Automotive policy: Exclusive incentives for new players blocked

My cousin bought Vauxhall Zafira (7 seater) from eBay auction for around 700 pounds with around 60k mileage and very good condition from inside out. He got a bargain I think otherwise similar cars are little more expensive but it is true that you can easily get a very good car for less than 5 lakh Pakistani rupees and such cars would cost 1.5 million rupees in Pakistan.

The price of brand new cars is of course very high and I am talking about cars older than 3 years.

I usually keep 1 flag for Pakistan and UK each but when I am travelling to Pakistan, I usually change both flags to Pakistan and I must have forgotten to change it again
In Pakistan, 3 years old Toyota car in good condition would be over 1.5m without airbags no ABS, simple tin and no where near to Zafira in any aspect.

The sooner we allow the western markets, Chinese market and American market to introduce their toys in Pakistan, the better for Pakistan automobile industry to thrive at much faster pace

It will not only break the monopoly of trio (Toyota, Honda, Suzuki) but force them to heavily reduce the prices.

I think Pakistan should only charge 5% custom duty for importing cars in Pakistan so all of us can send a car to our loved ones and it will allow lower middle class families to afford the luxury of owning the car. In UK you can buy good cars for only 700 pounds, if the Government makes friendly automobile policies and allows us to send cars older than 3 years of age, you will see Ford, Vauxhall, Peugeot cars everywhere in Pakistan with tag price starting from only 1 lakh rupees

Ever wonder why older cars drop so much in value in the UK (and in Japan)? It is because the costs of keeping on the road, maintained and insured, are very high. That model does not work in a place like Pakistan.

Cars are regarded, and taxed, as luxury items by the government as cash cows to bolster its coffers. The rest is all window dressing.

1. My cousin bought Vauxhall Zafira (7 seater) from eBay auction for around 700 pounds with around 60k mileage and very good condition from inside out.

2. He got a bargain I think otherwise similar cars are little more expensive but it is true that you can easily get a very good car for less than 5 lakh Pakistani rupees and such cars would cost 1.5 million rupees in Pakistan.

3. The price of brand new cars is of course very high and I am talking about cars older than 3 years.

4. I usually keep 1 flag for Pakistan and UK each but when I am travelling to Pakistan, I usually change both flags to Pakistan and I must have forgotten to change it again

1. well 700 for a good nic zafira is not bad. what year is it?
you can get dirt cheap things from ebay.

2. i though the pakistani currency is ruppee's? where did lakh come from? also what's a crore?
buying

3. well i think it was @Atanz (who too lives in the uk) purchased a merc and its value droped like a stone.
heres some good advice. buy german cars that are about 5 years old. they dont lose a lot of value a lot ac compared to french and americain cars. im not that person. im expecting my gt to lose about 30k in the first year. so i may just get it on contract lease which is cheaper. not decided yet

4. glad i reminded you then. where about's do you live in the uk

2. i though the pakistani currency is ruppee's? where did lakh come from? also what's a crore? buying

This crap annoys me big time. You know the crore, lakh rubbish. South Asian's speak monkey languages that cannot even convey basic scientific or legal meaning but then suddenly go "desi" with lakh, crore, blah, blah.

3. well i think it was @Atanz (who too lives in the uk) purchased a merc and its value droped like a stone

Well it's a BMW coupe. At the mo I got big problems man. Real big problems. I have 8 penalty points already and have got two speading fines recently. One 37 and other 36 in 30 mph zone and got caught by camera. I got a ban last Thursday but on Monday got it overturned on extenuating circumstances but the matter is going to trial in another month.

I am going to be shafted. I am going to be done and frankly can't figure a way out. Although I have not given up entirely but the situation looks grim. I might ask for Sharia justice. Offer one of my balls and after getting it hacked I walk away with my licence.

1.0This crap annoys me big time. You know the crore, lakh rubbish. South Asian's speak monkey languages that cannot even convey basic scientific or legal meaning but then suddenly go "desi" with lakh, crore, blah, blah.

2.Well it's a BMW coupe.

3.At the mo I got big problems man. Real big problems. I have 8 penalty points already and have got two speading fines recently. One 37 and other 36 in 30 mph zone and got caught by camera. I got a ban last Thursday but on Monday got it overturned on extenuating circumstances but the matter is going to trial in another month. I am going to be shafted. I am going to be done and frankly can't figure a way out. Although I have not given up entirely but the situation looks grim.

4.I might ask for Sharia justice. Offer one of my balls and after getting it hacked I walk away with my licence.

1. it is quiet confusing and weird but the value for the currency being low may explain it.
2. ok bmw then my bad.

3. why dont you go on a speed awareness course. my mates get bolocked too for speeding as well. they appeal it, go to court and do the course but still pay the fine and you don't get the points, why don't you do that. do bear in mind the course lasts the best part of a whole day which is the short term hassle .you only went a few miles about the speed limit it wasnt a significant amount over the limit try that. if you did about 40+ then they will bend you over and have you. for you its more stressful as your job involves you to drive. can you not reapply for a new license whilst having the old one being banned.
also if you do take the course, expect your insurance to go up or be invalidated
National Speed Awareness Course delivered by TTC Group

also as a lesson i recommend getting a sat-nav that tells you where the speed cameras are.my dad has one and you'd be surprised what speed he does in a school zone. if you are looking at a sat-nav i recommend the newer Garmin ones,they are really good. (my dad has one) there about £100 in Argos for a decent one.
let me know how it works out for you.

4.:rofl:

Ever wonder why older cars drop so much in value in the UK (and in Japan)? It is because the costs of keeping on the road, maintained and insured, are very high. That model does not work in a place like Pakistan.

Cars are regarded, and taxed, as luxury items by the government as cash cows to bolster its coffers. The rest is all window dressing.
Another reason is that the people have a lot of money so they can afford to keep expensive cars hence dropping the value for used cars

1. well 700 for a good nic zafira is not bad. what year is it?
you can get dirt cheap things from ebay.

2. i though the pakistani currency is ruppee's? where did lakh come from? also what's a crore?
buying

3. well i think it was @Atanz (who too lives in the uk) purchased a merc and its value droped like a stone.
heres some good advice. buy german cars that are about 5 years old. they dont lose a lot of value a lot ac compared to french and americain cars. im not that person. im expecting my gt to lose about 30k in the first year. so i may just get it on contract lease which is cheaper. not decided yet

4. glad i reminded you then. where about's do you live in the uk
Pakistani currency is in rupees and 100,000 / one hundred thousand rupees is 1 lakh Pakistani rupee

I live near Ilford, London

Pakistani currency is in rupees and 100,000 / one hundred thousand rupees is 1 lakh Pakistani rupee

I live near Ilford, London
thanks for the currency info.

buhhh........... your a londoner

Another reason is that the people have a lot of money so they can afford to keep expensive cars hence dropping the value for used cars

All the more reason that such policies and values elsewhere cannot be transplanted to Pakistan easily.

thanks for the currency info.

buhhh........... your a londoner
Where do you live in UK?

All the more reason that such policies and values elsewhere cannot be transplanted to Pakistan easily.
Sir I agree with you but my point is when you can buy cheap cars in UK for any reason (low demand or whatever) why not export it to Pakistan, if the government can offer incentives such as 0 to 5% custom charges. It will break the monopoly of Honda, Toyota and Suzuki to introduce better designs in the country and encourage lower middle class to afford the luxury of owning a car.

But this is just a hypothetical statement otherwise the government can also provide so much incentive for European manufacturers directly that they can introduce brand new models in Pakistan and pace the way for healthy competition

The bottom line is, the monopoly of Japanese auto manufacturers must break in Pakistan as it is getting intolerable for public due to lack of designs and innovative ideas by the monopolistic group.

Sir I agree with you but my point is when you can buy cheap cars in UK for any reason (low demand or whatever) why not export it to Pakistan, if the government can offer incentives such as 0 to 5% custom charges. It will break the monopoly of Honda, Toyota and Suzuki to introduce better designs in the country and encourage lower middle class to afford the luxury of owning a car.

But this is just a hypothetical statement otherwise the government can also provide so much incentive for European manufacturers directly that they can introduce brand new models in Pakistan and pace the way for healthy competition

The bottom line is, the monopoly of Japanese auto manufacturers must break in Pakistan as it is getting intolerable for public due to lack of designs and innovative ideas by the monopolistic group.

What if the government is in cahoots with the established players to maintain their monopoly? After all, there is lots of money to be made by a few by keeping the market closed.

Where do you live in UK?

up north, lancashire

What if the government is in cahoots with the established players to maintain their monopoly? After all, there is lots of money to be made by a few by keeping the market closed.
Apparently, this is true

i know a guy he exports cars to pak he has made alot of money and he pays bribe pak customs and secuirty brings luxury vehciles and has even donated small cars as bribes. he living good life in pak whenever he goes. pak a mafia country were anything is for sale. lets just say some of the cars are not even legal.

pakistanis need to learn from mad max, learn metal work and weld and engine can be souced easily. make abuggy it does the job, take family to market. call it mad masaoud.

Thats kinda my kind buddy!

buying

Well the Currency official is Rupee where as "Lakh, Cro-Rd, Arab, Kha-Rub, Sung, Dus Sung, Maha Sung" are denominations of quantity explained further below.

Lakh = 100,000

Cro-Rd = Lakh X 100 Ten Million

Arab = Cro-Rd X 100 One Billion

Kha-Rub = Arab X 100 Hundred Billion (This amount in Pakistani Rupees is approximately equal to one Billion US Dollars.)

Sung = Kha-Rub X 100

Dus Sung = Sung X 100

Maha Sung = Dus Sung X 100

We don't stuck like some others at Cror that's our language we own it. :agree: :pakistan: :enjoy: :-)