Al-Khalid II has been put to sleep .

as many countries are going for 5th generation tanks like russian made T-14 armata and china,india has shown interest in it and germany with the help of france making a 5th generation leopard tank so maybe Pakistan is also thinking of going for a 5th generation tank and are not going for al khalid 2 maybe we will induct MBT 3000 by producing it in Pakistan until we do not get hands on a fifth generation tank

I think, we should focus on Turkey's Altay - the beast.

Pakistan has failed to follow up constantly on Al-Khalid and lack of funds numerous times last 15 years, Pakistan should ditch it for Altay more features and defence better than our own tanks.

ALTAY
ckOzoxz.jpg

86fW8z9.jpg

ibfh2e.jpg

Futuristic Shaped Frontal Armor concept

image-jpg.222575

Zarvan zarvan I apologies that A** Hole came out straight hahahaha but seriously i feel sorry for You trying to defend the right info and everyone is saying al khalid this and that .Zarvan is right there is no AL-KHALID 2 .

But there is MBT 3000 . And we shall see it Inshallah !
I think, we should focus on Turkey's Altay - the beast.

Pakistan has failed to follow up constantly on Al-Khalid and lack of funds numerous times last 15 years, Pakistan should ditch it for Altay more features and defence better than our own tanks.

ALTAY
ckOzoxz.jpg

86fW8z9.jpg

ibfh2e.jpg

Futuristic Shaped Frontal Armor concept

image-jpg.222575
Sir why can not we just ask them to give us there leopord 2s in khiaraat

Chinese mal will rule Pakistan establishment. And that's how you do business .Made in China to get major boost

Sir why can not we just ask them to give us there leopord 2s in khiaraat

No money and no engineers supports, we are still having old rusty Al-Khalid and hasn't been upgraded it every year, take a look at other countries including Turkey, how fast they progress on maintaining their tanks to more advanced and surrounding awareness.

Al-Khalid is a huge messed up and way behind in many areas, why we still have 400 tanks only since it was produced beginning in early 2001? We just focus more priorities basically on JF-17 Block 1, 2, Missile Testings, police amour vans, armed drones, and other fields.

For once and clear, Pakistan should suspended Al-Khalid Tanks and should focus on new advanced technology from other countries.

No money and no engineers supports, we are still having old rusty Al-Khalid and hasn't been upgraded it every year, take a look at other countries including Turkey, how fast they progress on maintaining their tanks to more advanced and surrounding awareness.

Al-Khalid is a huge messed up and way behind in many areas, why we still have 400 tanks only since it was produced beginning in early 2001? We just focus more priorities basically on JF-17 Block 1, 2, Missile Testings, police amour vans, armed drones, and other fields.

For once and clear, Pakistan should suspended Al-Khalid Tanks and should focus on new advanced technology from other countries.

That "rusty old" tank is the best in the region and can compete and hold on against any tank in the world.. And has been sold to several countries . It's watered down variant VT-1A sold to Myanmar,Bangladesh.. MBT-2000 to Morocco,Peru .. AK-I to KSA...

And it was upgraded into AK-I variant .... And 450 were in service meanwhile 50 more were in order when the MODP report was published that's 500 tanks... By the end of 2015!

As for Turkish Tank .. Mind telling us how trumps AK-I on awareness etx ? Just like Altay AK is also equipped with an advanced battle management system ... Data link and UAV connectivity .... Sights ? Uses top o the line European sights .. Hunter killer ? gets from Lecrec.... Etc etc..

P.S: Hope you know that most of Turkish mega projects themselves are based on existing platforms .. t-129 is based on A-129... altay borrows heavily from Korean K2?... Firtina SPG is also based on Korean SPG..

Im no dismissing Turkish tech.. But cancelling your own project and getting Foriegn weapon makes no fukin sense !

Unless you love logistically nightmare and kill your own industry!... Cooperation makes more sense (which we already are.. Accordin to HIT official (interview)... They might equip it with the same systems as Altay.. (Cost effective than going for French options).

Also it is not 100% confirmation of AK-II project getting frozen ... MBT - 3000 was only offered to Pak doesn't mean PA has signed a deal or getting it!

Okay, You are confusing, mixing multiple things.

1. Al Khalid-1 : Upgraded Al-Khalid revealed in 2010. Check youtube video of Al-Khalid 1

2. Al-Khalid 2: Massive Upgradation of Al-Khalid 1. Janes International Interview of Of HIT Brigadier explained in detail about the massive upgradation Al-Khalid would go through

So All in All. Al-Khalid and Al-Khalid 1 are JF-17 block1 and 2. No exterior difference. Al-Khalid 2 was supposed to be block 3 and it got delayed.

Perhaps it's time you read some thread from April 2014 and IDEAS 2014 threads as well to get a complete picture of what Al-Khalid 2 was about.
It was changed later and name was maintained as AK not AK 1 and their is no AK 2 new Tank is AK 1 which is about to enter production perhaps you seriously need to correct facts

Can we say that the survival of TOP BRASS sitting in GHQ, depends upon cancellation on Al-Khalid-II.
Un k ghar main bhe to chola jalta hai meray bhai ....
If you don't have anything positive than better to keep quiet and their was no AK II at first place

Okay, You are confusing, mixing multiple things.

1. Al Khalid-1 : Upgraded Al-Khalid revealed in 2010. Check youtube video of Al-Khalid 1

2. Al-Khalid 2: Massive Upgradation of Al-Khalid 1. Janes International Interview of Of HIT Brigadier explained in detail about the massive upgradation Al-Khalid would go through

So All in All. Al-Khalid and Al-Khalid 1 are JF-17 block1 and 2. No exterior difference. Al-Khalid 2 was supposed to be block 3 and it got delayed.

Perhaps it's time you read some thread from April 2014 and IDEAS 2014 threads as well to get a complete picture of what Al-Khalid 2 was about.

With MBT3000 available, why bother with AKII? MBT3000 is supposed to superseded ALL tanks in current PA service.
You really can't have small fleets of AK, AKI, AKII, Al-haider (MBT3000) and then also Type85, T-80s and Al Zarrars.
Doesn't make any sense. It seems more like Army got more funds now, so they want to go directly for MBT3000, just like Airforce might want the J-31.

With MBT3000 available, why bother with AKII? MBT3000 is supposed to superseded ALL tanks in current PA service.
You really can't have small fleets of AK, AKI, AKII, Al-haider (MBT3000) and then also Type85, T-80s and Al Zarrars.
Doesn't make any sense. It seems more like Army got more funds now, so they want to go directly for MBT3000, just like Airforce might want the J-31.
Mr for GOD sake their was no AK II the new Tank is AK 1 and the project is pretty much completed and about to enter production the thread is based on wrong news

According to @Horus Pakistan will have 50 billion budget by 2020. Should be no problem.

Why exactly was this post given a negative rating? @Dazzler
There was no abuse, no offensive stuff, nothing to do with personal attacks...... pathetic moderation really.:hitwall:

@Irfan Baloch see this is what I was talking about when I PM'ed you some time back....

They have been trying to rectify/upgrade the shortcomings in Al-Khalid. 10 years of production run and only ~500 odd tanks produced. MBT3000 chips in due to off the shelf production run, quickly inducting more tanks

Al-Khalid ----Upgraded Al Khalid ------- Al Khalid 1

Brigadier Ghulam Murtaza Qureshi (rtd), HIT's director of budget, marketing and procurement, stated that the development is being fast-tracked and the company plans to showcase the tank during the International Defence Exhibition and Seminar 2014 (IDEAS 2014) in Islamabad in December.

The development of the new MBT began earlier in the decade and Qureshi said it is around 50% complete. Some reports suggested it was being co-developed with China's NORINCO and was a version of China's MBT-3000.

Qureshi claimed this was incorrect and that the Al Khalid-I is an indigenous development of Pakistan's mainstay tank, the Al Khalid, which was jointly developed in the early 1990s with NORINCO (known in China as the MBT-2000) and commissioned in 2001.

The Pakistan Army's Armoured Corps operates about 420 Al Khalid MBTs, along with Al Zarrar (Type 59/59M), Type 69, Type 85 IIAP and T-80UD tanks. The Al Khalid-I will replace approximately 300 Type 85s and 320 T-80s, which are known to operate in semi-desert and desert areas of the country.

The existing Al Khalid is powered by a Ukrainian 6TD-2 power pack developing a maximum power of 1,200 bhp. It also features integrated battle management, auto transmission control, muzzle reference and active threat protection systems.

Qureshi added that the design concept of the Al Khalid-I is primarily based on further refining and improving mobility, firepower and protection. Initially, the design featured around 10 major changes over the Al Khalid hull, but due to rising costs and budgetary constraints, this has been reduced to six.

These include a new 1,500 bhp power pack to improve its power-to-weight ratio and a digital driver manual. The HIT official confirmed that it would retain the 125 mm smoothbore barrel. As of April 2014, trials are under way to finalise the new power pack. These details concur with comments at IDEAS 2012 by a senior official at Pakistan's Ministry of Defence Procurement who told said that an improved version would feature a more powerful diesel power pack, improved command and control and better night-fighting capabilities.

HIT plans to complete trials of the Al Khalid-I with the Pakistani Army by the first quarter of 2015 and based on results, it is hoping to achieve low rate initial production by June 2015. HIT currently has the capability to roll out 20-40 Al Khalid MBTs a year, suggesting it will look to achieve a similar production schedule for the improved version.

They have been trying to rectify/upgrade the shortcomings in Al-Khalid. 10 years of production run and only ~500 odd tanks produced. MBT3000 chips in due to off the shelf production run, quickly inducting more tanks

Al-Khalid ----Upgraded Al Khalid ------- Al Khalid 1

Brigadier Ghulam Murtaza Qureshi (rtd), HIT's director of budget, marketing and procurement, stated that the development is being fast-tracked and the company plans to showcase the tank during the International Defence Exhibition and Seminar 2014 (IDEAS 2014) in Islamabad in December.

The development of the new MBT began earlier in the decade and Qureshi said it is around 50% complete. Some reports suggested it was being co-developed with China's NORINCO and was a version of China's MBT-3000.

Qureshi claimed this was incorrect and that the Al Khalid-I is an indigenous development of Pakistan's mainstay tank, the Al Khalid, which was jointly developed in the early 1990s with NORINCO (known in China as the MBT-2000) and commissioned in 2001.

The Pakistan Army's Armoured Corps operates about 420 Al Khalid MBTs, along with Al Zarrar (Type 59/59M), Type 69, Type 85 IIAP and T-80UD tanks. The Al Khalid-I will replace approximately 300 Type 85s and 320 T-80s, which are known to operate in semi-desert and desert areas of the country.

The existing Al Khalid is powered by a Ukrainian 6TD-2 power pack developing a maximum power of 1,200 bhp. It also features integrated battle management, auto transmission control, muzzle reference and active threat protection systems.

Qureshi added that the design concept of the Al Khalid-I is primarily based on further refining and improving mobility, firepower and protection. Initially, the design featured around 10 major changes over the Al Khalid hull, but due to rising costs and budgetary constraints, this has been reduced to six.

These include a new 1,500 bhp power pack to improve its power-to-weight ratio and a digital driver manual. The HIT official confirmed that it would retain the 125 mm smoothbore barrel. As of April 2014, trials are under way to finalise the new power pack. These details concur with comments at IDEAS 2012 by a senior official at Pakistan's Ministry of Defence Procurement who told said that an improved version would feature a more powerful diesel power pack, improved command and control and better night-fighting capabilities.

HIT plans to complete trials of the Al Khalid-I with the Pakistani Army by the first quarter of 2015 and based on results, it is hoping to achieve low rate initial production by June 2015. HIT currently has the capability to roll out 20-40 Al Khalid MBTs a year, suggesting it will look to achieve a similar production schedule for the improved version.
Even this suggests tell exactly what I am saying project is AK I and its about to enter production

Military Forum Latest Posts