harpoon

June 9, 2012 at 2:03 am Taslima Nasreen

Even educated women still practice various customs, cultures and traditions that are anti-women.

Mangalsutra
A woman wears Mangalsutra, a black beads necklace, for her husband’s health and well-being. Would a man wear a Mangalsutra for his wife’s health and well-being? Hell no!

Sindoor

Married women wear vermilion or Sindoor on the forehead and along the hair parting line. The Sindoor symbolizes the deep respect, devotion and dedication of a Hindu woman to her husband. Would a married man wear Sindoor on his forehead for the same purpose? Hell no!

Sankha Pola Loha

Married women wear bangles: Sankha, Pola and Loha for husband’s health. Did a man ever wear Sankha, Pola, or Loha for his wife’s health? Hell no!

Bhai Phota

‘Bhai Phota’ is performed by women. They fast and put an auspicious mark with sandal wood paste on their brothers’ foreheads, feed them sweets, give them gifts and pray for their health, happiness and prosperity. Is there a system that a man also fast and put an auspicious mark on his sister’s forehead and pray for her health, happiness and prosperity? Hell no!

Karwa Chauth

People still believe that abstaining from meals, or fasting, can prolong the life of a loved one. Women fast for 24 hours to ensure that their husbands live long lives. Do men do the same for their wives? Hell no!

Touching and husband’s feet

A woman bows her head, touches her husband’s feet, takes the dust from the feet and put them on her head on her wedding day to show her submission to her husband. Would a man ever do this? Hell no!

Jamai Sasthi or Son-in-law Day

Jamai Sasthi ritual is celebrated for health and well-being of son-in-law. The son-in-law is invited to a grand celebration in the house of his in-laws. He is served delicious food. Is it possible to have a similar celebration for health and well-being of daughter-in-law? Hell no!

There are hundreds of anti-women rituals that Hindu women perform without questioning. It is alarming that women still perform these rituals in the 21st century. Throughout history sane people have made many misogynistic cultures go extinct. But in some countries, patriarchal traditions are celebrated more ceremoniously than ever. You may say only illiterate women do it, women’s education will solve all the problems. But the truth is, educated women perform anti-women patriarchal rituals more perfectly than illiterate women, because educated women have better learning capacity. They learn every small details of patriarchy that illiterate women can not learn.

Who will fight misogynistic tradition if modern women remain busy practicing it? A few reformist men in the 19th century fought for abolishing Suttee (widow burning), for women’s education, and for widows’ remarriage. In the 21st century, a new set of enlightened revolutionary men is probably needed to save women from the darkness.

Shame on women! | No Country for Women

Came across this article by Tasleema Nasrin. The reason for me posting this article is that a few weeks ago in the Rakhabandhan thread ajtr opposed this type of festivals as it uphold men's superiority over women. Seeing the many comments who opposes this type of rituals do you feel that we Hindus (as the ceremonies mentioned is associated with Hinduism) put pressure on our women to conform to archaic traditions that should be done away with

Rather i would say shame on men for making and enforcing these customs on womhttp://www.defence.pk/forums/newreply.php?do=newreply&p=3408307en.

I have heard about most of these customs for the first time.

I fail to understand whats the problem.

These are OK things for the women folk to perform - why is she so angry about these.

Will some one explain the actual reason for wearing the red powder thing on head, if I correctly name it - sandoor.

And why are you shaming the men. Men doesn't have anything to do with it.

If the female species want to do all that, tumhein kya hai.

pathan+22.jpg

June 9, 2012 at 2:03 am Taslima Nasreen

Even educated women still practice various customs, cultures and traditions that are anti-women.

Mangalsutra
A woman wears Mangalsutra, a black beads necklace, for her husband’s health and well-being. Would a man wear a Mangalsutra for his wife’s health and well-being? Hell no!

Sindoor

Married women wear vermilion or Sindoor on the forehead and along the hair parting line. The Sindoor symbolizes the deep respect, devotion and dedication of a Hindu woman to her husband. Would a married man wear Sindoor on his forehead for the same purpose? Hell no!

Sankha Pola Loha

Married women wear bangles: Sankha, Pola and Loha for husband’s health. Did a man ever wear Sankha, Pola, or Loha for his wife’s health? Hell no!

Bhai Phota

‘Bhai Phota’ is performed by women. They fast and put an auspicious mark with sandal wood paste on their brothers’ foreheads, feed them sweets, give them gifts and pray for their health, happiness and prosperity. Is there a system that a man also fast and put an auspicious mark on his sister’s forehead and pray for her health, happiness and prosperity? Hell no!

Karwa Chauth

People still believe that abstaining from meals, or fasting, can prolong the life of a loved one. Women fast for 24 hours to ensure that their husbands live long lives. Do men do the same for their wives? Hell no!

Touching and husband’s feet

A woman bows her head, touches her husband’s feet, takes the dust from the feet and put them on her head on her wedding day to show her submission to her husband. Would a man ever do this? Hell no!

Jamai Sasthi or Son-in-law Day

Jamai Sasthi ritual is celebrated for health and well-being of son-in-law. The son-in-law is invited to a grand celebration in the house of his in-laws. He is served delicious food. Is it possible to have a similar celebration for health and well-being of daughter-in-law? Hell no!

There are hundreds of anti-women rituals that Hindu women perform without questioning. It is alarming that women still perform these rituals in the 21st century. Throughout history sane people have made many misogynistic cultures go extinct. But in some countries, patriarchal traditions are celebrated more ceremoniously than ever. You may say only illiterate women do it, women’s education will solve all the problems. But the truth is, educated women perform anti-women patriarchal rituals more perfectly than illiterate women, because educated women have better learning capacity. They learn every small details of patriarchy that illiterate women can not learn.

Who will fight misogynistic tradition if modern women remain busy practicing it? A few reformist men in the 19th century fought for abolishing Suttee (widow burning), for women’s education, and for widows’ remarriage. In the 21st century, a new set of enlightened revolutionary men is probably needed to save women from the darkness.

Shame on women! | No Country for Women

Came across this article by Tasleema Nasrin. The reason for me posting this article is that a few weeks ago in the Rakhabandhan thread ajtr opposed this type of festivals as it uphold men's superiority over women. Seeing the many comments who opposes this type of rituals do you feel that we Hindus (as the ceremonies mentioned is associated with Hinduism) put pressure on our women to conform to archaic traditions that should be done away with

You will oppose all hindu culture and how can you call hindu?
Its like not following a bit of comminism and calling self as comminist?

PS: All opposed hijab can join here.

I have heard about most of these customs for the first time.

I fail to understand whats the problem.

These are OK things for the women folk to perform - why is she so angry about these.

Will some one explain the actual reason for wearing the red powder thing on head, if I correctly name it - sandoor.

And why are you shaming the men. Men doesn't have anything to do with it.

If the female species want to do all that, tumhein kya hai.

pathan+22.jpg

I hope you are being sarcastic.

Our Indian friends have had the courage to disclose some difficult issues within some Indian societies and you are asking what is the problem?

These issues are due to conditions imposed by men and then become so common an ingrained women are literally brain washed to believe this is good manner and symbol of education.

In many Muslim countries there is the problem FGM/FGC, nothing to do with Islam but is practised to protect the men, but the perpetrators are women!!! same here.

We all need to be strong and admit our failures and try our best to give equality and justice to all = men women rich or poor, white or black, able or disabled, straight or gay, religious or atheist, we are all made in god's image.