Pakistan Railways to get engines from India

Discussion in 'Pakistan Economy' started by justanobserver, Aug 16, 2011.

  1. justanobserver

    justanobserver SENIOR MEMBER

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,192
    Ratings:
    +0 / 1,716 / -0
    PR to get 50 engines from India on rent


    source:PR to get 50 engines from India on rent | Business | DAWN.COM
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  2. justanobserver

    justanobserver SENIOR MEMBER

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,192
    Ratings:
    +0 / 1,716 / -0
    Indian engines are cheap and work well under subcontinental conditions. Pakistan can buy some if they're satisfied with the initial batch
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. Syama Ayas

    Syama Ayas ELITE MEMBER

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,355
    Ratings:
    +3 / 10,865 / -8
    Good Development!
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. Patrician

    Patrician BANNED

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,167
    Ratings:
    +0 / 1,113 / -0
    It's not final yet.

    ...but if it happens, India will be taking millions of Pakistanis places...quite literally. ;)
     
  5. Jango

    Jango MODERATOR

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    15,835
    Ratings:
    +22 / 17,321 / -0
    Country:
    Pakistan
    Location:
    Pakistan
    What?, we have engines as far as i know, the problem was shortage of Diesel and lubes, hence the already present engines had no lubes to fill them, and no diesel to run them, whatever the amount of engines we get, problem will be the same, ineffective management, and no diesel whatsoever.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  6. COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

    COLDHEARTED AVIATOR SENIOR MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    4,636
    Ratings:
    +5 / 5,633 / -2
    Country:
    India
    Location:
    India
    Wow.. but many Pakistani members wont like it and would prefer the Chinese to instead lend them some engines.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  7. Patrician

    Patrician BANNED

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,167
    Ratings:
    +0 / 1,113 / -0
    Just imagine the Pakistanis making a rail link right next to the border or LoC and Pakistani troops arriving to the Indian border in trains run by locomotives made in India.
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. longbrained

    longbrained SENIOR MEMBER

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3,410
    Ratings:
    +0 / 6,820 / -0
    Why Pakistan does not buy locomotives from Iran? Bangladesh is buying Iranian locomotives which are based on German and French technology. They are cheap and reliable with DESA Diesel built engines. Why should Pakistan buy/rent from India?
     
  9. Ajaxpaul

    Ajaxpaul SENIOR MEMBER

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,998
    Ratings:
    +0 / 2,261 / -0
    They have certified chinese engines as (s)crap...no offence to chinese engg, but they chose inferior ones. Now its time to test Indian Engines..Does any other country uses Indian ones.?
     
  10. Nothing

    Nothing FULL MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,120
    Ratings:
    +0 / 650 / -0
    Country:
    India
    Location:
    United States
    Even delivery will be faster and cheaper .. as we share railway tracks .... and Indian engines are well tested for subcontinent ....
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. justanobserver

    justanobserver SENIOR MEMBER

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2010
    Messages:
    2,192
    Ratings:
    +0 / 1,716 / -0
    AFAIK Gauge conversion is a wasteful activity. See below
    Source? AFAIK Iran uses Standard Gauge while the subcontinent uses Broad Gauge.

    Last time I checked Bangladesh was buying Indian locos http://www.defence.pk/forums/bangla...adesh-railway-purchase-locomotives-india.html
     
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  12. Patrician

    Patrician BANNED

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,167
    Ratings:
    +0 / 1,113 / -0
    ...and how exactly do you plan on paying the Iranians?

    Keep in mind that even India is finding it amazingly difficult to pay Iran for oil.

    Iran is a heavily sanctioned country at the moment and not the easiest of countries to do business with.
     
  13. longbrained

    longbrained SENIOR MEMBER

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3,410
    Ratings:
    +0 / 6,820 / -0
    Gauge should not be a problem at all, since new locomotives can be built to that specification. Even old ones can be converted but it is expensive to convert old ones. And Bengalis have recently started to diversify their locomotive source. Here it is: http://www.mapna.com/En/news/news.aspx?nwsId=955
     
  14. COLDHEARTED AVIATOR

    COLDHEARTED AVIATOR SENIOR MEMBER

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    4,636
    Ratings:
    +5 / 5,633 / -2
    Country:
    India
    Location:
    India
    There is already a rail link between India and PAkistan.
     
  15. longbrained

    longbrained SENIOR MEMBER

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    3,410
    Ratings:
    +0 / 6,820 / -0
    Payment is not a problem. Pakistan has today over 18 billion dollars in currency reserves. 100 locomotives would hardly cost 100 million dollars. Besides if Iranians had earlier indicated during another issue that they would give Pakistan financing option via Iranian banks. Basically they had said if Pakistan decides to import electricity from Iran then they would build the whole transmission lines in Pakistan all financed by Iranian banks. So I do not see how that option can not be applied here.