Can CAB and Nationwide NRC be solved by West Bengal?

That will lead to a simple solution. Carve a new state out of BD. 8-)

FYI, we are a Federal republic. Even though we have a central government, their power is not absolute. And if they want absolute authority, they will have to either use "Article 365" or "Invoke Emergency". Which will again start a lot of protests and a test of judicial scrutiny.

Not as simple as you may think. The reason why Assam is burning irrespective of the religion. And you expect all the refugees to come to Bengal border alone, huh ?? :undecided:

Thats not happening. It will be like 1947 again. India should apologize for 1971. Just like Pakistan learned that Afghani refugees were not worth the price to pay to get back at Kabul government.

Sorry, even though we got involved in the messy 1971 war (both directly and Indirectly) it was never due to our making. And the overwhelming refugee crisis had forced then Indian government to militarily support East Pakistan rebels to end both the war and our refugee crisis. And of-course give Pakistan a shocker, I don't disagree with that as well. But what if India didn't interfered, what we would have done with all those overwhelming number of refugees back then, ever thought ??

FYI, we are a Federal republic. Even though we have a central government, their power is not absolute. And if they want absolute authority, they will have to either use "Article 365" or "Invoke Emergency". Which will again start a lot of protests and a test of judicial scrutiny.

Not as simple as you may think. The reason why Assam is burning irrespective of the religion. And you expect all the refugees to come to Bengal border alone, huh ?? :undecided:

Sorry, even though we got involved in the messy 1971 war (both directly and Indirectly) it was never due to our making. And the overwhelming refugee crisis had forced then Indian government to militarily support East Pakistan rebels to end both the war and our refugee crisis. And of-course give Pakistan a shocker, I don't disagree with that as well. But what if India didn't interfered, what we would have done with all those overwhelming number of refugees back then, ever thought ??

please dont play dumb. India supported and trained mukhti terrorists for years. Accepting refugees was part of the plan after the cover was blown up.

Let's face it, it all comes down to the parochialism of Assamese Hiindus not wanting to accomodate Bengali Hindus caught out by the Assam NRC. 540,000 out of 2 million. How about one compromise and then no compromise for the next 50 years?
Totally misinformed posts, before pointing your finger towards the Assamese Hindus, please be reminded that prior to CAA Assam was the only state in India that willingly accepted Bangladeshi refugees till 1971. Yes, you heard it right!
Scrap Nationwide NRC after that
Let them scrap NRC in the rest of India if you people wish so. But the lakhs of illegal Bangladeshi miya infiltrators will not be allowed to stay in Assam to cause further mayhem in our state and country. They already carved out a country for themselves in '47 where they will be sent to.

NRC with the cut off date of 1951 is coming with full force in Assam and perhaps in the rest of India too, miyas will be sent packing to Bangladesh.
All this happened because of the chauvinism of the Assamese Hindu
We accepted Bangladeshi Hindu refugees till 1971 in our small state, it is time the rest of India did something for the persecuted Bangladeshi Hindu refugees too. But i must tell you that there are scores of Assamese Hindus like me that know for a certainty that a handful of Bangladeshi hindus refugees who consider India their sacred home pose no threat to Assam compared to the lakhs and lakhs of illegal miyas bent on turning Assam into another Bangladesh or Pakistan. Things will cool down eventually, the protests and vandalism that you saw were all orchestrated by political opponents in cahoots with the fringe anti social elements.

Totally misinformed posts, before pointing your finger towards the Assamese Hindus, please be reminded that prior to CAA Assam was the only state in India that willingly accepted Bangladeshi refugees till 1971. Yes, you heard it right!

Let them scrap NRC in the rest of India if you people wish so. But the lakhs of illegal Bangladeshi miya infiltrators will not be allowed to stay in Assam to cause further mayhem in our state and country. They already carved out a country for themselves in '47 where they will be sent to.

NRC with the cut off date of 1951 is coming with full force in Assam and perhaps in the rest of India too, miyas will be sent packing to Bangladesh.

We accepted Bangladeshi Hindu refugees till 1971 in our small state, it is time the rest of India did something for the persecuted Bangladeshi Hindu refugees too. But i must tell you that there are scores of Assamese Hindus like me that know for a certainty that a handful of Bangladeshi hindus refugees who consider India their sacred home pose no threat to Assam compared to the lakhs and lakhs of illegal miyas bent on turning Assam into another Bangladesh or Pakistan. Things will cool down eventually, the protests and vandalism that you saw were all orchestrated by political opponents in cahoots with the fringe anti social elements.

Things will not cool down because this NRC is yet to begin. Imagine poor bhaiya muslims without documents being put in concentration camps as if they migrated from Pakistan or Bangladesh. And you cannot get more Indian then gangu bhaiya. India need to burn for this. India deserve this for training bengali terrorists.

I pray thee, what's your solution?
Solution was already provided by our esteemed CM Shri Sarbananda Sonowal and his deputy respected Himanta da. CAA or no CAA has virtually no effect on safeguarding the future of the Assamese community from the Bangladeshi infiltrators. We need a multi-pronged approach, infiltrators would be weeded out via a 1951 NRC, constitutional safeguard of the natives guaranteed via the implementation of the clause 6 of the Assam Accord. And the political future of the Assamese to be secured by delimitation of the Assembly constituencies and reservation. Never will we allow someone like Badruddin Ajmal and his Bangladeshi miya coterie to take control of Assam.

BJP has already done more for Assam in the last 4 years than the INC or AGP managed in the last 4 decades. Every Assamese protestor that took the streets very well know that. And lots remain to be done in the present term.

The anti-CAB protests in Assam were an just an attempt by some of the vested interests to forge an anti BJP anti Congress alternative in Assam. I witnessed the vandalism and destruction in Assam first hand, almost all the young protesters i quizzed didn't have any idea about the contents of the Citizenship Amendment Bill(now Act, and it will remain that way).

Things will not cool down because this NRC
No one in Assam is opposed to NRC, we want the illegal miya infiltrators out of Assam and North East India. Please don't mistake the protests in Assam to be same as those in Delhi or West Bengal. The protests in Assam were accompanied by slogans of Jai Hind, waving of our tricolour along with chants of Joi Aai Axom.

Why should we care about the Muslims from Pak and Bangladesh?

No you should not, absolutely you shouldn't

But all this BS we have been hearing from our Indian friends that India is a secular country and does not discriminate between religions. But in this case Muslims were clearly pointed out, which goes against the concept of a Secular Nation which does not discriminate as per religion.

I fully support this bill as a Pakistani. Everyone always knew that India as a Hindu Country and rightly so, this bill solidifies that fact.

This ACT wouldn't have been necessitated had your countries not systematically persecuted and traumatized your religious and ethnic minorities ever since your independence. We in the North East India are paying for your transgressions. Those persecuted Bengali and tribal refugees being killed, dispossessed and driven out of their ancestral lands are anyways living in India for decades. CAA only legitimises their citizenship in India. Where is a poverty and grief striken Hindu supposed to run off to? Iran, Iraq or Syria? India is a natural abode for all the wronged Hindus around the world. Whether India is a Hindu, Muslim or a Christian country is immaterial to this discussion.

Also, it is pointless to equate the Hindu victims of religious and ethnic violence with that of the illegal miya(Muslim) infiltrators who are economic immigrants coming to India in search of greener pastures.

Solution was already provided by our esteemed CM Shri Sarbananda Sonowal and his deputy respected Himanta da. CAA or no CAA has virtually no effect on safeguarding the future of the Assamese community from the Bangladeshi infiltrators. We need a multi-pronged approach, infiltrators would be weeded out via a 1951 NRC, constitutional safeguard of the natives guaranteed via the implementation of the clause 6 of the Assam Accord. And the political future of the Assamese to be secured by delimitation of the Assembly constituencies and reservation. Never will we allow someone like Badruddin Ajmal and his Bangladeshi miya coterie to take control of Assam.

BJP has already done more for Assam in the last 4 years than the INC or AGP managed in the last 4 decades. Every Assamese protestor that took the streets very well know that. And lots remain to be done in the present term.

The anti-CAB protests in Assam were an just an attempt by some of the vested interests to forge an anti BJP anti Congress alternative in Assam. I witnessed the vandalism and destruction in Assam first hand, almost all the young protesters i quizzed didn't have any idea about the contents of the Citizenship Amendment Bill(now Act, and it will remain that way).

No one in Assam is opposed to NRC, we want the illegal miya infiltrators out of Assam and North East India. Please don't mistake the protests in Assam to be same as those in Delhi or West Bengal. The protests in Assam were accompanied by slogans of Jai Hind, waving of our tricolour along with chants of Joi Aai Axom.

Thank you for your critical contribution..Apologies for offhand comments as I am,like everybody else, trying to make my way through the information deluge of the past week....So what about the 25th March,1971 cut off date? Yes this much I understand that the protests in Assam have nothing to do with the protests of Delhi Liberals..anyways this whole situation can have a harmonious end only if BJP wins Bengal in 2021...Mamata Didi won't accomodate the extra Bengali Hindus without forcing the extra Muslims down the throat of WB...2021 election will be bloodbath in WB...best would be to have 6 month's President's rule before that to ensure free and fair election

On 1971, the stance of the protestors and the regional outfits have been pretty much consistent- that Assam has already agreed to bear the burden of the Bangladeshi refugees till that date and won't accept a single Bangladeshi post the cut off date. But the sad reality is Hindus from BD continued to pour into Assam even after 1971 owing to the prevailing circumstances there. But those Hindus are already living in Assam for atleast 3 decades.

There is a vicious misinformation and propaganda campaign going on right now in Assam that CAA will pave the way for crores of BD Hindus, which is utterly untrue.

You can't ask for the same set of people to be persecuted TWICE over, once in BD and then after NRC in India, particularly when those are more Indian at heart than some of our own citizens.

I am ok with my Assamese brothers protest for what they think will dilute our Assamese language and culture. But it pains me to see that not many of them even raised their voices when lakhs of illegal miyas passed the NRC by fraudulent means. I ask them a simple question- who pose a greater threat to Assam, these 4 lakhs poor Hindu and tribal migrants or the millions of illegal miyas who are the root cause of all the ills plaguing Assam.

Very few of them realise that CAA will be immaterial to preserve our language, customs and culture in any way. The regional political party in Assam that rode to power on the promise of implementing the Assam Accord couldn't deliver in their two terms, neither could the Congress in since independence.

BJP within 3 years of coming to power has started work on it, results expected in the next 6 months. It has built infra in Assam(and NE) on a war footing, brought investments, almost sealed the border, in the process of giving ST status to many of our tribal groups (including mine). All it wants in return is to provide citizenship to 4 lakhs persecuted Hindus who are already living in Assam for many decades.

People in my hometown torched the houses of the BJP legislators, believe me the same people would vote for them in the next assembly elections.

Want to end my post with a thought with the same question i asked many since the carnage of 11th/12th- that is our Assamese culture so weak that we feel threatened by a couple of lakhs of Bengali Bangladeshi Hindus?

This ACT wouldn't have been necessitated had your countries not systematically persecuted and traumatized your religious and ethnic minorities ever since your independence. We in the North East India are paying for your transgressions. Those persecuted Bengali and tribal refugees being killed, dispossessed and driven out of their ancestral lands are anyways living in India for decades. CAA only legitimises their citizenship in India. Where is a poverty and grief striken Hindu supposed to run off to? Iran, Iraq or Syria? India is a natural abode for all the wronged Hindus around the world. Whether India is a Hindu, Muslim or a Christian country is immaterial to this discussion.

That is true, there have been prosecution and marginalization of minorities within Pakistan and this is something we Pakistanis acknowledge. We are working hard to became a better nation so all the citizens in our country can thrive.

But lets not get into this 'holier than thau' attitude. I don't need to remind you of India's treatment of Muslims where they are getting lynched left right and center for eating meat or just being Muslims. Muslims are marginalized and discriminated on the basis of their religion, especially with the election of Modi where the Butcher of Gujrat was proudly elected to serve as the PM of India for butchering Muslims. Last i read, the protests are taking place in Delhi and across India and not just North East.

Also, it is pointless to equate the Hindu victims of religious and ethnic violence with that of the illegal miya(Muslim) infiltrators who are economic immigrants coming to India in search of greener pastures.

Greener Pastures :what:

I did not know India had the same HDI of Denmark and Sweden. Bangladesh has a booming economy, why would Bangladeshis move to India where they will be illegals and discriminated against? Most of these infiltrators you refer to have been settled in India for 60-80 years, they just happen to lack ID cards because they are illiterate and poor.

At the end of the day, i fully support this bill even though i am a Pakistani. I was sick and tired of Indians always lecturing us on India's fake secularism, but i guess now everything is out in the open.

Greener Pastures
Yes, indeed! Bangladesh of the yesteryears was not as prosperous as the BD posters of PDF would like us to believe. She only found her feet in the early 2000s. Lots of illegal immigration happened in the previous 5 decades and to a lesser extent thereafter. We must also understand that not all areas in BD have developed at the same pace. Places bordering lower Assam are bereft of any infrastructure even to this day(cursory glance at Google maps would help-look at Rangpur/Mymensingh divisions bordering Assam).

Even if BD's economic indices are better than Assam today, she is constrained by the lack of the most valuable resource-LAND, hindered more by the population explosion back in the day. Exporting surplus population to Assam and West Bengal was the easiest alternative. As their niche professions in Assam became saturated they poured into other parts of Northern, Western and Southern India.

No you should not, absolutely you shouldn't

But all this BS we have been hearing from our Indian friends that India is a secular country and does not discriminate between religions. But in this case Muslims were clearly pointed out, which goes against the concept of a Secular Nation which does not discriminate as per religion.

Are you saying that Muslims from Pak and BD will be asking citizenship of India shamelessly despite them getting their own country and we have to accommodate them into our country.

India is a secular country does not mean that we will have to accept Muslims from Pak and BD. We have every right to give preference in migration. It would be fooling for us to go against the essence of the partition of India.

Are you saying that Muslims from Pak and BD will be asking citizenship of India shamelessly despite them getting their own country and we have to accommodate them into our country.

That is not the point. It is against the tenants of secularism that you will discriminate against group of people solely based on their religion. It does not matter if the people coming are Muslims or Martians, what matters is that you will not discriminate based on their beliefs.

India is a secular country does not mean that we will have to accept Muslims from Pak and BD. We have every right to give preference in migration. It would be fooling for us to go against the essence of the partition of India.

First of all, India is not a secular country as you just stated that MUSLIMS will not be accepted from Pak or BD. You have every right to give preference in migration to anyone, but don't call yourself Secular. That B.S of an excuse has been broken.