80pc of Pakistanis’ wealth comprises residential buildings: WB

ISLAMABAD: A new World Bank study says Pakistani households accumulate significant net worth but overwhelmingly in the form of residential buildings, and on average nearly 80 per cent of the wealth accumulated by age 60 to 65 is composed of residential buildings.

The average Pakistani household’s net worth grows by 60 months’ worth of consumption (5 years) between ages 25 and 65. The bulk of this increase is in the form of residential housing, whereas other forms of wealth such as land, durables, business and farm values and financial assets stagnate over the life cycle. Asset accumulation is slower early in the life cycle and picks up speed between ages 40 and 65.

The combined forces of population aging, weakening family and village risk-sharing networks, and low formal pension coverage will make financing elderly consumption a major challenge for the future, says the study, “Life Cycle Savings in a High-Informality Setting — Evidence from Pakistan”, released earlier this week.

The fact that households primarily save in real estate and land signals that this is considered a safe investment, relative to other available options. Housing may be a way to store resources for the long run in a way that cannot easily be stolen or appropriated by other family members, observes the stu

The study says it could also reflect a lack of access to other safe, high return, and trustworthy long-term saving instruments. Low financial literacy, numeracy, and familiarity with formal banking institutions can all create barriers to participation in other forms of saving.

Pakistan has been much slower than other neighbouring countries in expanding financial inclusion and the barriers to this must be addressed, the study emphasised.

While safe, housing is a relatively illiquid asset, which takes resources away from short-term consumption smoothing. According to Findex, only 3 per cent of those aged 15 years and above in Pakistan report being able to rely on savings for emergency funds, while 49pc say it is not possible to come up with emergency funds.

The main source of emergency funds tends to be family or friends, according to 41pc of the population aged 15 years and above; 25pc report borrowing for medical expenditures.

Policies that allow greater use of real estate assets as collateral to borrow against, through formal financial institutions, could in theory reduce the need for liquid precautionary savings, and free up resources to save for retirement. However, such initiatives may also encourage over-indebtedness and lead to evictions.

Lack of other safe, liquid forms of saving can also limit earning opportunities offered by self-employment. The self-employed tend to be older than informal wage workers but with similar levels of schooling. Almost half of the self-employed have no education. The older age of the self-employed might suggest that initial working years are spent acquiring start-up capital, as most of the self-employed enterprises are started using own capital. According to the Findex surveys, only 11pc of people aged 15 years and above borrow to start or expand a business.

The study suggests that improving opportunities for safe long-term saving outside housing in the form of government-sponsored or subsidised old-age savings instruments could yield greater independence in old-age and reduce the burden on younger families.

According to the study: “We find that average net worth accumulation accelerates midway through the working years, roughly around age forty. While some of this accumulation may reflect patterns in inheritances, we show that active saving likely plays a significant part: household income growth starts to outpace household consumption growth around that time, and the saving rate increases by 20 percentage points between ages 40 and 65.” This suggests that programmes that aim to encourage formal saving may be most successful among individuals in that age range.

This is very concerning

Most of this money endup in Islamabad. That’s why property prices are so high. Average house in Islamabad sector F-8
is US million dollar $$ plus. Even dirty empty dry plots in far away places like DHA “Islamabad” is 4-5 coror or $200-$300k.

I was informed by a friend in construction business that previous govts allowed, Big fishes to get pay up 20% to 30% fine on their dark money and they can keep the rest. Most of that money than end up in Islamabad real estate markets.

Mad construction is going on in Islamabad. Mid to high rise commercial buildings.
Yeah I doubt it, most of it is going to one place, it's a nationwide phenomen

Of housing societies being used as investment, you can find housing societies being built in mid tier cities like sialkot or even places like bhawalpur, forget big cities like Lahore or Karachi

You're probably from Islamabad that's why you felt that way

Money should be going into bank savings as that would help the country grow, this housing investment achieves Little

This isn't good for the country

To homework kr k shares khareedo simple
shear 20% profit de rahy hain kya ?RE is sold as rock as long as you have land in possession its imposible to loss money . whle stock can make you knagaal in hours .

Most of this money endup in Islamabad. That’s why property prices are so high. Average house in Islamabad sector F-8
is US million dollar $$ plus. Even dirty empty dry plots in far away places like DHA “Islamabad” is 4-5 coror or $200-$300k.

I was informed by a friend in construction business that previous govts allowed, Big fishes to pay up 20% to 30% fine on their dark money and than they can keep/invest the rest. Most of that money end up in Islamabad real estate markets.

Mad construction is going on in Islamabad. Mid to high rise commercial buildings.
its 50-50 not most sir . there is genuine buyers and builders and there is black money .

Yeah I doubt it, most of it is going to one place, it's a nationwide phenomen

Of housing societies being used as investment, you can find housing societies being built in mid tier cities like sialkot or even places like bhawalpur, forget big cities like Lahore or Karachi

You're probably from Islamabad that's why you felt that way

Money should be going into bank savings as that would help the country grow, this housing investment achieves Little

This isn't good for the country
banks ? bhai PKR worth to wipe in toilets now kon pagal apni money bank or savings main lagay ga ?

inflation rate 23%
profit rate 15%
after profit taxes and services charges you get mearly get 5%

its mean you loss your 18% money if you keep in banks

Inefficient allocation of resources. Need to invest more in productive sectors via banks and capital markets.

Regards

shear 20% profit de rahy hain kya ?RE is sold as rock as long as you have land in possession its imposible to loss money . whle stock can make you knagaal in hours .

its 50-50 not most sir . there is genuine buyers and builders and there is black money .

banks ? bhai PKR worth to wipe in toilets now kon pagal apni money bank or savings main lagay ga ?

inflation rate 23%
profit rate 15%
after profit taxes and services charges you get mearly get 5%

its mean you loss your 18% money if you keep in banks
Well your capital needs to be spent where it's being used to make money, create jobs

- bank - your money means, more buisness loans, more buisnesses
- stocks, bonds- self explanatory
If an exporter wants to expand and needs money

He'll use stock options and in return create jobs, bring foreign exchange

Real estate achieves nothing except for maybe construction jobs

This is not at all good for the country

Inefficient allocation of resources. Need to invest more in productive sectors via banks and capital markets.

Regards
Investors look for max return. Right now real estate in capital is legit hot. All the embassies are in capital. Embassies pay good money to rent houses in posh neighborhoods. Than politicians from all over the country. They want one family house in Islamabad. All the business elite want one house. So competition is real stiff. People with money aren’t able to get houses in posh area, no one wants to sell.

Well your capital needs to be spent where it's being used to make money, create jobs

Can’t force investors where to invest his money. If market need liquidity, govt can use other options to provide liquidity.

When the it's recession time, real estate sector is the worst affected

ohhh bhai ye pakistani bank hain ap ko itna to pata hai na ?

no middle bussiness take loans from them . its almost imposible to take small loans from these banks . only elite take loans and did nto pay back . just deposit you 5 lakh in bank as savings . after 5 years you will get back 6.5 lakhs . its ok ? and then go bank and ask i need loan and see what they will do to you . yes people should make factories start bussiness and invest in real things i agree but giving money to savings banks and stock is waste of money . if their was profit in these things inverters will not invest in RE .

When the it's recession time, real estate sector is the worst affected
show us example of our history please . in last 40 years of pakistani RE market there are many up and down but no losses .

ohhh bhai ye pakistani bank hain ap ko itna to pata hai na ?

no middle bussiness take loans from them . its almost imposible to take small loans from these banks . only elite take loans and did nto pay back . just deposit you 5 lakh in bank as savings . after 5 years you will get back 6.5 lakhs . its ok ? and then go bank and ask i need loan and see what they will do to you . yes people should make factories start bussiness and invest in real things i agree but giving money to savings banks and stock is waste of money . if their was profit in these things inverters will not invest in RE .

show us example of our history please . in last 40 years of pakistani RE market there are many up and down but no losses .
Actually our micro loans were growing at double digits just couple months ago

Don't know now

Can’t force investors where to invest his money. If market need liquidity, govt can use other options to provide liquidity.
once upon a time i was thinking same as he sugessed but i end up in mess of banks and i still ashamed why i deposited my money i can be crorrepati many years ago if i have not invested in banks .

Actually our micro loans were growing at double digits just couple months ago

Don't know now
bank usko qarza deta hai jo dikha de ke usky pass pesa hai . ager apky pass pesa hai to ap qarz lo gay hi kiyoo ?

now i am eligible to take loan of 10millions to 100 millions but why they hell i take loans ? they will not give loans to those whom have nothing to show net worth of same amount . ap lagta hai ahqeeqat se door hai is mamly main .

aik simple gari ka loan lena yahan zaleel hona hai . ap gari ke 40% pay karo gay bank 60% per apko itna zaleel kareen gay ke ap gari se nafrat karny lago gay .

Investors look for max return. Right now real estate in capital is legit hot. All the embassies are in capital. Embassies pay good money to rent houses in posh neighborhoods. Than politicians from all over the country. They want one family house in Islamabad. All the business elite want one house. So competition is real stiff. People with money aren’t able to get houses in posh area, no one wants to sell.
yes thsi si the question . why i give my money to banks and reduce my purchasing power to 0 ? investment and inflation must be calculated and money must be invested where you really gain profits . if you hate your money then at least convert it in dollars and keep it aside . this is all you can do .

i am agreed about investment if our economy was solid like UAE /UK/CAN/USA/EU . here you sleep morning you loss have already lost your 5% purchasing power with rupee devalue .

The more patriotic option, although I don't know much about pakistani stock market...
sir hum mulk se piyar kerty hain per iska matlab ye to nhi apni sari hard earning money hi inko de ker khud kangaal ho jaay ? ye kesi mohbbat hai ?

BTW i invest in commercial and its create jobs and bussiness . i have two properties which did not generate anything a farm house and home .

The more patriotic option, although I don't know much about pakistani stock market...

Dear the old adage in investment is never put your eggs in one basket spend some in real estate bonds national savings mutual funds etc. And invest a small portion in high risk like stocks

If anybody is interested in mutual funds and takaful insurance call my friend Mr Saeed Sabri Assistant Branch Manager Adamjee life WAH CANTT 03446411557

..wish the report would have details about other countries as well. :pop: