Centre mulls tougher sedition law

Soumitra

Centre mulls tougher sedition law

March 2: The Centre is planning to make the sedition law more stringent, Union minister M. Venkaiah Naidu said today, hinting that a call for azadi (freedom) - made infectious by Kanhaiya Kumar - would be covered by the new definition.

"If raising azadi slogans is not treason, then I don't know what is," Naidu said in an interview to India Today.

The electrifying azadi speech of Kanhaiya, former Jawaharlal Nehru University Students' Union president, after his release from jail last March might have been on Naidu's mind. He had been labelled an "anti-national" and arrested on sedition charges.

In an oblique reference to the Supreme Court's ruling that only speech that is followed by immediate and proximate violence can be described as seditious, the minister claimed: "The slogan of azadi is followed by violence."

Kanhaiya, in a speech that captivated the country, had called for azadi - from starvation, from corruption, from the RSS, from caste and from communal thought.

Together with Naidu, his cabinet colleague Arun Jaitley added fuel to the nationalism debate kept alive all this week by junior home minister Kiren Rijiju in the wake of the #FightBackDU campaign launched by Delhi University student Gurmehar Kaur against the Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad, the Sangh's student wing.

"Nationalism is a bad word only in India," Jaitley said today.

"We must take part in any debate related to disputes over nationalism. The reason is clear. The BJP is committed to its fundamental ideology of love for this country. We will certainly present our side if somebody talks about breaking the country," the finance minister said in Varanasi.

Jaitley claimed "some people" were trying to drag the issue of nationalism into the Uttar Pradesh polls. "We didn't start the debate. Nationalism is a good word. It is only in this country that nationalism is considered bad (by some people). An effort is on to make a controversy out of it," he said.

Gurmehar, a first-year student of Lady Sri Ram College, had launched an "I-am-not-afraid-of-ABVP" campaign after the Sangh student wing allegedly thrashed DU students for inviting JNU scholars Umar Khalid and Shehla Rashid to a seminar at Ramjas College.

Junior home minister Kiren Rijiju was among the BJP leaders who ridiculed the 20-year-old whose father, a captain in the Indian Army, had died fighting militants in Kashmir when she was two. A BJP minister from Haryana yesterday said anyone supporting Gurmehar should be thrown out of the country.

But Jaitley today suggested that the BJP's rivals were stoking the controversy. "A false rumour was spread during the Delhi elections (February 2015) that some churches were attacked. Then some (writers) started returning their awards during the Bihar polls (October-November 2015). Obviously, some people are trying the same during the UP elections."

Jaitley said the state's voters had become weary of "hegemony" of some classes and sections patronised by the ruling Samajwadi Party and the Bahujan Samaj Party.

"The voters have turned rebellious against the two parties' model of politics in Uttar Pradesh. It is clearly based on dividing the society on the basis of castes... to maintain the hegemony of a particular class for their political self-identification."

https://www.telegraphindia.com/1170303/jsp/nation/story_138738.jsp#.WLkEkVV97IU

Is calling for our legitimate right to have independent Tamil Nadu sedition? What happened to freedom of speech?

Isn't Freedom of Speech comes with certain responsibilities and legal obligation.
If this isn't case then Freedom of Speech exercised to full extent can i threaten anyone and then call it Freedom of Speech ?

That is the need of the hour. :tup:

Constitution of India allows Freedom to all the states & it doesn't allow any state to demand separate country. :coffee:

Yes it will be sedition. But you are trying to hard. We all know that you are a flase flag Pakistani pretending to be a tamilian

hope supreme court will strike down such dumb law... whats wrong is shouting azadi... much better than fighting with guns... you dont allow people to express then you cant have dialogue.. and you will force people towards extremism.

That is not "your" legitimate right. Its the right of people of Tamil Nadu and they are with Bharatha Nadu. Jobless persons like you should try to win a councellor seat with your ideology and then must talk.

hope supreme court will strike down such dumb law... whats wrong is shouting azadi... much better than fighting with guns... you dont allow people to express then you cant have dialogue.. and you will force people towards extremism.
Kisse Azaadi chahiye? What Dialog you want? It starts with shouting for Azadi and ends with picking of gun. and when the police responds the liberal brigade says rising intolerance

If you are dissatisfied with the govt fight the election and win. Then you can have all the azaadi you want

You want to know why I consider humnaities people sick in the head listen to this video.

This is how professors brain wash their students

Many of you here seem to be ignorant of the non-democratic nature of the so-called "India".

Couple of you posted above, why not win an election instead of calling for independence for my country (Tamil Nadu). The H-indian parliament amended the constitution that anyone seeking for independence for Tamil Nadu (or any other region) cannot contest election.

I challenge the Indian gov to remove the amendment. Tamil nationalists would win overwhelming majority in Tamil Nau assembly, and demand independence.

Absolutely. I could not have put it better.

God knows the existing sedition laws are bad enough. Once booked your life and career is pretty much ruined. Heck it's probably easier to kill a man and serve out a sentence than have the spectre of a sedition case running over your head.

Wo jism bhi kya jism hai jis mein na ho khoon-e-junoon
Kya lade toofaanon se jo kashti-e-saahil mein hai

Sarfaroshi ki tamanna ab hamaare dil mein hai
Dekhna hai zor kitna baazu-e-qatil mein hai

Kisse Azaadi chahiye? What Dialog you want? It starts with shouting for Azadi and ends with picking of gun. and when the police responds the liberal brigade says rising intolerance

If you are dissatisfied with the govt fight the election and win. Then you can have all the azaadi you want

You want to know why I consider humnaities people sick in the head listen to this video.

This is how professors brain wash their students

This country has its differences and it has proudly carried it all along. Every citizen has the freedom to express or put forth anything he/she deems fit unless it directly causes or could tend towards causing physical harm to another person.

Any idea - be it our culture, traditions, our religion or even the notion of India - nothing should be out of bounds from debate and discussion. Everytime mere words cause insecurity in you, it undermines your very faith in the survival of this nation.

Many of you here seem to be ignorant of the non-democratic nature of the so-called "India".

Couple of you posted above, why not win an election instead of calling for independence for my country (Tamil Nadu). The H-indian parliament amended the constitution that anyone seeking for independence for Tamil Nadu (or any other region) cannot contest election.

I challenge the Indian gov to remove the amendment. Tamil nationalists would win overwhelming majority in Tamil Nau assembly, and demand independence.

Dude - you are deluding yourself!
Your feelings I know are shared by a minority in the southern states but that's not going anywhere. Stay in the system and try to make it better.

Priorities!They are going full retard with this one.

Wo jism bhi kya jism hai jis mein na ho khoon-e-junoon
Kya lade toofaanon se jo kashti-e-saahil mein hai

Sarfaroshi ki tamanna ab hamaare dil mein hai
Dekhna hai zor kitna baazu-e-qatil mein hai
This poem by Ram Prasad Bismil was against British Colonial Rule. Here there is no external colonial power. It is Indians ruling Indians. Anyways it is one of my favorite patriotic songs

A good rendering of this was in the movie "Rang De Basanti"

One of the few times I agree with you.

One should be free to express dissent, how else can we know the extend of the rot. How else can we fix the problem.

This move by the govt. is stupid and short sighted. Its like sweeping the dirt under the carpet.