that when they were voted to power, 16-hour-long load-shedding was carried out across the country and now the country was producing surplus electricity. He said that the government was observing load-shedding only in those areas where line losses and pilferages were high.

He said that his government has put the country on the path to development according to the vision of former prime minister Nawaz Sharif.

“It is up to the masses who they vote to: either they cast their vote to those who are abusing or to those who believe in decent politics and work”. He said that the people would decide in July general election and expressed the hope that the electorates would decide in favour of the PML-N keeping its performance in view.

He appreciated the performance of the OGDCL and PPL gas companies and said that both the companies had been included in the best companies of the world. He also announced a one-month bonus for the OGDCL employees.

The prime minister announced gas supply to the population living in five-kilometer-radius of gas fields and also announced to legalize gas connections in areas where pilferage was high.

He further announced to link district Karak with the China Pakistan Economic Corridor via Shakardara and to also hand over Banda Daud Shah Road and Tall Road to National Highway Authority for completing work as early as possible.

The prime minister also approved a woman university campus for Karak and asked the OGDCL to establish a modal educational institution in the area. He also announced health cards for deserving people in district Karak.
https://nation.com.pk/09-Mar-2018/country-producing-surplus-power-pm

End of laod shedding where? I still see loadshedding in other area of my town from 7:30pm to 8:30pm in Karachi.

So loadshedding ended in Punjab? or all over Pakistan?

End of laod shedding where? I still see loadshedding in other area of my town from 7:30pm to 8:30pm in Karachi.

Private K-electric is responsible for Karachi. In other parts of country loadshedding have ended where people pay their bills.

Why there is still load shading if we are surplus? :what:

"He said that the government was observing load-shedding only in those areas where line losses and pilferages were high."

They didn't promise to end loadshedding for thieves.

That could be true. Something both India and Pakistan need to work on. India too produces surplus power and is adding around 10GW of Power generation every year. Still we have power cuts because of poor transmission, line losses and electricity theft. In states like Bihar and UP almost 45% of electricity is stolen but the state government don't act.

Private K-electric is responsible for Karachi. In other parts of country loadshedding have ended where people pay their bills.

"He said that the government was observing load-shedding only in those areas where line losses and pilferages were high."

They didn't promise to end loadshedding for thieves.

One more thing bro, in winter season the water in dams reduces to a very low level, India stops Pakistan's water using dams/water storages in IOK, plus the rains in winter are also to a minimum, second the available water in dams is stored for Kharif crops, that is a decades old practice, so hydel energy production drops down drastically, the hydel power generation start coming to its max after mid may, when glaciers start melting & water start coming in rivers, and then in end June rainy season starts... But having said that, i feel this summer the load shedding will be minimum INSHAALLAH...
One can observe (if unbiased) a gradual decrease in Load Shedding since 2015-16...

Finally after decade of shortages. Well done Nawaz Sharif.

Why there is still load shading if we are surplus? :what:

Pakistan is probably 50 years away from having good amount of electricity and energy... perhaps even more....we rank incredibly low electricity per capita. 164th position in the world... ahead of poor African nations is not a big achievement..... India was 158th position this was in 2007.... I still think India have better energy per capita than Pakistan.

Producing power is only one part of the solution

We still need to fix the way power is transmitted through poor power lines
Theft of power
Bills not paid

But a power surplus is a good start that will boost our economy

Kuch khata hai tou lagata bhi hai - 'guy with donkey boti in his mouth'

Does that country include Balochistan and rural Punjab too???
Yes I am from Lahore, have about 2 or 3 times load shedding for an hour a week. That's fine but last i talked to friends In Zhob and vehari and They face 6 to 8 hours blackout. Are they not pakistan?? N

One more thing bro, in winter season the water in dams reduces to a very low level, India stops Pakistan's water using dams/water storages in IOK, plus the rains in winter are also to a minimum, second the available water in dams is stored for Kharif crops, that is a decades old practice, so hydel energy production drops down drastically, the hydel power generation start coming to its max after mid may, when glaciers start melting & water start coming in rivers, and then in end June rainy season starts... But having said that, i feel this summer the load shedding will be minimum INSHAALLAH...
One can observe (if unbiased) a gradual decrease in Load Shedding since 2015-16...
Good for you and me to say who live in Lahore and Islamabad.
And think our cities are whole pakistan. I wish you just visit the nearest village.

Does that country include Balochistan and rural Punjab too???
Yes I am from Lahore, have about 2 or 3 times load shedding for an hour a week. That's fine but last i talked to friends In Zhob and vehari and They face 6 to 8 hours blackout. Are they not pakistan?? N

Good for you and me to say who live in Lahore and Islamabad.
And think our cities are whole pakistan. I wish you just visit the nearest village.

Please read.