British PM arrives on 3-day visit to Republic of India

I don't know anybody who is so keen for photography as Shri Modi Jee. I hope her trip to India will also be beneficial for us the people living in UK

She already hit Indians by refusing additional visas to Indian just two days before her visit.

British PM refuses to give relief Indian in visa policy

British PM Theresa May has shattered the Indian hopes for a more liberal visa system for its nationals demanding India should have to call back its illegal nationals .

Indian PM Modi has met with British counterpart Theresa May in New Dheli and requested her to allow Indian students to work and also relief in visa policy to Indian nationals.

In reply Theresa May said, ” If India calls back its nationals from British than Modi’s request can be considered to give more grounds for them.

The comments will prove disappointing for some in the Indian government and business community who have argued for more of their highly skilled professional workers to be able to get six-month visas for the UK and other European countries.
On this one, I disagree with our P.M , we ought to all highly skilled Indians who want to come he to contribute to our growth and add value to our economy/companies. This is exactly why we voted for Brexit, it was about letting in high skilled individuals in our country not illiterate illegal immigrants/opportunistic fake "refugees" from the middle east and north Africa or low skilled immigrants from eastern European countries. So I don't understand why our leaders are limiting visas towards intellectual/highly skilled Indians working in I.T/technology sector from coming here. This is the wrong policy to adopt . Hwoever. It true that we have to sort out those illegal immigrants from India who abuse these visa system to come here and overstay illegally. We should crack down on that, while recognising that they are a minority and so that shouldn't overshadow/affect the whole scheme .

Is this just a British lecture to the Indians or are any new trade and investment deals going to be signed?
Which part of: " India is the 3rd largest investor in UK, while the UK is the largest G20 investor in India. Both countries support large numbers of jobs in each other’s economies." Don't you understand?

So India is the largest investor from developing world in Britain while Britain is the largest investor among major western powers in India. We have a shared history, common language and close historical ties with India, so we understand the country better than any other western power. So our relationship will keep being a close one irrespective of whether some people in the country might like it or not(due to past historical colonial stuffs) .

So so far it's a win-win relationship. :)

08bg_pm_cm_1703215_3073117f.jpg

British Prime Minister Theresa May being welcomed by Chief Minister Siddaramaiah at the airport in Bengaluru. Ministers R.V. Deshpande and Priyank Kharge are also seen.
http://www.thehindu.com/news/nation...-to-review-new-visa-policy/article9319236.ece
Welcomes Theresa May at Kempegowda International Airport

Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah on Tuesday urged Britain to review the new visa policy to minimise barriers in the flow of talented people, particularly in the IT sector.

Welcoming British Prime Minister Theresa May at the Kempegowda International Airport here, Mr. Siddaramaiah said, “Our fast growing and high value technology sectors rely upon an effective immigration policy that attracts highly skilled workers and minimises barriers to the flow of talented people. The movement of skilled tech workers from India should be seen as a trade priority rather than an immigration issue. Temporary placement of highly-skilled individuals in the U.K. provides a significant economic boost while having a negligible impact on net migration.”

Under the new visa rules announced by the U.K. Home Office, anyone applying after November 24 under the Tier 2 intra-company transfer (ICT) category would be required to meet a higher salary threshold of 30,000 pounds from the earlier 20,800 pounds. “I request you to review the new policy so that the earlier threshold is continued,” the Chief Minister said.

Industry Minister R.V. Deshpande, and Minister for IT, BT and Tourism Priyank Kharge accompanied the Chief Minister in welcoming Ms. May.

Mr. Siddaramaiah said Bengaluru was well known for its innovation, enterprise and a flourishing IT industry. “Bengaluru understands business and that is the reason for the location of many successful U.K. businesses here.” He said 15% of U.K.-based companies in India were in Karnataka, employing 23,000 people. These companies were primarily in ICT, advanced manufacturing, aerospace, health and life science sectors, in the light of the innate strength of Karnataka in technology and knowledge-based enterprises.

“We are delighted that in your maiden visit to India, you have chosen Karnataka and Bengaluru as your first place of visit outside New Delhi. I am confident that this visit would be immensely fruitful and I assure you that we will work to build a very solid economic relationship between the U.K. and Karnataka.” he said.

Mr. Siddaramaiah pointed out that several Karnataka-based companies such as Infosys, Wipro, TCS, Dynamatic Technologies, Biocon, and Microlabs continued to expand their presence and created jobs in the U.K. Karnataka presented a unique combination of a large pool of skilled work force, great technical expertise and a thriving business and industrial ecosystem. Karnataka was one of the leaders among Indian States in aerospace, automobiles, manufacturing, machine tools, information technology, bio-technology, pharmaceuticals and life sciences.

“We seek investments from U.K.-based firms in renewable energy and for creating smart cities. The strength of U.K. research and innovation and the implementation capabilities of Karnataka together can help forge a unique partnership in the days to come,” he said.

‘Opportunities’

Listing out several heritage sites, he said there was tremendous potential to develop tourism in the State. Karnataka was in the process of putting in place a Bengaluru-Mumbai Economic Corridor, under which three greenfield self-contained townships would be set up. “We shall be happy to work together to identify opportunities for the U.K. to work with Karnataka for creating next generation logistics, infrastructure and connectivity across fast growing regions of southern and western India.”

Karnataka would hosti the Aero India show in February 2017 in Bengaluru. Several British companies under the aegis of U.K. Trade and Investment have actively participated in the previous Aero India events. “We welcome the U.K. Government and the British industry to actively participate in this event, and to chalk out a plan to build up on our mutual strengths of aerospace and defence.”

Dharwad Health City project

The government had signed a Memorandum of Understanding to set up a U.K. Health City Project. About 400 acres was earmarked for this initiative at Dharwad. “We look forward to the early setting up of this project, which would support manufacturing and research and development in medical devices and equipment. We are also keen to collaborate with U.K. in the fields of maternal and child nutrition, higher education, and public health and health care”, the Chief Minister said in a statement.

Mr. Priyank Kharge would be visiting the U.K. this week to attend the World Travel Mart event and build a better understanding for long-lasting partnership between the U.K. and Karnataka.

http://www.deccanherald.com/content/579943/uk8200wants-overstaying-indians-return.html

Nudged by New Delhi to ease visa restrictions, London on Monday said that it could do so only if Indians overstaying in the UK returned expeditiously.

British Prime Minister Theresa May, however, promised to make it easier for Indian business leaders to visit the UK.

Theresa on Monday made it clear that her government could consider granting visas to more Indians, only if the country’s citizens, who had been overstaying in the UK, returned expeditiously. Her comment came after Prime Minister Narendra Modi nudged her to ease restrictions on visas for Indians, particularly for students aspiring to study in the UK universities.

“Education is vital for our students and will define our engagement in a shared future. We must therefore encourage greater mobility and participation of young people in educational and research opportunities,” Modi said, after he and Theresa inaugurated the India-UK Tech Summit.

The stricter British visa rules on the return of students from non-EU nations at the end of their studies resulted in a steep fall in the number of applications from the youths of India to study in the UK.

The number of Indian students coming to universities in the UK and higher education colleges fell sharply, from about 39,000 in 2010-11 to a little over 18,000 in 2014-15.

Indian companies, particularly the IT firms, have also been concerned over the UK’s stricter visa rules on the ability of its professionals to work in the UK.

“The UK will consider further improvements to our visa offer if at the same time we can step up the speed and volume of the return of Indians with no right to remain in the UK,” Theresa said after she and Modi had a meeting at Hyderabad House.

“And the UK will continue to welcome the brightest and best Indian students, with the latest figures showing that nine out of 10 applications are granted.”

Theresa told the India-UK Tech Summit that India now had one of the best UK visa services in the world, with more application points than any other country. She noted that India was the only country where it was possible to get a same-day visa to visit UK.

“The UK will make India the first visa country to have access to our registered traveller scheme, offering many Indians smoother and swifter clearance at the border,” said the British prime minister. “And we have invited the Indian government to become the first government in the world to nominate top business executives for the Great Club – our bespoke visa and immigration service.”

India and UK on Monday also agreed to establish a strategic dialogue on home affairs issues covering visas, returns, and organised crime.

Which part of: " India is the 3rd largest investor in UK, while the UK is the largest G20 investor in India. Both countries support large numbers of jobs in each other’s economies." Don't you understand?

So India is the largest investor from developing world in Britain while Britain is the largest investor among major western powers in India. We have a shared history, common language and close historical ties with India, so we understand the country better than any other western power. So our relationship will keep being a close one irrespective of whether some people in the country might like it or not(due to past historical colonial stuffs) .

So so far it's a win-win relationship. :)

Mike Sahib, Indians are not going to send all their skilled workers to Britain and suffer from brain drain in their own country, one of the reasons why India can't get out of its poverty trap.

What India wants from Britain is to also give citizenship to low skilled Indians who can then send billions back to India. That would be a win win situation for both countries.

However, as Britain already has 1.4 million Indians according to the 2011 Census, there doesn't seem to be much stomach for accepting a few more million Indians into Britain.

Mike Sahib, Indians are not going to send all their skilled workers to Britain and suffer from brain drain in their own country, one of the reasons why India can't get out of its poverty trap.

What India wants is also to give citizenship to low skilled Indians who can then send billions back to India. That would be a win win situation for both countries.

However, as Britain already has 1.4 million Indians according to the 2011 Census, there's doesn't seem to be much stomach for accepting a few more million Indians to Britain.

The fact doesnt change that Indians are the third largest investor in UK and providing jobs not only to British Citizens but even to other EU citizens and giving them medical benefits and pensions etc .

But are the Indian citizens getting the same in UK and EU ?

Millions of dollars are even being going out from Republic of India to EU and UK . UK and EU Actors and Actress are working in bollywood and in reality its the tax money of the Indians.

Indian citizens are doing more good in United States and Canada but its not the case for Indian citizens even the legal ones to have a better life. Everything is being control and NATO security systems are being used to control lifes of Indians, Arabs and Africans in systematic ways and even racism is being done .

We Indians , Arabs, Turks and Africans have not fought for our Independence to see racism even in 21st century .

So does we Indians, Arabs, Turks and Africans are born to feed EU nations ?

http://indianexpress.com/article/in...d-with-tata-bosses-during-india-trip-3741028/

In March, Tata Steel put its British steel operations on sale following heavy losses linked to a flood of cheap Chinese imports and low demand in the region.

British Prime Minister Theresa May won’t meet any executives from Tata Steel Ltd during her two-day trip to India but talks about the future of its British steel operations are still going on, she said.

In March, Tata Steel put its British steel operations on sale following heavy losses linked to a flood of cheap Chinese imports and low demand in the region. The process was suspended in July because of uncertainty following the June Brexit vote. The company has since said it is exploring opportunities for a partnership for its entire European steel business, and Germany’s biggest steelmaker Thyssenkrupp has said it is in talks with Tata.

“I had hoped to be able to meet the key people from Tata while I was in India, sadly the schedules don’t allow for me to do that on this particular visit but there are regular contacts between the government and Tata Steel,” May told reporters on the plane to India on Sunday, her first bilateral visit outside the EU since she took office in July. “There continue to be those regular contacts to ensure that we maintain, as has been maintained so far, that steel production in the UK.”

Tata’s former chairman Cyrus Mistry, who was ousted in a boardroom coup last month, is due to take part in a CEO forum with May during her visit.

What India wants is also to give citizenship to low skilled Indians who can then send billions back to India. That would be a win win situation for both countries.

However, as Britain already has 1.4 million Indians according to the 2011 Census, there's doesn't seem to be much stomach for accepting a few more million Indians to Britain.

You are wrong...As India develops, people move to India. Intellectual power move wherever opportunities are present.

Moreover you forget, Indian companies are the largest private employers in UK.

You are wrong...As India develops, people move to India. Intellectual power move wherever opportunities are present.

Moreover you forget, Indian companies are the largest private employers in UK.

"As India develops..." or is it, "if India develops?" Today India has a third of the poorest people on earth, it has more poor people than all of Africa put together. India even has around 22% of citizens living on less than $1.90 compared to 8% next door in Pakistan.

India is not developing, it's barely surviving. Around 17 million people are added to the Indian population each year - that means, 17 million new jobs are required, schools, houses, health care, food, gas, electricity and everything else. To make things worse, India is not developing fast enough to cater for the already 1.2 billion people that are struggling and suffering.

Around 17 million people are added to the Indian population each year - that means, 17 million new jobs are required, schools, houses, health care, food, gas, electricity and everything else. To make things worse, India is not developing fast enough to cater for the already 1.2 billion people that are struggling and suffering.
If 17 million people are added to the population, how come all need jobs?

India even has around 22% of citizens living on less than $1.90 compared to 8% next door in Pakistan.
According to the HDI, 60.3% of Pakistan's population live under $1 a day, compared to 24.9% in India and 49.6% in Bangladesh
- http://hdr.undp.org/en/data

"As India develops..." or is it, "if India develops?" Today India has a third of the poorest people on earth, it has more poor people than all of Africa put together. India even has around 22% of citizens living on less than $1.90 compared to 8% next door in Pakistan.

India is not developing, it's barely surviving. Around 17 million people are added to the Indian population each year - that means, 17 million new jobs are required, schools, houses, health care, food, gas, electricity and everything else. To make things worse, India is not developing fast enough to cater for the already 1.2 billion people that are struggling and suffering.

It is Pakistani in you talking. Jealousy is bad.

Apart from that your response doesn't merit a response.

According to the HDI, 60.3% of Pakistan's population live under $1 a day, compared to 24.9% in India and 49.6% in Bangladesh

No use talking logic to people who deliberately ignore facts, and exhibit envy at others progress.

Brits turn to begging :rofl:
love it :lol:

go on India milk them for what little they can offer .

In true admiration to your comprehension and math skill, that number 22% was not 22% always it became 22 from 50-40-30 so on.

And so if you add 17 million people everyday then you need the same number of job everyday.

India is poor man but not poor in logic and understanding of statistics like most Pakistanis here in PDF

@ito

Look, a third of the poorest people live in India, not Asia but in India alone. It's mental.

How can we compete with the most developed country in the universe ........ aur vo kehte hai naa..

Somebody please advice her to improve her dress sense. Her wardrobe is a disaster.