Valentine’s Day Celebrations Banned All Across Pakistan: IHC

Any takfiri ideals by you will be dealt with severely
Hey, who the hell do u think u are, threatening other members, what takfiri ideals is he promoting??, u are abusing ur powers as a mod n are frequently seen asserting ur opinions on others...

Unlike some Muslims here, we have no problem adopting things from other cultures,
if they make sense or are harmless.
Niether do we provided they are harmless and valitines day is harmful according to our society hence the ban, deal with it...

Yes the move was pointless and backwards there is no point in banning something just few urban folks do in the age of internet it just makes you look like a goof ball

Muslim so called Ummah is not down because of valentine day but due to extremism,illiteracy and clowns as leaders with a public that is directionless
Believe me the ban doesn't effect who wanna roll it anyhow YES it's effect millions of economic lost ( may be less ) when poor flower sellers or related business kick out by authorities. Another bad day for daily earners.

This is not complicated. This is not rocket science.

Basant is undoubtedly a Hindu tradition and you know it. I'm not a fan of this Hindu festival, but feel free to differ. It has been imported from India. There is no denying this. Just because people in Punjab have practiced this festivity for a long period doesn't mean that we should ignore its roots. Having said that, basant is better than crappy festivities like Valentine's Day. The people are free to celebrate whatever they like. I'm just expressing my own opinion.

My real beef with Basant is kite flying which claims scores of innocent lives. It is crazy.

Even for argument sake I accept it being Hindu tradition than still Hindus and Sikhs live in Punjab, so you can't just ban their festival. But mullah twist will not change the fact that Kites came from China, and basant is a seasonal festival to celebrate the arrival of Spring, and people irrespective of their religion celeberate the arrival of Spring in different ways around the globe, and in Punjab it has been in form of basant, ans it is part of Punjab's heritage like countless other traditions since time immemorial. Undermining and ridiculing the culture and traditions of Punjab with different excuses is not a new thing - It's as old as creation of Pakistan, be it calling Punjabi language of ganwars, calling people speaking Punjabi paindoo as an insult, terming tradition as Hinduana Rasams to ridicule, all thes have been tactics to discourage the Punjab's language and culture and promote the Imported language and culture.

As far as lives being lost in Basant is concerned yes it is serious issue and govt. should do legislation and enforce it to control malpractices instead of taking easy way out by banning it.

Believe me the ban doesn't effect who wanna roll it anyhow YES it's effect millions of economic lost ( may be less ) when poor flower sellers or related business kick out by authorities. Another bad day for daily earners.

Lets not forget Pakistan is a major producer of roses and you have sent millions of revenue down the drain by banning an event which could have created income for thousands of poor working in flower industry, cakes, greeting cards, handi crafts etc.

We will instead celebrate something sick like 7th century political feuds of Arabia, and cut our selves to bleed in public streets for it, shut down the entire country, internet , mobile networks, transport causing billions of lose internal revenue as we all inconvenience to entire public.

A mans perception is generally based on his resentment of his own shortcomings and inabilities, maybe its u who fails to implement any kind of sharia in ur own life hence that hidden guilt makes u see entire pakistan in ur own image, i seriously feel sorry for u and bieng a mod on pak defence forum and abusing and mocking the name of pakistan by calling it munafiqistan doesnt go hand in hand, u my friend have serious problem...
To use your logic, and your actions; perhaps it is your inability and guilt of not being able to contribute anything useful beyond baseless judgements in the 7 months that you decided to make up for it by trying some character assasination on me judging the hypocrisy of our countrymen in many issues

You are right and i agree, but don't forget if a person talks about Namaz or religion here we are labeled as Maulvis or Mullahs.
That is their own problem
The biggest issue here is not religion or conflict of valentines or Halloween with our culture and lifestyle, but the sheer ridiculous nature of us as Pakistanis to waste our time in such pointless semantics

Its like having a leaking radiator in your car but going to the mechanic and asking him about changing the seat covers

Islamabad High Court has banned Valentine’s Day celebration all across the country today.

The court passed an order regarding this after hearing a petition calling for Valentine’s Day to be banned since it is not part of Muslim tradition.

The court order states that any Valentine’s day related activities and festivities will not be allowed to be held in public places. The order also imposed a similar bar on official level as well. The media, both electronic and print, have been cautioned against giving any coverage to the ‘day of love.’

The information ministry, PEMRA chairman, Federal government and chief commissioner have all been directed to submit a reply in this regard within the next 10 days.

Valentine’s Day has no connection with our culture and it should be avoided,” Pakistani President Mamnoon Hussain

It should be mentioned that last year, Mamnoon Hussain also stated that Valentine’s Day has no part in our culture and that it is a western tradition that we could do without.

https://propakistani.pk/2017/02/13/valentines-day-celebrations-banned-across-pakistan-ihc/
Accha hua. We don't need Western practices to be allowed into our country. We have a unique Islamic cultural and traditional society of our own that we must preserve.

Good move.
It's against our religion and culture.
People should marry , not run after girl friends.
Zindabad Bhai jaan. As long as patriotic Pakistanis like you still exist I will continue to have faith that our beloved country will not allow Western cultural corruption into Pakistani society.

Jiye raho merey bhai!

Anything that doesnt comply with our Religious and cultural norms can be legally banned.
Presenting gifts to girls we are not married to is against our culture and religion and creates multiple social problems.
Ma Sha Allah bhai Jaan aap ne Khush ker diya.

Yes the move was pointless and backwards there is no point in banning something just few urban folks do in the age of internet it just makes you look like a goof ball

Muslim so called Ummah is not down because of valentine day but due to extremism,illiteracy and clowns as leaders with a public that is directionless
The move would make sense had everything else wrong in society including the ills you mentioned . That is like some plumber who has your entire house flooded but comes out proud of installing the garfen tap perfectly

They ban it every year yet the day is celebrated in restaurants, malls, universities and some other restricted public places.
They must be celebrated by desperate people with inferiority complex looking for girlfriends. Practicing Muslim Pakistanis wouldn't waste their time on useless decorations and gifts but would rather feed the ghareeb awam.