What's new

HAL Spearheads AASSC Mandated to Bridge Skill Gaps in Aerospace Sector


Apr 8, 2014
HAL Spearheads AASSC Mandated to Bridge Skill Gaps in Aerospace Sector

The Board Meeting of the newly constituted Aerospace and Aviation Sector Skill Council (AASSC) held at HAL Corporate Office, Bengaluru on June 30, 2015.
Bengaluru, July 1, 2015:

The newly constituted Aerospace and Aviation Sector Skill Council (AASSC) has drawn a plan to certify around 5,20,000 trainees and groom 6,000 trainers over a period of 10 years in the aerospace sector. “We have signed the term sheet with NSDC covering project objectives, segments, target training trades and broad execution plan”, said Mr. T. Suvarna Raju, CMD of HAL who is also the Chairman of AASSC, on the eve of AASSC Board Meeting held at HAL Corporate Office here yesterday

According to Mr. Raju about 30 courses will be introduced in the first three years to ensure greater relevance of skills in the aerospace sector battling for talent in various disciplines. “We also have a challenge to set up new institutes and centres of excellence. As an immediate step, we have now decided to appoint a CEO of AASSC with clear role to him”, he said.

HAL along with Bangalore Chamber of Industry and Commerce (BCIC) and Society of Indian Aerospace Technologies and Industries (SIATI) was mandated by National Skill Development Corporation (NSDC) to set up Sector Skill Council in the Aerospace and Aviation sector for fulfilling the skill requirements of the sector. The AASSC was registered as a Section 8 Company (Non-profit organisation) under the Companies Act, 2013 on September 12, 2014. HAL holds 50% stake in the Council and remaining 50% is held equally by BCIC and SIATI. The Council has its registered office in Bengaluru, within HAL premises.

Some of the leading companies that have positively responded to AASSC concept include Jet Airways (India) Ltd., Tata Advanced Systems Ltd, Max Aerospace and Aviation Pvt Lt, Dynamatic Technologies Ltd, Maini Precision Products Pvt Ltd, SLN Technologies, Karnataka Hybrid Micro Devices Limited, National Aeronautical Laboratory, Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), NTTF, Federation of Indian Airlines and Airport Authority of India. More are expected to join the Council.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Total: 1, Members: 0, Guests: 1)