What's new

Bangladesh begins construction of "international standard" cruise ships

PoondolotoPandalum

Jun 24, 2021
Country
Bangladesh

Nice to see a slightly more sophisticated class of vessels built at our shipyards. These cruise ships will be popular with domestic tourists. Perhaps even attract potential customers.

Btw by cruise ships, don't imagine large transcontinental cruise ships/liners. They're probably similar to a medium-sized ferry I'm guessing. I'm guessing between 8000-15,000 tones, based on the capacity of our current shipyards. I could be mistaken. Please share any info you may have pertaining to these vessels, and the maximum capacity of our shipyards. I think the larges ship built-in BD was 8000 tones.

As an engineer, I'll always have a heavy engineering bias, so the shipbuilding sector is perhaps the most interesting to me, out of all the emerging industries in BD. They used to face challenges with unreliable electricity, and a lack of local steel mills (a lot of them closed). But now energy is of abundance, and we have pretty good processed steel plants like GPH Ispat.

bluesky

ELITE MEMBER
Jun 14, 2016
Country
Bangladesh
"State Minister for Shipping Khalid Mahmud Chowdhury told Dhaka Tribune that they expect to launch these vessels by 2023. “It will not only expand the country's tourism industry but also will play a special role in the economy.”

The above is a part of the news. So, it is the govt of Bd who is building the ships.

Do you guys really think these ships will develop international tourism centered on BD? Do you really expect foreigners to travel by such a ship from this country when there is almost no tourist arrival?

However, I believe many newly rich people of BD would happily travel via this kind of ship. It will be the same as Cox's Bazaar, with no foreigners but many local tourists.

The world is already full of many beautiful cruise ships catered for the very rich Europeans, Americans, Japanese, and the likes.