What's new

Nat Geo’s Mission Army inspires their career choice

angeldemon_007

Reaction score
They had made it to Mission Army —Desh Ke Rakshak, a programme on National Geographic that seeks to unveil facets of the Indian Army — from as many as 30,000 entries from across the nation. The three city-based youngsters, Priyanka Oswal, Ela Vohra and Rohan Takalkar, are among the five contestants.

“My father Colonel A K Vohra has always been a source of inspiration. As a college student, I have always been associated with sports and adventure; that was one reason I thought of applying for Mission Army. Everyone thinks we know the Army, but in reality none has an idea about various wings of the Army. Through my experience with the programme, I can say that being in the Armed Forces is much more than a career. It is about passion and dreams; and that is what we have tried to portray in the programme,” says Ela, 23, a software engineer with IBM.

The high point for her came during the shooting schedule, when she received a call from the Service Selection Board to join the Indian Army. She will join the Officer’s Training Academy, Chennai on April 7. Mission Army was conceptualised in June last year and followed by a series of presentations and clearances from the Ministry of Defence as well as the Army Chief. The entries were called for in October. For the selections, the aspirants were made to go through gruelling, ‘Army-like’ procedures testing fitness, mental and intellectual capabilities.