• Thursday, August 22, 2019

US Navy confirms Block V designation for modernised Tomahawk cruise missile

Discussion in 'Naval Warfare' started by F-22Raptor, Feb 1, 2019.

  1. F-22Raptor

    F-22Raptor SENIOR MEMBER

    Jun 19, 2014
    +2 / 6,482 / -1
    United States
    United States
    The US Navy (USN) is introducing a new Block V designation for modernised and recertified Block IV (Tactical Tomahawk) cruise missiles.

    New sub-variant designators are also being introduced for Block V weapons receiving the Maritime Strike Tomahawk (MST) and Joint Multiple Effects Warhead System (JMEWS) modifications.

    While Tomahawk Block IV new production is ending with full-rate production lot 15, covering the delivery of a final batch of 100 all-up rounds (AURs), the USN has committed to further evolutionary development by way of a mid-life recertification and modernisation programme beginning in fiscal year (FY) 2019. The goal of the recertification programme, being performed by original equipment manufacturer Raytheon Missile Systems, is to replace and recertify life-limited components allowing an additional 15 years of service life.

    • Thanks Thanks x 2