A Strange Case of Doppelgangers: Hitler and Gandhi in India

Your argument has merit. But what you fail to see is that however flawed their assessment of hitlers role is, their admiration stems from that idea and not due to hitlers crimes.
Most Indians who admire him is indeed because they consider him to be a strong leader who brought development to the country but while doing so they tend to overlook the crimes he committed...

Bhai, the first massacre that took place at mind boggling scale was during the annexation of Hyderabad state. An estimated 40,000 (some scholars talk about ~200,000) Muslims were murdered in cold blood by the Indian military. Mind you it was 1948 but Hindutvadi fascism was still there. I think there is a thread on the Hyderabad massacre and slowly the details of the heinous crimes committed by the Indian army are surfacing. We talk about Gujarat that resulted in some 3000 murders and countless rapes and other crimes against the humanity for it is relatively fresh an episode but Muslims have been murdered in cold blood and in greater numbers during the entire history of post-47 India.

You are right, we do have fanatics on our side too but we never elect them as law makers and bring into power and this distinguishes us from our neighbors.

Lol, just take a minute and look where has your country been led by your leaders and where has our country been led by our leaders and still doing so. Just because we have a govt with backbone Pakistanis piss in their pants. Definitely this distinguishes us from you and every Indian irrespective of religion is happy we are us and not you.

Lol at syedali quoting an article blaming Bhagvat Geeta for nazi atrocities. They must remember krishna never asked Arjun to kill women and children. Shall I quote another holy book which also somehow related to terrorism these days?? Shall I? Then negative rating and banning will follow. That verse from Geeta is beyond your comprehensive power. Krishna meant whatever you do do it without attachment. Can you study properly if you think about your results all the time. Like I said you are quite hateful towards dharmic faiths and that's evident. @SarthakGanguly @wolfschanzze, @doppelganger, just look at the irony of syedali. Blaming geeta for nazi atrocities.

christian n moslem invaders bad ,,,so bad:bad:
hindooooooooo,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Lol at syedali quoting an article blaming Bhagvat Geeta for nazi atrocities. They must remember krishna never asked Arjun to kill women and children. Shall I quote another holy book which also somehow related to terrorism these days?? Shall I? Then negative rating and banning will follow. That verse from Geeta is beyond your comprehensive power. Krishna meant whatever you do do it without attachment. Can you study properly if you think about your results all the time. Like I said you are quite hateful towards dharmic faiths and that's evident. @SarthakGanguly @wolfschanzze, @doppelganger, just look at the irony of syedali. Blaming geeta for nazi atrocities.
yaar,,,ek kahawat hae
bhais ke aage been bajao bhais rahi purwayi,,,,,matlab fayeda koi nahi..

Some over here think that it is because of Hitler's contribution that India and other third world countries are free today. But he/they forget that Hitler wasn't out there for people liberation but world dominance. Now had Germans won the war convincingly, India would either have been a colony of Japan or Germany... Our independence was more or less like the tale of two kittens and a monkey where the monkey benefited because of kittens tearing each other out....

Again the same rubbish.

How does it matter what Hitlers intentions were ? He was never an Indian leader anyway. Who has the power to look into his heart and know the "truth" ?

Fact still remains that the majority of the world is Free because Hitler chose to go to war with the Dominant Oppressive world powers of the day. A war that destroyed Western power and ensured that the rest of the world got a fair chance in staking our claim on progress and Freedom.

God moves in mysterious ways. Who is to say that Hitler was not doing god's plan all long ?

India owns more to Hitler and Germany for our freedom than we do to Britain or the US.

The crimes he committed were never against Indians, so why should the Indians hate him ? The Brits have committed unforgivable crimes against India. The muslim invaders have committed unforgivable crimes against Indians. Hitler OTOH has only done Good for India and Indians.

Most Indians who admire him is indeed because they consider him to be a strong leader who brought development to the country but while doing so they tend to overlook the crimes he committed...

hitler is not muslim or clearly identifiable socialist, therefore he is acceptable to many in india.

Fact still remains that the majority of the world is Free because Hitler chose to go to war with the Dominant Oppressive world powers of the day

The fact remains that you have no freaking clue what you are talking about....

BTW: Why not answer my question? (See post #33)

Looking into a mirror, eh?

You said: "Hitler ENSURED that 2/3rd of the World GOT FREE FROM BRITISH and FRENCH and SPANISH and DUTCH Rule."

- An utterly dumbed down and ignorant statement without ANY proof.

For the last time:

1.) WW2 accelerated the independence process in India... thats it.

2.) The whole independence movement would have been impossible without nationalism.

So my question, how did Hitler "ensure" independence ?

Except of accelerating the process which was already underway (And obviously he did not intend to do so by losing WW2 :lol:)

BTW: Do you know what Hitler thought about British rule in India before the war began?

Well my reply to this nonsense was deleted for some reason. :P

The fact remains that you have no freaking clue what you are talking about....

BTW: Why not answer my question? (See post #33)

How many times should I reply ?......... apparently only stupidity survives in pdf.

I replied once and it was deleted. :coffee:

Well my reply to this nonsense was deleted for some reason. :P

How many times should I reply ?......... apparently only stupidity survives in pdf.
:coffee:

I replied once and it was deleted.
Alright Mr. Historian.
So you either came up with this story that it was deleted (Strange that I did not get any notification at all... except the mod in question deleted you post in the EXACT same time as you published it :rolleyes:) OR you got so desperate to frantically try to defend your BS claims that you resorted to such a low level that your post got deleted....

Either way, it just proves your "knowledge" and ability to discuss a topic...

And no, typing a million times that " the majority of the world is Free because Hitler chose to go to war " (Without any proof of course) does not make it any more true.

Alright Mr. Historian.
So you either came up with this story that it was deleted (Strange that I did not get any notification at all... except the mod in question deleted you post in the EXACT same time as you published it :rolleyes:) OR you got so desperate to frantically try to defend your BS claims that you resorted to such a low level that your post got deleted....

Either way, it just proves your "knowledge" and ability to discuss a topic...

And no, typing a million times that " the majority of the world is Free because Hitler chose to go to war " (Without any proof of course) does not make it any more true.

LOL. Who cares if you believe me. You only believe history by white Christians in any case. A narrative designed to ease their collective guilty and whitewash their collective sins.

Continue to believe the british "granted" us freedom :lol: ...... and Indians lapped up this favor like dogs. Gandhi was moses who parted India with the swish of his danda :cheesy:

The existence of the relatively free world around is the final proof of the impact of Hitler. Its as clear as day for anyone willing to look at it with unprejudiced objective eyes.

hitler is not muslim or clearly identifiable socialist, therefore he is acceptable to many in india.
I would say the bolded part is kind of gross generalization of Indian populace.... I would suggest you to go through the post below

@Slav Defence - There is a general tendency to look historical figures in a different light a few years down the line. Only the people actually suffered really understand the evil that befell them. Today, there is a general admiration for people like Genghis Khan or Alexander. When confronted with their evils, the automatic answer is: well, they were great military minds. Only the people who's cities were burnt, families murdered, who's countries lay in ruins can truly appreciate the evil that was perpetrated by these men.

In India, we are fed a constant diet of Gandhi from the day we're born. Couple that with our natural tendency to rebel against anything our parents tell us and you have this odd fascination with Hitler. We were fortunate that the axis powers didn't end up occupying India. So we have the luxury of admiring the leadership qualities of Hitler. Had we ended up under the sword of Nazism, I'm not sure we'd feel so warm and fuzzy about Hitler. The admiration for Hitler is more about a revisionist view of history where Gandhi is bit player and men like Bose were the real heros of Indian independence struggle.

LOL. Who cares if you believe me. You only believe history by white Christians in any case. A narrative designed to ease their collective guilty and whitewash their collective sins.

Continue to believe the british "granted" us freedom :lol: ...... and Indians lapped up this favor like dogs. Gandhi was moses who parted India with the swish of his danda :cheesy:

The existence of the relatively free world around is the final proof of the impact of Hitler. Its as clear as day for anyone willing to look at it with unprejudiced objective eyes.

You do, otherwise you would not talk to me.

And funny how you could not answer my points.

I think that settles the "discussion"

I would say the bolded part is kind of gross generalization of Indian populace.... I would suggest you to go through the post below

What a pathetic apology for the evils of the British empire. :sick:

We DID have the luxury of admiring the leadership qualities of Churchill and of Britain. Hard to believe Nazi's could do worse. :coffee:

tumblr_njgqoqVunP1s7e5k5o1_1280.jpg

Not only are we fed the constant diet of gandhi, we are ALSO fed the constant diet of "british history" and "anglo saxon " history.

A History where we gloss over the fact that Subash Chandra Bose was ELECTED to lead the congress and Gandhi did not let that happen.
A History that gloss over the fact that Sardar Patel was elected to be PM of India and AGAIN Gandhii did not let that happen.

What did Gandhi do while Bengal starved ? when 5 million died of starvation ?

The real history where Nehru allowed Subash Chandra Bose to rot in Siberia prison so that he can be PM is hidden as "national secret".

The Prisoner of Yakutsk -The New Indian Express

There is an excerpt you might find interesting to read:

Slavoj Žižek, while delivering a lecture at Institute for sociology and philosophy, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia, explains how SS head Heinrich Himmler used The Bhagavad Gita’s meanings to justify killings, without any moral remorse. “You need this type of a vision to enable you to do the horrors”, Zizek says. The Nazi soldiers carried out genocides, killed women and children, and committed unimaginable horrors, the problem was – how to enable the soldiers to do this ‘without becoming beasts’. In Bhagavad Gita, Arjuna has doubts while in the battlefield – ‘Do I have the right? thousands will die’, and Lord Krishna convinces him of the legitimacy of the violence he was to inflict. He explains how material realities are just appearances, true reality is the reality of your self (aatma) – “What you can destroy ‘deserves to perish’. Don’t get involved”. Zizek sees this as a good totalitarian propaganda when it’s difficult to carry out such violence. Himmler’s argument to convince soldiers suffering from pangs of conscience and ethical doubt was that - ‘most people could do great things for the country, even lay down their lives, but a true hero is the one who is ready to lose his soul for the country, to do horrible things for it. The true greatness is to elevate yourself above this temptation of ‘ordinary humanity’, true ethical greatness is when for a higher cause, you are ready to act beyond good and evil’.

It is all too relatable in the present context as we see a renewed popularity in totalitarian and fascist worldviews, be it in the form of Hindutva or Islamic fundamentalism (Islamic State et al) etc.

Lord Krishna's Gita Saar As Nazi Justification For Killing 6Mn Jews, Slavoj Žižek Explains

It is interesting to see that certain scholars have already started to compare Hindutva with Islamic fundamentalism seen with ISIS. No wonder Obama had to give a lecture to his guests on their mistreatment of minorities.
So Germans and Nazis were Hindus?
That is what happens when you hijack someones Religion,books,epics and try to paint them as yours.
Just like Pakistan tries to be Arab,by trying to ape them. likewise the Swastika of the Nazis.
You don't know what Bhagavad Gita is nor have you read the whole Mahabharata epic.
I too can provide many such verses from your Religion which will put even the Nazis to shame.

You do, otherwise you would not talk to me.

And funny how you could not answer my points.

I think that settles the "discussion"

LOL. You are pathetic.

You are just a convenient shoulder for me to fire from. As a poster, I have only contempt for you.