South Asians Eating Grass to Acquire Nuke Subs

^^^ India's defense budget is just fine when you consider its threat perception, but the problem with Pakistan is its economy cannot withstand its arms race with India.

and 442 million poor people (around 2 to 3 under developed countries)

442 million poor is not considered 2-3 under developed nations, heck that's more than the whole poor of Africa and how many under developed nations are there in Africa? More than 2-3.

what a load of BS... India spends a lot on her development plans unlike pakistan who has halved her development budget..where in India it was increased by 17 % in last budget.

My friend, what problem do you have if Pakistan wants to make a nuclear submarine, nay, a flotilla of nuclear submarines. We know that our nuclear subs are not for Pakistan. If Pakistan wants to try to match us bullet for bullet, why do you object? Nuclear weapons of India and Pakistan as with all other nukes in the world are never going to be used. So if Pakistan makes/procures say five, no, that is too few, say ten nuclear subs, SSBMs along with assorted Baburs and Ghaznis and Ghoris which are never going to be used, what is our problem? Let them sink a whole lot of money into this venture, does it harm us. Trying to match us weapon for weapon is the surest way for Pakistan to get totally bankrupt and dissolve into anarchy. Isn't that what the US did to the USSR? Destroyed that superpower without firing a shot. I know, India is not the US, but then neither is Pakistan the USSR. I know that it is not polite to wish that bad things happen to ones neighbour. But if a neighbour embarks on an ambitious venture, surely we should wish it all the success, no?

But, you know what? Sadly, our wish may never be fulfilled. Because guys like Riazhaq exist only in the cyber world of keyboard warriors. The real policy makers of Pakistan, not those bumbling idiots one sees cursing each other on TV but the sharp bureaucrats and military professional will never grant our wish. They will never allow Pakistan to get totally unbalanced and commit harakiri. So, while we may hope that guys like Riazhaq rise to positions of power and influence in Pakistan so that they may come up with many adventurous projects, it is not gonna happen. So bro, chill and enjoy the stimulating discussion.

442 million poor is not considered 2-3 under developed nations, heck that's more than the whole poor of Africa and how many under developed nations are there in Africa? More than 2-3.

Its similar to the up and down arrows keys on your keyboard, Poverty in one country is going down(but still worrisome and a bit shocking looking at the growth rate resulting in unbalanced wealth distribution) and Poverty in one country(ahem.. yours) going up owing to whatever factors you might describe.

Its a notion yaar...2 nations with same population as Pakistan(~180 million)....just want to emphasize on statistics making dummy nations....i am not going for actuality as far as particular countries are concerned, just generalizing it....hope you get my point...

Cheers

Its a notion yaar...2 nations with same population as Pakistan(~180 million)....just want to emphasize on statistics making dummy nations....i am not going for actuality as far as particular countries are concerned, just generalizing it....hope you get my point...

Cheers

It's highly immoral to dismiss hungry people as just stats. These are human beings who are suffering desperately.

Here are some facts:

Hunger remains the No.1 cause of death in the world. Aids, Cancer etc. follow.

There are 820 million chronically hungry people in the world.

1/3rd of the worldÂ’s hungry live in India.

836 million Indians survive on less than Rs. 20 (less than half-a-dollar) a day.

Over 20 crore Indians will sleep hungry tonight.

10 million people die every year of chronic hunger and hunger-related diseases. Only eight percent are the victims of hunger caused by high-profile earthquakes, floods, droughts and wars.

India has 212 million undernourished people – only marginally below the 215 million estimated for 1990–92.

99% of the 1000 Adivasi households from 40 villages in the two states, who comprised the total sample, experienced chronic hunger (unable to get two square meals, or at least one square meal and one poor/partial meal, on even one day in the week prior to the survey). Almost as many (24.1 per cent) had lived in conditions of semi-starvation during the previous month.

Over 7000 Indians die of hunger every day.

Over 25 lakh Indians die of hunger every year.

Despite substantial improvement in health since independence and a growth rate of 8 percent in recent years, under-nutrition remains a silent emergency in India, with almost 50 percent of Indian children underweight and more than 70 percent of the women and children with serious nutritional deficiencies as anemia.

The 1998 – 99 Indian survey shows 57 percent of the children aged 0 – 3 years to be either severely or moderately stunted and/or underweight.

During 2006 – 2007, malnutrition contributed to seven million Indian children dying, nearly two million before the age of one.

30% of newborn are of low birth weight, 56% of married women are anaemic and 79% of children age 6-35 months are anaemic.

The number of hungry people in India is always more than the number of people below official poverty line (while around 37% of rural households were below the poverty line in 1993-94, 80% of households suffered under nutrition).
Sources :
UN World Food Programme
UN World Health Organization: Global Database on Child Growth and Malnutrition, 2006
UN Food and Agriculture Organization: SOFI 2006 Report
National Commission for Enterprises in the Unorganized Sector (India)
National Family Health Survey 2005 – 06 (NFHS-3) (India)
Centre for Environment and Food Security (India)
Rural 21 (India)

Hunger Facts | The Hunger Site for Facts: Bhookh.com

^^^ LOL R U seriously concerned or just intend to show us in a bad light cos believe me you should be much more concerned about your country than us, and on topic the resultant arms race which supposedly Pakistan will get into to match up with India will actually take you beyond the precipice.

Its a distribution yaar, read more about indian economic distribution and age distribution
FYI

Kindly see Population below poverty line, Distribution of family income - Gini index

https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/in.html

Income distribution falls under the GINI co-efficient, it does not tell the number of middle class, upper class or lower citizens in a country, but the degree of income disparity. I am asking you again, where did you get those numbers?

All of infrastructure spending in India is financed by external debt....which is not guaranteed.

Eating grass is not good, but it beats eating toxic mud, which is what BBC says is happening in India.

Here's an excerpt of a recent BBC story of Indian children eating dirt to survive:

In Ganne, just off the main road about an hour south of the city of Allahabad, this is a simple fact of life.

It is home to members of a poor tribal community, who live in small huts clustered around a series of shallow quarries.

Inside one of the huts sits a little girl called Poonam. She is three years old, and in the early stages of kidney failure.

Like many children in Ganne she has become used to eating bits of dried mud and silica, which she finds in the quarry. Tiny children chew on the mud simply because they are hungry - but it is making them ill.

When reports first emerged of children eating mud here local officials delivered more food and warned the villagers not to speak to outsiders. But Poonam's father, Bhulli, is close to despair.

BBC News - Diet of mud and despair in Indian village

It is unfortunate to see so many Indian posters on this forum with such bravado, unconcerned by the conditions the common man and the majority of India lives in:

BBC News - Should the UK fund toilets in Mumbai slums?

Chalo chado yaar hum garib beshak hai, lekin shauk to nawabo wale hai..

We do not have abominations like this in Pakistan. A $2 Billion house.

antillamumbaimukeshambanibilliondollarhome1.jpg

Although, India's population is 6.5 times Pakistan's population and GDP 9 times that of Pakistan.
The difference between rich and poor is far greater in India the rich are ****** rich (57 U$D Billionaires). In India, wealth is concentrated in far fewer hands than Pakistan.

Population below poverty line (India) = 37%
(Pakistan) = 24%

ohgod.png
Mr Haq writing all these blogs with twisted facts won't bring down India's defense budget............
We won't eat grass but we will...without fail pay more taxes to keep it afloat.

We do not have abominations like this in Pakistan. A $2 Billion house.

Although, India's population is 6.5 times Pakistan's population and GDP 9 times that of Pakistan.
The difference between rich and poor is far greater in India the rich are ****** rich (57 U$D Billionaires). In India, wealth is concentrated in far fewer hands than Pakistan.

Population below poverty line (India) = 37%
(Pakistan) = 24%

Kyon jhooth bolte ho, Pakistan mein poverty 40% hai aur India 25% se kam hai.