42 years in making, Jharkhand canal collapses 24 hours after opening

Btw where do u live in the US...east coast or west? Just asking out of curiosity...u don't have to answer if u don't wanna reveal that info. I've met up with Avicenna before while he was visiting Cali. I like to meet in person with ppl I interact with here...just to be able to put a face to them.

I divide my time equally between Bangladesh and the West Coast (SF and LA). Right now is probably not a great time - involved in a lot of business travel between Asia and the West Coast.

But yeah - a PDF West Coast get together doesn't sound too bad at some point.

India has more than exceeded my expectations with this collapsed canal. I am completely satisfied.

Just to placate Indians - we are talking about BIMARU states, not the rest of Shupapawa India.:-)

India has more than exceeded my expectations with this collapsed canal. I am completely satisfied.

You seem very quiet about the other part of my post :-)
Ashamed of your origins, I see . OK, I can understand why. Thank god, my ilk has no such problems !

Br. waz would you ask this here fellow to post a few examples where I defend terrorism. or does he mean that posting anything in favor of Pakistan and or trying to counter lies and defamation is defending terrorism?

You never have, he’s a Sanghi what do you expect? Ashamed even of the Indian flag in his profile.

42 years in making, Jharkhand canal collapses 24 hours after opening
Abhijit Sen & ASRP Mukesh | TNN | Updated: Aug 30, 2019, 22:29 IST

HAZARIBAG/RANCHI: A canal that was first conceptualised 42 years ago and whose cost escalated from a mere Rs 12 crore to Rs 2,176 crore in the decades that went by collapsed just 24 hours after it was inaugurated with great fanfare in Hazaribag by Jharkhand chief minister Raghubar Das on Wednesday.
The breach in the canal, part of the Konar River Irrigation Project in Hazaribag’s Bishnugarh, flooded agricultural fields across 35 villages in Bagodar block of neighbouring Giridih district.
70918829.jpg

Authorities in the state irrigation department put the blame for the mishap on several rat holes that were yet to be cemented. The government has set up a three-member panel to probe the incident and submit a report within 24 hours. Bagodar’s BJP MLA Nagendra Mahto has demanded compensation for the affected farmers and an inquiry into the matter. Sources told TOI that the first breach had occurred at 8.30 pm on Wednesday, barely 10 hours after the canal was green-flagged.
Opposition parties were quick to criticise the administration. Congress’s Alok Dubey said, “The BJP government takes credit for other’s work or inaugurates half-baked projects like Konar.”
‘Rat holes caused seepage in canal, led to its collapse’
JMM central general secretary Supriyo Bhattacharya said, “The government patted its own back by operationalising a project that was stalled for 42 years. They claimed the whole project will cost Rs 2,200 crore. The project was washed away in less than 22 hours.”
Talking to TOI, additional chief secretary (water resources) Arun Kumar Singh said the probe panel will be headed by the chief engineer of the water resources department’s advance planning division. Kumar said, “According to preliminary information, rat holes in the non-concrete portion of the canal caused water seepage and led to its collapse.” During the opening ceremony on Wednesday, Das had praised his officials for making the first phase of the project operational so many decades after it was envisaged in what was then undivided Bihar. “With this project, farmers can now grow crops round the year,” the CM had said. “Now, we can say that the income of our farmers will increase as we had envisioned.”
shameless...
ye bhakts kaha gaye?
rat hole me chup gaye?
See All CommentsAdd comment

The Konar project was grounded for years before the Das government revived it in 2014. The Konar reservoir, built by Damodar Valley Corporation in 1955 on the Konar river, has a 357-km canal and a 17-km tunnel. While the tunnel work is complete, only 44-km of the canal work was finished before it was inaugurated, “in a hurry” as many said.
Officials said the project’s actual completion is targeted for 2021. Over 62,955 hectares of farmland in 85 villages across Hazaribag, Giridih and Bokaro districts will benefit from the project on fruition.
#It happens only in India....

I thought Bangladeshi level of chori was bad. Wow!
2100 crores gone with nothing to show for it. :lol:
These Jharkhand and Bihar folks make Subsaharan africa look like the first world. :-)

When UP was governed by SP... I received a call from my friend in Lucknow regarding an official looking to invest his money... We went to Bundelkhand region to set up a meeting... meeting was set in a rural area of UP...
we reached there and roads were so bad that the last leg of 60/70 kms was covered in 3 hours...
JE sahab of irrigation department was ON SITE to ENSURE Quality of WORK... construction of check dams was in full swing to end the WATER PROBLEM in the area... If I can recall properly, 30 Lakh/dam... 40 or 50 dams...

Material... stones just stones... picked from the same riverine... covered by plaster... and that too of worst quality...
I was shocked to see the level of corruption and came back after suggesting JE sahab that I'm unable to convert such huge amount of black money into white... 2 crore to be exact...

https://www.bhaskar.com/news/UP-LUC...kdam-scam-not-done-his-tenur-4835464-PHO.html

https://thewire.in/agriculture/how-the-wretched-of-the-earth-were-scammed-a-report-from-bundelkhand

When UP was governed by SP... I received a call from my friend in Lucknow regarding an official looking to invest his money... We went to Bundelkhand region to set up a meeting... meeting was set in a rural area of UP...
we reached there and roads were so bad that the last leg of 60/70 kms was covered in 3 hours...
JE sahab of irrigation department was ON SITE to ENSURE Quality of WORK... construction of check dams was in full swing to end the WATER PROBLEM in the area... If I can recall properly, 30 Lakh/dam... 40 or 50 dams...

Material... stones just stones... picked from the same riverine... covered by plaster... and that too of worst quality...
I was shocked to see the level of corruption and came back after suggesting JE sahab that I'm unable to convert such huge amount of black money into white... 2 crore to be exact...

https://www.bhaskar.com/news/UP-LUC...kdam-scam-not-done-his-tenur-4835464-PHO.html

https://thewire.in/agriculture/how-the-wretched-of-the-earth-were-scammed-a-report-from-bundelkhand

Thanks for the honest stance.

I believe we all need to point out corruption wherever it happens. For Bangladesh we Bangladeshis need to be the toughest critics and most of the time we are. Just visit the Bangladesh sub-forum and see the posts. The more honest we are about our own society and corruption, the healthier it is for the state of our own politics.

Even though our govt. sometimes tries to pull propaganda tricks and has learned to use social media tool with great skill to deceive the population.

I feel it is shameful when party hacks and ruling-party-cadre uneducated goondas in some South Asian countries (enabled by corrupt deceitful leaders) have manipulated the voter-base and hijacked power from educated members of civil societies and technocrats as leaders of their govts. to overlook good governance for the sole sake of enriching their own fortunes. This trend must be avoided at all costs.

Whats the Hindu definition of paradise?
/QUOTE]

Wow, you are replying to my 3 days old post in 1 day instalments ?

Top of It, you posted this news 3 MONTHS after It happened!

It takes you 3 days to reply to me ? Are you going to write one more post tomorrow?

Take some help in this matter, you are embarrassing yourself

A clip of a poor stall in India explains how your Pakistan makes better quality canals, according to you.

Truly impressed by your intellect. And the standard of education you are a product of.

I am joking , slowpoke . I am not impressed at all, just repulsed by this low level of brain activity.