Abu Zolfiqar
Rest in Peace
I doubt he is even alive, but that is my own assesment.
The Taliban have always been a Pashtun nationalist movement. The fact that NATO has deliberately confused Pashtun nationalism with AQ ideology is one of their biggest blunders.
During the proxy war against the Soviets, India had only diplomatic support to the present Afghan government throughout the 80s. Instead of supporting Muhammed Najibullah's government and his attempts to reach out to form a coalition government after the soviet withdrawal, the Pakistanis and Saudis along with US who turned a blind eye to the aftermath, let the warlords (I don't think they deserve to be called mujahideen) continue to wreck havoc on Afghan society. Eventually Najibullah's family had to seek asylum in India while Najibullah himself was massacred and mutilated by the "Taliban" forces when they took over Kabul! There was nothing Islamic about that but just barbarity.
It was only after this that India started supporting the Northern Alliance which came about after 93 to counter the Taliban.
Mohammad Najibullah - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
are u sympathising with Najibullah???? The man was a joke. He was pro-Soviet, and the Soviets even backstabbed him. Soviets came and slaughtered people en masse, and here was this man as the cat's paw.
but i do believe that the conditions of his eventual confinement and the torture/execution was unwarranted and inhumane.
care to explain further??? Northern Alliance consists mostly of non-Pakhtun tajik/uzbek/hazara warlords, and they are by default pro-indian because of the geo politics of the region.
yes we supported the anti-soviet mujahideen; but you must remember that many of the "figureheads" of Northern Alliance were actually traitors (pro-Soviet)
look no farther than General Dostum!!!
I agree 100%
you see....that's what you call a man with many hats......we get those too from time to time, they come and they go.
One Hussain Haqqani was contracted by the now defunct political wing of the ISI to spread anti Benazir Bhutto propaganda. He was tight with the Sharif industrialists. Almost 2 decades later, he's working for her (lost-soul) party as Pakistan's ambassador to the United States of America under PPP banner.
I was raised in a moderate, semi-religious family. Not too conservative. Do i care for the taleban? No, not really. My mentality and theirs are polar opposites.
But northern alliance has a human rights record that is AS BAD --if not WORSE than taleban. At least the original taleban brought some peace to Afghanistan.
And if taleban can change their doctrine to become an Afghan nationalist party that can forge unity and development in the Afghanistan, and also end drugs trade -- then I am all for political settlement. The hardcore elements of taleban will continue to fight until they are shot or they are arrested. So lets leave it at that. ttp is purely an anti-Pakistan organization being funded by certain nearby countries wanting Pakistan to be over-burdened and economically weak. ttp wont go down until they are killed or surrender, but Afghan taleban can be tamed if we allow for political settlement. Western forces will have no choice but to withdraw from Afghanistan. Koi shak nahi hai, bhaiyon. No doubt in my mind.
I see no end in sight 2001-2009. People are paying General Dostum and warlords like him, and he is sending Ilyushin-76 loaded with opiates and heroin. He's a crooked man.
bloody lotas; all of them..... they're a miserable lot.
Low-honour people.
Correct, Afghani Taliban are without a doubt an asset to Pakistan and serving pakistan's interests
but they can never be/have never been any good to Afghanistan and its people.
but the question is: how long this misery will last? How long this bloodshed will last?
there shouldnt be any problem if they participate in political process and stop fighting and killin the innocent people, no matter how evil their ideas and agend are.