British PM arrives on 3-day visit to Republic of India

Hindustani78

May, who arrived in New Delhi late Sunday night, is scheduled to attend the India-UK Technology Summit and also meet Modi and President Pranab Mukherjee on Monday. Under the umbrella of India-UK Technology Summit, four other summits are being organised — on Higher Education, Innovation & Entrepreneurship, Design and Intellectual Property Rights.

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi receiving the Prime Minister of United Kingdom, Ms. Theresa May, at Hyderabad House, in New Delhi on November 07, 2016.
s2016110792949.jpg

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi receiving the Prime Minister of United Kingdom, Ms. Theresa May, at Hyderabad House, in New Delhi on November 07, 2016.
s2016110792950.jpg

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi with the Prime Minister of United Kingdom, Ms. Theresa May, at Hyderabad House, in New Delhi on November 07, 2016.
s2016110792951.jpg

s2016110792965.jpg

s2016110792966.jpg

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi with the Prime Minister of United Kingdom, Ms. Theresa May, at Hyderabad House, in New Delhi on November 07, 2016.
s2016110792952.jpg

s2016110792964.jpg

s2016110792953.jpg

s2016110792954.jpg

s2016110792955.jpg

s2016110792956.jpg

s2016110792957.jpg

s2016110792958.jpg

s2016110792959.jpg

The Prime Minister of United Kingdom, Ms. Theresa May signing the visitors’ book, at Hyderabad House, in New Delhi on November 07, 2016. The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi is also seen.
s2016110792986.jpg

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi with the Prime Minister of United Kingdom, Ms. Theresa May, at the Joint Press Briefing, at Hyderabad House, in New Delhi on November 07, 2016.
s2016110792985.jpg

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi with the Prime Minister of United Kingdom, Ms. Theresa May, at the Joint Press Briefing, at Hyderabad House, in New Delhi on November 07, 2016.
s2016110792981.jpg
s2016110792982.jpg
s2016110792983.jpg
s2016110792984.jpg

The Minister of State for Commerce & Industry (Independent Charge), Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman in a Bilateral Meeting with the UK Secretary of State for International Trade, Dr. Liam Fox, in New Delhi on November 07, 2016.
s2016110792947.jpg

somehow i feel why the visit of a british PM never given the coverage by the press and media as they do for amarican president...
no doubt since 1947 england has a deep sence of understanding towards india....

now coming to defence , because this is defence forum....my personal choice was always eurofighter over french rafale...

why ?

we would have discussion on it some day on a diffrent related thread...

Prime Minister's Office
07-November, 2016 10:08 IST
Text of the PM’s address at India-UK Tech Summit, New Delhi (November 07, 2016)

Right Hon’ble Theresa May, Prime Minister of United Kingdom,
My colleague Dr. Harsh Vardhan, Minister for Science & Technology and Earth Sciences,
Dr. Naushad Forbes, President of CII,
Distinguished members from the Academia,
Eminent scientists and technologists,
Industry Leaders from UK and India,
Ladies and Gentlemen,

1. I am delighted to address the India-UK Tech Summit 2016

2. The Tech Summit was envisaged during my visit to the UK in November last year to reinforce the friendship between India and the UK.It also marks the high point commemorating 2016 as the ‘India-UK Year of Education, Research and Innovation’.

3. It is a privilege that Right Honorable Theresa May, the Prime Minister of United Kingdom has joined us at this event. Madam Prime Minister, I am aware that India has always been close to your heart and you have been a great friend of India. Recently you celebrated Diwali at your home with members of the Indian community!

4. Your presence here today reaffirms your commitment to the bilateral relationship. It is an honour for us that you chose to visit India as your first bilateral trip outside your immediate neighborhood and we extend a warm welcome to you.

5. Today, the world is at an inflection point where technology advancement is transformational. It is vital that India and the United Kingdom, two countries linked by history, work together to define the knowledge economy of the 21st century.

6. In the current global environment, our two countries face several economic challenges which directly affect trade and commerce. But I am confident that together we can leverage our scientific strengths and technological prowess to create new opportunities.

7. India is now the fastest growing large economy with the most open investment climate. Our innovative entrepreneurs, talented work force and R&D capabilities combined with large markets, demographic dividend and increasing economic competitiveness offer new growth sources for the world economy.

8. Likewise, the UK too has experienced resilient growth in the recent past. It excels in academic quest and technological innovation.

9. Even though the quantum of bilateral trade has remained at the same level for the past five years our investments in both directions have been robust. India is the 3rd largest investor in UK, and UK is the largest G20 investor in India. Both countries support large numbers of jobs in each other’s economies.

10. The present India-UK cooperation in science and technology is driven by ‘high quality’ and ‘high impact’ research partnerships. I am glad to mention that in less than two years’ time under the ‘Newton-Bhabha’ program we have started wide ranging collaborations covering basic science to solution science aimed at addressing societal challenges.

11. Together, our scientific communities are working on new vaccines for infectious diseases, inventing new smart materials, providing solutions for clean energy and climate change mitigation, and improving crop productivity including agriculture and food security.

12. We have agreed to establish India-UK Clean Energy R&D Centre on solar energy with joint investment of 10 million pounds. A new Anti-Microbial Resistance initiative with joint investment of 15 million pounds is also being launched.

13. I feel that India and UK can partner in harnessing the vast traditional knowledge base in India coupled with modern scientific investigation to provide a holistic approach to preventive healthcare. This can help address some of the modern life style diseases that we face.

14. India’s partnership with UK in industrial research has been one of our most exciting programs. The Global Innovation & Technology Alliance or GITA platform of CII and Department of Science and Technology along with Innovate-UK supports industry led R&D projects in affordable healthcare, clean technology, manufacturing and ICT.

15. These sectors open new potential for Indian and UK businesses to convert the scientific knowledge into technology based enterprises. I call upon all the participants here to contribute and value-add to these exciting bilateral programs, aimed to foster innovation and techno-entrepreneurship.

16. I firmly believe that Science, Technology and Innovation are immense growth forces and will play a very significant role in our relationship. The Tech Summit aims at strengthening our strategic partnership for mutual gains based on our shared technological prowess and scientific knowledge.

17. I have always said that Science is Universal but Technology has to be local. It is in this context that such summits throw an opportunity to understand each other’s requirements and forge our future relationship on that understanding.

18. The convergence of my government’s flagship development missions, our technology achievements and aspirations, and our strong bilateral relations offer huge new growth avenues for Indian and British industries.

19. There is an opportunity for India and UK to collaborate in the ‘Digital India’ Program and expand information convergence and people centric e-governance.

20. India will soon have over a billion phone connections with an urban tele-density of around 154%. We have 350 million internet users. We are bringing in last mile connectivity to nearly 100,000 villages across the country. Such rapid growth offers new digital highways and new markets for UK and Indian companies to address.

21. A natural collaboration emerges in India’s rapidly developing financial services sector. ‘Fintech’ is emerging as the next big transformation for India as we bring 220 million new households into the umbrella of the ‘Jan Dhan Yojana’. This financial inclusion scheme is being melded with mobile technology and the unique identification card to form the largest social security program in the world.

22. With UK’s leadership in financial technology and international finance, promising opportunities can be harnessed by our enterprises in this mission.

23. We also expect ‘Make in India’ to be a key sector of bilateral engagement. Advanced manufacturing is a special endeavor under this program. UK as a leading player can benefit from our liberal FDI policies in defense manufacturing, aerospace and electronics engineering.

24. The ‘Smart City’ mission aims to integrate digital technology into our rapidly urbanizing environment. I am glad that there is already a high level of interest from the UK in projects in Pune, Amaravati and Indore. I understand that UK companies have already signed deals worth 9 billion pounds and I encourage more participation.

25. The ‘Start-up India’ program aims at converging innovation and technology with entrepreneurship for our tech-savvy youth. Today, India and UK have emerged amongst the top three largest startup hubs in the world with an exciting ecosystem of investors and innovators.

26. Together, we can create a vibrant and thriving environment for new commercial applications with breakthrough technologies.

27. The chosen themes for this Summit like advanced manufacturing, biomedical devises, design, innovation and entrepreneurship all present new openings for business collaborations in our trade relationships.

28. I believe that India and the UK must continue to nurture and support an ecosystem of high quality fundamental research to pave the way for joint technology development that can address global challenges.

29. I am happy to note that the India-UK Tech Summit focuses on higher education. Education is vital for our students and will define our engagement in a shared future. We must therefore encourage greater mobility and participation of young people in educational and research opportunities.

30. I congratulate the Department of Science and Technology and the Confederation of Indian Industry for organizing this signature event with United Kingdom as the partner country. I am confident that the Tech Summit will lay the foundation for the next phase of India-UK relationship. It will take us together into a journey based on shared scientific knowledge and technological prowess.

31. I thank all the participants from UK and India whose contribution and presence is crucial to the success of this meet. I once again would like to thank Prime Minister Theresa May for gracing this occasion and sharing her perspectives and vision in building a new India-UK partnership.

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi meeting the Prime Minister of United Kingdom, Ms. Theresa May at the India-UK Tech Summit, in New Delhi on November 07, 2016.
s2016110792934.jpg

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi and the Prime Minister of United Kingdom, Ms. Theresa May at the India-UK Tech Summit, in New Delhi on November 07, 2016. The Union Minister for Science & Technology and Earth Sciences, Dr. Harsh Vardhan is also seen.
s2016110792936.jpg

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi and the Prime Minister of United Kingdom, Ms. Theresa May at the India-UK Tech Summit, in New Delhi on November 07, 2016. The Union Minister for Science & Technology and Earth Sciences, Dr. Harsh Vardhan is also seen.
s2016110792937.jpg

s2016110792935.jpg

Ministry of Commerce & Industry
07-November, 2016 19:38 IST
11th India-UK Joint Economic Trade Committee Meeting(JETCO)

The annual ministerial meeting of India UK Joint Economic and Trade Committee (JETCO) was held on 7th November, 2016 in New Delhi. Both sides reviewed the progress held in the two existing Joint Working Groups i.e."Smart Cities" and "Technological Collaboration, Advanced Manufacturing & Engineering". under the aegis of JETCO. The meeting was held in a very conducive atmosphere.

The two sides decided to create a new Joint Working Group on Trade to discuss and resolve trade related issues.

The Minister of State for Commerce & Industry (Independent Charge), Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman at the 11th India-UK Joint Economic Trade Committee Meeting (JETCO) Plenary, in New Delhi on November 07, 2016.
s2016110793004.jpg

s2016110793005.jpg

The Co-Chairs of the India UK Financial Partnership (IUKFP), Mr. Uday Kotak and Sir Gerry Grimstone call on the Union Minister for Finance and Corporate Affairs, Shri Arun Jaitley, in New Delhi on November 07, 2016.
s2016110793007.jpg

Ministry of Finance
07-November, 2016 19:02 IST
The Co-Chairs of the India-UK Financial Partnership (IUKFP), Mr Uday Kotak and Sir Gerry Grimstone calls on the Union Finance Minister Shri Arun Jaitley; Appraises the Finance Minister on progress of the partnership and presented the two most recent Papers on ‘Financial Inclusion’ and ‘Responsible Shareholder Engagement – An Indian Stewardship Code’; FM expresses his satisfaction on the working of this Partnership.

The Co-Chairs of the India UK Financial Partnership (IUKFP), Mr. Uday Kotak and Sir Gerry Grimstone called on the Union Finance Minister Shri Arun Jaitley in his office here today to appraise him on progress of the partnership and presented the two most recent papers on ‘Financial Inclusion’ and ‘Responsible Shareholder Engagement – An Indian Stewardship Code’. This meeting coincided with the maiden visit of the UK Prime Minister Theresa May to India.

The paper on Financial Inclusion presented today to the Union Finance Minister provides recommendations on improving credit access for MSMEs and Low Income Housing through improved credit guarantee schemes. The paper on developing Responsible Shareholder Engagement focused on introducing an Indian Stewardship Code that will promote responsible capitalism through increased oversight on small investor savings.

The Co-Chairs expressed their gratitude for the support the IUKFP has received for its recommendations on the corporate bond market and the new insolvency regime in India. The Co-Chairs also briefed the Finance Minister on the continued collaboration between practitioners and regulators in India and the UK as India implements the new Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code 2016.

The Co-Chairs sought the guidance of the Finance Minister Shri Jaitley on the future course of the partnership and additional focus. The Finance Minister expressed his satisfaction on the working of this partnership.

The IUKFP was formed in July 2014 to increase collaboration between the financial sectors in India and the UK and provide policy inputs to both governments. Since then, the IUKFP has been working closely with over 30 CEOs in India and a similar number in the UK as well as with key financial regulators in both countries. The IUKFP had previously published five papers covering (1) Development of India’s Corporate Bond Market (2) India’s New Insolvency Regulations (3) Pensions (4) Infrastructure Funding and (5) Development of the Re-insurance Industry in India.

The Minister of State for Commerce & Industry (Independent Charge), Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman interacting with the media on India-UK Trade Relations, in New Delhi on November 07, 2016.
s2016110793008.jpg

Is this just a British lecture to the Indians or are any new trade and investment deals going to be signed?

The Prime Minister of United Kingdom, Ms. Theresa May calling on the President, Shri Pranab Mukherjee, at Rashtrapati Bhawan, in New Delhi on November 07, 2016.
s2016110793034.jpg

Is this just a British lecture to the Indians or are any new trade and investment deals going to be signed?

India is the 3rd largest investor in UK and on that large numbers of British citizens are working in Republic of India, jo millions of dollars earn kartay hai.

Hindustan gharib Mulk nahi hai , magar hindustaniyan aaj bhi gharib hai.

Ziyada nahi sirf 440 million Hindustaniyon ko gharibi ki rekha se nikal gaye hai.

Pakistanis are used to looking at the world through the wrong end of a telescope, It is the the Brits who have come a begging, to India. seeking some version of a special relationship as the consequences of Brexit slowly begin to dawn on the British economy. Teresa, poor soul, imagines India is going to offer her the opening in banking and insurance if she genuflects and kisses Modis shoes. Not going to happen, because India seeks quid pro quo. Brits in banking, insurance etc means free flow of Indian skilled labor to British companies in UK. She cant deliver that and India will not deliver what her heart desires.

http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/india-uk-exchange-list-of-fugitives/article9315783.ece

Updated: November 7, 2016 18:54 IST
Vijay Mallya among 57 fugitives India wants UK to send back

Britain also handed over to India a list of 17 people whom it seeks custody under the Mutual Legal Assistance Treaty

India on Monday asked Britain to handover 57 wanted people, including beleaguered businessman Vijay Mallya and Chirstian Michel, the alleged middleman in the Rs 3,600 crore AgustaWestland helicopter deal, so that they can be brought to justice for committing various offences in the country.

This was conveyed during the bilateral meeting between Prime Minister Narendra Modi and his British counterpart Theresa May here.

Other names mentioned in the list are Sameer Ali who is wanted in Gujarat riots and Rajesh Kapoor

Britain also handed over to India a list of 17 people whom it seeks custody under the Mutual Legal Assistance Treaty or against whom Letter Rogatory were issued, official sources said.

Among the people India seeks extradition include Chirstian Michel, the alleged middleman in the Rs 3,600 crore AgustaWestland helicopter deal.

Both the countries are believed to have agreed to expedite the each other’s all extradition requests and help to take all such cases into logical conclusion, sources said.

Mubarak ho , Now rich Indian businessmen will get easy access to Britian.

http://www.thehindu.com/business/in...eme-for-indian-businessmen/article9314595.ece
U.K. offers easier visa scheme for Indian businessmen

Eyeing India as a key trade partner after exiting from the European Union (EU), the U.K. on Monday announced an easier visa regime for Indian businessmen that will facilitate swifter passage through British airports and access to the EU.

“So we will offer, for the first time to any country that needs visas to enter Britain, what we call ‘Registered Traveller’ scheme.That means the Indian nationals who frequently come to the U.K. and to fuel growth in both our countries, the entry process will become significantly easier,” she said at the India-U.K. Tech Summit,organised by the Confederation of India Industry (CII).

Businesses would have to fill fewer forms, and they would get access to the EU-EEA (European Economic Area) passport control and swifter passage through British airports. “In short, more opportunities for Britain and India and a clear message that Britain is very much open for business,” she said.

''It is not just the legal framework that are essential for effective trade and investment, it is about people too. It is crucial that those who do need to travel between our countries for business can do so, that is the reason why when I was Home Secretary, I made visa process for Indians much easier,” she said.

India now has one of the best U.K. visa services in the world with more application points than any other country and is the only place where it is possible to get a same day visa.

“...that happened because we listened to our businesses. And we are still listening. Listening to the fact that there are many people from India who are to bring their skill, ideas, businesses to Britain for the good of your economy and ours,” she said.

http://www.deccanherald.com/content/579834/uk-no-more-preferred-destination.html
New Delhi, Nov 7, 2016, (PTI):

Raising serious concern over visa issues with the UK, India today said Britain has ceased to be a preferred destination for students wanting to pursue higher studies in British universities.

"I did raise the issue of visa fees, student visa, and how Indian students are no longer wanting to go for UK universities, which was the top priority earlier because of the nature of visa regulations and requirements which Indian students have to go through," Commerce and Industry Minister Nirmala Sitharaman told reporters.

She said the UK visa regime "discourages" a lot of Indian students from going to Britain and they are now preferring other destinations like the US, Australia or New Zealand.

On issues related to the IT visa fee, she said India raised its concern strongly. I did say that... the UK seems to want access to the Indian market, the UK seems to want Indian investments, but the UK does not seem to want Indian talent... This is not an impression or perception that UK can afford to have," the minister added.

India, she said, would want them to consider Indian professionals who want to go to the UK as part of a company or group which has won a project there and as a professional talented skilled person going there for a certain tenure with valid paperwork done.

Those professionals return after the project is completed and that can not be compared with migration of people, she stressed.

Asked about the UK trade minister Liam Fox's response on India's concerns, Sitharaman said: "On the fact that Indian students are no longer preferring to go to the UK, I felt he was not in agreement."

The UK minister clearly felt that out of every 10 applications, nine are being accepted and strictly the numbers have not fallen and that is the impression that he has been putting forth, she said.

Fox, she said, "conceded that if there has been any crackdown on Indian students, it has been because they probably got enrolled into institutions which have turned out to be spurious and which they had to clamp down".

"So, his case was that if there is a decline in numbers, it is because those students who went to less than credible institutions... but we recorded our concerns that the numbers have fallen," she added.

Further, Sitharaman said that during her bilateral meeting, she raised the issue of the totalisation agreement.

"Our workers go, work their and pay social services premium, but return without any benefits derived out of it and the amount gets locked up in the UK," she said further.

She also said that raising of charges from Indian professionals who go to the UK only to fund their own skill development is something that "we thought was somewhat like a non-tariff barrier" and it does not encourage competitiveness in the service sector.

The Chairman, U.K. India Business Council, Ms. Patricia Hewitt calls on the Union Minister for Finance and Corporate Affairs, Shri Arun Jaitley, in New Delhi on November 08, 2016.
s2016110893040.jpg

The Chairman, U.K. India Business Council, Ms. Patricia Hewitt calls on the Minister of State for Commerce & Industry (Independent Charge), Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman, in New Delhi on November 08, 2016.
s2016110893043.jpg

The Chairman, U.K. India Business Council, Ms. Patricia Hewitt calls on the Minister of State for Commerce & Industry (Independent Charge), Smt. Nirmala Sitharaman, in New Delhi on November 08, 2016.
s2016110893044.jpg

UK Prime Minister Theresa May pays homage at Gandhi Smriti in New Delhi.
544779-dpz8noab04-uk.jpg

British Prime Minister Theresa May is greeted at Bangalore's Kebpegowda International Airport, in Bangalore.
544885-8-11-2016-d-gh2-o.jpg