Peace, but with justice

Bang Galore

M.J. Akbar

SINCE an improvement in bilateral relations was clearly not on Pakistan Interior Minister Rehman Malik’s agenda, why did he come to India? There has to be some rational reason.

Tourism offers a possibility. Taj Mahal, that magnificent metaphor for love, is a powerful magnet for our western neighbours even when India-Pakistan affairs are not in a honeymoon phase, tinged as it is by that wistful feel of so-near-yet-so-far. You cannot really blame a minister for dropping by to take a look in the last months of office, before next summer’s elections inevitably take his job away and his security ring withers.

Then there is religious tourism, which ostensibly brought Asif Zardari to India; particularly the mausoleums of Hazrat Nizamuddin of Delhi and Khwaja Moinuddin Chishti of Ajmer, saints and symbols of unity built around a humane philosophy.

What a pity that religious tourism was not included in the minor visa reforms signed by the fractious neighbours. That would have driven up demand for travel. After five decades of hammering at the wall that went up after the 1965 war, divided Muslim families have virtually given up on preserving kinship across hostile borders. The emotional and physical cost is too high. But the great dargahs from an undivided past remain a solace to the soul.

Rehman Malik obviously did not come merely to sign the visa document. Bureaucrats would have sufficed for this illusion. Visas have been made easier for those who cannot travel alone, the under-12s, and those who will not travel alone, the over-65s. Both categories, exceptions apart, need the company of an adult still trapped in the humiliation of the present process.

Frankly, it does not seem sensible that Rehman Malik came merely to see the Taj or prove that he can use a fountain pen. I think I have the answer. He came to India to win the next election in Pakistan. His first press conference in Delhi was not addressed to Indians; he was talking to the more vitriolic of his constituencies in Pakistan.

Rehman Malik has admirable clarity, supported by a noticeable absence of sentiment and no sense of embarrassment. Nor is he troubled by doubt. The rules of politics, for him, are far more important than the laws of hospitality. An old maxim of behaviour demands that guests should not be rude to their hosts. Rehman Malik has no such qualms. No visitor has been as deliberately offensive towards Indians as Malik managed to be within hours of landing in Delhi.

Perhaps Malik, and others like him, do not want to understand what the terrorist savagery in Mumbai means to Indians. India watched transfixed as this horror unfolded on television. India heard the interaction between killers and their command centre in Pakistan, run by Lashkar-e-Taiba operatives.

Pakistan’s present high commissioner in Delhi Salman Bashir once dismissed Indian evidence provided by home minister P. Chidambaram as “mere literature”; Malik thinks that additional material is “only information”, possibly because his English is not as good as Bashir’s. But both mean the same thing.

Rehman Malik added that Ajmal Kasab’s evidence against the Lashkar and its leader Hafiz Saeed “needs further corroboration”. Sorry about that, Mr Malik, but all those who could have done so are either dead in Mumbai or alive in Pakistan. The dead can’t talk. The living can.

Rehman Malik says Pakistan courts have exonerated Saeed. But any court can only go as far as the evidence offered by the prosecution. If the police make a thin case, or no case at all, the judgment will reflect it. The Pakistan police report to Rehman Malik.

What puzzles me is India’s unwillingness to question Islamabad about the role of the ISI in the Mumbai havoc. It is not only Kasab who has provided details; David Headley has outlined a whole narrative of how ISI officers helped lead, manage and finance this operation. Headley is not in an Indian prison, but an American one.

Have Dr Manmohan Singh and Mrs Sonia Gandhi decided that it is time India forgot about Mumbai and moved on, as Rehman Malik publicly urged India to do? I imagine that our leaders squirmed a little when Rehman Malik declared Hafiz Saeed innocent, or indeed when he blamed the death of Kargil martyr Saurabh Kalia on the weather rather than enemy atrocity.

Perhaps they think that cricket will wash such tremors away with a great feel-good wave. They have also developed, on a parallel track, a little ploy: all those who want accountability are bloodthirsty hawks; and all those tilting towards obfuscation are little doves full of grace and wisdom.

India is not divided into hawks and doves. A majority of Indians wants peace with Pakistan, but they want peace with justice. Indians know that Mumbai might fade from memory but will never disappear, and that Pakistan can do something to ease the pain. Pakistan can ensure that the Mumbai masterminds do not laugh derisively while Indian hearts burn.

Is that too much to ask, Dr Singh?

The writer is editor of The Sunday Guardian, published from Delhi, India on Sunday, published from London and editorial director, India Today and Headlines Today.

http://dawn.com/2012/12/16/peace-but-with-justice/

Mian Malik has screwed up the entire purpose of his visit to india!!!!! But then thats how he works..... Talk nonsense then say his words have been taken out of context.......

He is by far the most idiotic of kind sitting in that position.

What puzzles me is India’s unwillingness to question Islamabad about the role of the ISI in the Mumbai havoc. It is not only Kasab who has provided details; David Headley has outlined a whole narrative of how ISI officers helped lead, manage and finance this operation. Headley is not in an Indian prison, but an American one.

Source: http://www.defence.pk/forums/strate...s/224940-peace-but-justice.html#ixzz2FHEftt4A
That's the problem! If anyone thinks that they will be prosecuted bringing closure to the 26/11 pogrom, are living in a fool's paradise. Does anyone for a moment think the case will come to its logical conclusion seeing that the ISI was also involved? Does anyone think that the army officers deputed to the ISI who directed the 26/11 carnage from their makeshift Ops room in Karachi will ever be convicted?

That's never going to happen. So what next? Do we move on or wait till the stars start winking out, for getting our relations back on track? Is there an alternative?

India has itself to blame for RM fiasco all those fiascoes preceding every indo-pak visits by both countries leadership.It was not the right time to invite any pakistan leader in india be in govt or in opposition when pakistan is just few months away from polls.
Actually one thing i have noted is that all the elites who harp on enemity between india or pakistan in both countries do so to misguide the masses they themselves are not serious about it.the high and mighty elites have their own world in which there are no restrictions.

Infact the border between india and pakistan exists only for common masses.for elites there is no border between the both countries even at the height of tensions between india and pak they are able to visit each other countries and enjoy some play in say in mumbai or delhi or mushayara in lhr or khi.

Its all about power.might is right and religion etc are mere tools to corner all power by misguiding the masses.Thats what Justice katju pointed out that masses are idiots to understand it.

Actually these are the high and mighty elites of both countries who move as if no border exists and for commoners have to stand in line in sun in rain outside the embassies of both countries to obtain visa.
All these visa liberalization ,people to people contact is only for elites not for the common people on the street.

As for asking for justice its again india has to blame itself.GoI for some reason seems to have more faith in usa pressurizing pakistan than in its own ability.

As a nation we do not have the guts to stand up to terrorism. We cannot take hits and suffer casualties. We start counting our dead even before a battle has been won or lost. We make a great show of honouring those who die on the battlefield and lionise brave hearts of history, but we do not want our children to follow in their footsteps.

We are, if truth be told, a nation of cowards who don’t have the courage to admit their weakness but are happy to blame a well-meaning politician who, perhaps, takes his regimental motto of ‘Izzat aur Iqbal’ rather too seriously.
“We want our relatives back. What difference does it make to us what you have to give the hijackers?” a man shouted. “We don’t care if you have to give away Kashmir,” a woman screamed and others took up the refrain, chanting: “Kashmir de do, kuchh bhi de do, hamare logon ko ghar wapas lao.” Another woman sobbed, “Mera beta… hai mera beta…” and made a great show of fainting of grief.
On another evening, there was a surprise visitor at the PMO: The widow of Squadron Leader Ajay Ahuja, whose plane was shot down during the Kargil war. She insisted that she should be taken to meet the relatives of the hostages. At Race Course Road, she spoke to mediapersons and the hostages’ relatives, explaining why India must not be seen giving in to the hijackers, that it was a question of national honour, and gave her own example of fortitude in the face of adversity.

“She has become a widow, now she wants others to become widows. Who is she to lecture us? Yeh kahan se aayi?” someone shouted from the crowd. Others heckled her. The young widow stood her ground, displaying great dignity and courage. As the mood turned increasingly ugly, she had to be led away. Similar appeals were made by others who had lost their sons, husbands and fathers in the Kargil war that summer. Col Virendra Thapar, whose son Lt Vijayant Thapar was martyred in the war, made a fervent appeal for people to stand united against the hijackers. It fell on deaf ears.

Agent Provocateur: When Indians let down India

India has itself to blame for RM fiasco all those fiascoes preceding every indo-pak visits by both countries leadership.It was not the right time to invite any pakistan leader in india be in govt or in opposition when pakistan is just few months away from polls.
Actually one thing i have noted is that all the elites who harp on enemity between india or pakistan in both countries do so to misguide the masses they themselves are not serious about it.the high and mighty elites have their own world in which there are no restrictions.

Infact the border between india and pakistan exists only for common masses.for elites there is no border between the both countries even at the height of tensions between india and pak they are able to visit each other countries and enjoy some play in say in mumbai or delhi or mushayara in lhr or khi.

Its all about power.might is right and religion etc are mere tools to corner all power by misguiding the masses.Thats what Justice katju pointed out that masses are idiots to understand it.

Actually these are the high and mighty elites of both countries who move as if no border exists and for commoners have to stand in line in sun in rain outside the embassies of both countries to obtain visa.
All these visa liberalization ,people to people contact is only for elites not for the common people on the street.

As for asking for justice its again india has to blame itself.GoI for some reason seems to have more faith in usa pressurizing pakistan than in its own ability.

Though some of points made by you make sense...(eg: talking to a govt which is almost completed it tenure). But overall your ability to blame india and GOI for everything happens between india and pakistan makes your posts stupid....
coz the solution of india's problem of pakistan lies with india itself.

He is by far the most idiotic of kind sitting in that position.
RM was the most intelligent on this visit.
1. he used his performance in india as the election campaign as MJ has pointed out that RM audience was addressing his people from indian soil.

2. He for now sealed all chances of any progress on 26.11 case.He put the ball in indias court to prove its case against those involved in 26/11

RM was the most intelligent on this visit.
1. he used his performance in india as the election campaign as MJ has pointed out that RM audience was addressing his people from indian soil.

2. He for now sealed all chances of any progress on 26.11 case.He put the ball in indias court to prove its case against those involved in 26/11

1) The line between intelligence and stupidity is a very thin line in his case: If he is able to influence pakistani people by his nonsense talks in india then i would say pakistani people are stupid... But i doubt that... they are intelligent than you or he thinks.

2) Pakistan always throw the ball to india's court... but after some time they realise that the ball is still in its court... it will keep on happening...

coz the solution of india's problem of pakistan lies with india itself.

I guess you are right here... But the solution will be a bit hard to execute because indian leaders are sensible

1) The line between intelligence and stupidity is a very thin line in his case: If he is able to influence pakistani people by his nonsense talks in india then i would say pakistani people are stupid... But i doubt that... they are intelligent than you or he thinks.
that's pakistan's india politics that every leader in pakistan love to play....its beyond your understanding.

2) Pakistan always throw the ball to india's court... but after some time they realise that the ball is still in its court... it will keep on happening...
ball is right their in india's court since 26/11.Its india that fools itself or its public by creating the illusion that it has put onus on pakistan to provide indian public with the justice.Rather in other words GoI want to escape from walking the tough path in providing its own people with justice.hope indian public remember the wiki leaks about the david headley extradition saga.

I guess you are right here... But the solution will be a bit hard to execute because indian leaders are sensible
dont sugarcoat the spineless cowardice of goi with words like sensible ,restrain etc.It in plain word a cowardice of indian leadership.

GOI is wasting her time in inviting these people. Even there own country show no respect to them...

He was suspended from the membership of Pakistan's parliament by the Supreme Court of Pakistan on the grounds of dual citizenship in June this year. A close aide of late Pakistan Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto, the man has done little solid on the ground and is termed as an 'entertainer' in his country's political circles.

Treason petition filed against Rehman Malik in SC | Pakistan | DAWN.COM

There is no need for any kind of flawed peace.

Pakistan is signing trade treaty. That means we get to export more to them and earn money. They don't get to do that because of our stronger economy and non tariff barriers. The trade will be in our favor. That should be enough to do with Pakistan.
They are already signing off siachen to India by agreeing to agpl.

For the rest..those days are long gone when Pakistan could offer peace. Now they are too busy fighting themselves. Let them remain at it.

that's pakistan's india politics that every leader in pakistan love to play....its beyond your understanding.

ball is right their in india's court since 26/11.Its india that fools itself or its public by creating the illusion that it has put onus on pakistan to provide indian public with the justice.Rather in other words GoI want to escape from walking the tough path in providing its own people with justice.hope indian public remember the wiki leaks about the david headley extradition saga.

dont sugarcoat the spineless cowardice of goi with words like sensible ,restrain etc.It in plain word a cowardice of indian leadership.

I guess even almighty comes and tells you that 26/11 was the job of LET ... you will even ask him the proof (because the word proof has same meaning in the entire world but pakistan). So the issue is not with india or anyone else.. noone knows or dont want to understand the meaning of word Proof...

Now if you advocate to show spine and take action against pakistan.. either you love to get killed in a war or you are insane..... But we have close to 2 billion people (minus 1) who may not want a war and may not want innocents to be killed (in both the countries)..... So you can be an arm chair fighter and always dare to ask to take action and support such attacks (which i could read from your earlier posts)..... as i said.. India have sensible leaders... and you should be happy about it...