23 Types of People You Meet At A Pakistani Gathering
By Sajeer Shaikh -
April 21, 2016
Share180
Tweet
Every Pakistani gathering is filled with a wide spectrum of individuals with differing personalities and this certainly serves as a decent entertainment when your phone’s internet isn’t working. If you’ve ever bumped into any of them or had the opportunity to observe casually from the sidelines, you’ll notice that these are the types of people you’d meet at almost every desi event:
1. The Rishta Aunties
They’re everywhere. They leave their houses specifically to hunt down eligible bachelors or gori doctor bahus. This is their entire purpose in life. They’ll pretend to be interested in your life, but their questions will only revolve around your age, the degree you’re pursuing, how well off your khaandaan is and if you’re domesticated enough to fit into her family.
Source: Tumblr
2. The Commentators
They will gather at these events to discuss why they should run Pakistan instead of Nawaz Sharif, why Imran Khan’s marriages fail, how Ayyan Ali should dress more decently while attending court sessions and other irrelevant topics that nobody really gives two shits about.
3. The Bored AF Uncles
They’re usually seen sulking in corners or at tables, waiting for their wives (presumably the rishta aunties) to get done with their shenanigans.
4. The Shameless Hogs
They’re just there for the food. They’ll casually interrupt ongoing conversations multiple times with ‘waisay khaana kab lagega?’ or ‘kaafi deir nahi hogayi khaana lagne main?’ Once the food comes out, they forget that they’re from a family where they’re fed four square meals a day. You can usually point them out because of the heaped pile of food on their plates which they’re most likely going to waste.
Source: Pinterest
5. The Khussar Phussars
These are the people who know what’s up between Khan Sahab’s daughter and Malik Sahab’s son. They know who’s chacha’s bhanji ran away with whom, who’s fighting with their maid, who’s getting a divorce and a bunch of other information that they’ve obtained through shady means.
6. The Conversation Killers
Anyone who starts their conversation with ‘kitnay barey hogaye ho’ or ‘shaadi kab karni hai?‘is purely going through the motions. Their attempts at making conversation fails before even beginning.
Source: Giphy
7. The Restless Children
You kind of want to drug them and watch the light leave their eyes because they’re loud, annoying and completely useless in a formal setting, but they’re cute at times, so you let it go.
8. The Amreeki
@Moonlight
They can’t stop flaunting their fake accent and their tales about how everything is cleaner or better abroad never end. They make you want to wish they’d stayed back if they loved it that much.
By Sajeer Shaikh -
April 21, 2016
Share180
Tweet
Every Pakistani gathering is filled with a wide spectrum of individuals with differing personalities and this certainly serves as a decent entertainment when your phone’s internet isn’t working. If you’ve ever bumped into any of them or had the opportunity to observe casually from the sidelines, you’ll notice that these are the types of people you’d meet at almost every desi event:
1. The Rishta Aunties
They’re everywhere. They leave their houses specifically to hunt down eligible bachelors or gori doctor bahus. This is their entire purpose in life. They’ll pretend to be interested in your life, but their questions will only revolve around your age, the degree you’re pursuing, how well off your khaandaan is and if you’re domesticated enough to fit into her family.
2. The Commentators
They will gather at these events to discuss why they should run Pakistan instead of Nawaz Sharif, why Imran Khan’s marriages fail, how Ayyan Ali should dress more decently while attending court sessions and other irrelevant topics that nobody really gives two shits about.
3. The Bored AF Uncles
They’re usually seen sulking in corners or at tables, waiting for their wives (presumably the rishta aunties) to get done with their shenanigans.
4. The Shameless Hogs
They’re just there for the food. They’ll casually interrupt ongoing conversations multiple times with ‘waisay khaana kab lagega?’ or ‘kaafi deir nahi hogayi khaana lagne main?’ Once the food comes out, they forget that they’re from a family where they’re fed four square meals a day. You can usually point them out because of the heaped pile of food on their plates which they’re most likely going to waste.
Source: Pinterest
5. The Khussar Phussars
These are the people who know what’s up between Khan Sahab’s daughter and Malik Sahab’s son. They know who’s chacha’s bhanji ran away with whom, who’s fighting with their maid, who’s getting a divorce and a bunch of other information that they’ve obtained through shady means.
6. The Conversation Killers
Anyone who starts their conversation with ‘kitnay barey hogaye ho’ or ‘shaadi kab karni hai?‘is purely going through the motions. Their attempts at making conversation fails before even beginning.
Source: Giphy
7. The Restless Children
You kind of want to drug them and watch the light leave their eyes because they’re loud, annoying and completely useless in a formal setting, but they’re cute at times, so you let it go.
8. The Amreeki
@Moonlight
They can’t stop flaunting their fake accent and their tales about how everything is cleaner or better abroad never end. They make you want to wish they’d stayed back if they loved it that much.