Lahore gets new hockey stadium

Edevelop

LAHORE - Punjab Chief Minister Mian Shahbaz Sharif will inaugurate the newly-constructed Hockey Stadium at Johar Town today (Thursday) while an exhibition hockey match will be played between Pakistan Whites and Greens to mark the formal opening of the venue.
Addressing a press conference here at the National Hockey Stadium, Deputy Speaker and Punjab Youth Festival chief organiser Rana Mashhood Ahmed Khan said that last year when several venues and grounds were cleaned to prevent the dengue attack, the Punjab government and Sports Board Punjab identified around 4,500 grounds in the province and similarly several places were also spotted in the city.
Director General Sports and Youth Affairs Usman Anwar and chairman managing committee of new hockey stadium Olympian Akhtar Rasool were also present on the occasion. The committee also comprises DG Sports and DG LDA. “It was the vision of Shahbaz Sharif to see the sports facilities develop in the province and as part of the plan, a state of art stadium has been established at Johar Town,” Rana Mashood said.
He said Akhtar Rasool had been appointed as head of the managing committee of the stadium where the camp training of the national hockey team for Champions Trophy is also going to be conducted after its inauguration,” he stated. “We have set a benchmark by developing grounds, holding sports and youth activities and now preparation are underway to conduct the Punjab International Sports Festival from November 7,” he added.
“Around 41 countries will be taking part in the international festival and it is going to be the biggest sporting event of the country and will also be participated by the Deputy CM of Indian Punjab,” he said.
Rana Mashhood said the visit of the foreign teams to Pakistan was a turning point and it would bring a lot positive changes and send a soft image of the country to the entire world that Pakistan is a safe country. He said a committee had been formed which would give recommendation for its name as Mian M Sharif Hockey Stadium is one of the names proposed for the venue.
Rana Mashhood stressed the need of inviting foreign teams to play in Pakistan and said the Punjab government was ready to provide all the possible support in holding the international cricket matches in the country. “If Pakistan Cricket Board is serious in holding the international event in the province, then we are ready to provide them each and every facility they require.”
“We have sent summary to PCB regarding holding of Punjab Premier League Cricket in the province but we have not get any response from the board which shows they are not interesting in holding cricket events under the banner of Sports Board Punjab,” he added.
Speaking on the occasion, Akhtar Rasool, on behalf of all the hockey players, officials and lovers, thanked Punjab CM for taking special interest in developing a new hockey venue, which has all the major facilities a sports venue requires.
Among the guests, apart from government and other officials, around 13 Olympians will also grace the occasion.

66224_457345864304025_10755971_n.jpg

59802_457343820970896_351300723_n.jpg

404659_457346324303979_1662438201_n.jpg

311294_457346370970641_1990548572_n.jpg

178975_457346407637304_1429875044_n.jpg

319055_457346444303967_1155666044_n.jpg

36295_457346564303955_1634746366_n.jpg

400241_457346960970582_1720549667_n.jpg

thats apparently a hockey training ground, not a stadium !!!

nonetheless, youth getting benefit from current lot in whatever form is appreciated...

The girl in the bottom left part of the picture sums up my viewpoint of field hockey...

:P

The girl in the bottom left part of the picture sums up my viewpoint of field hockey...

:P

well thats because you have not won 4 world cups in hockey but we have :azn:, technically india has only won 1 world cup, after independence that is ;)

There you go. India ko beech mein lana jaroori tha kya? :rolleyes:

Nahi Jaroori nahi Zaroori tha:rofl:

@ topic, Guys elections are near, Load shedding stop, Heavy development in Lahore, Damad ji in jail, PSO profits, etc etc. But vote wisely, otherwise phir 5 saal koi nikamma chor aajayega.:fie:

you are absolutely right

Not really a stadium but considering how much hockey has been ignored in the past this is good news. A shame that such stuff has to be done just before the elections though (to get votes obviously) and not throughout their term in office.

And technically yet India has won 3 world cups overall and highest numbers of Olympic Gold medals (I think it's 8) every won by any team for field hockey :)

Nahi Jaroori nahi Zaroori tha:rofl:

Wow what a correction. Correcting a word of phonetic language using the characters of a non phonetic language. i am impressed. Do you even know how they pronounce 'Z' in other countries? Or did the Pakistani pronunciation became the standard for the world :rolleyes:

OT: What is the capacity of this Stadium?

Wow what a correction. Correcting a word of phonetic language using the characters of a non phonetic language. i am impressed. Do you even know how they pronounce 'Z' in other countries? Or did the Pakistani pronunciation became the standard for the world :rolleyes:

Its not a stadium but a practising hockey ground where few people go see training of players but big events are not held!

so jeep must be written as zeep, joking

but how does he know his pronunciation Zabardast is right but jabardast is wrong....
its all good except one word you guys should be carefull with

dont se chodo na, say choro na

This is just a form of bribe for the public, to buy votes in the upcoming General Elections.

You can see it from here:

I just wonder, how do they suddenly realize, at the end of their term, that the city (or the Country) needed infrastructure development projects, educational projects, civil welfare projects and everything else they promised before gaining the power.

I am afraid the laptop scheme and these projects will make some people forget the hell they've been living in, and cast their votes to the same people they've been cursing every moment.

This is just a form of bribe for the public, to buy votes in the upcoming General Elections.

You can see it from here:

I just wonder, how do they suddenly realize, at the end of their term, that the city (or the Country) needed infrastructure development projects, educational projects, civil welfare projects and everything else they promised before gaining the power.

I am afraid the laptop scheme and these projects will make some people forget the hell they've been living in, and cast their votes to the same people they've been cursing every moment.

This is what they have done in 1 year in Lahore:

Canal Road (widening, overbirdges, underpases, padestrian pass)
New Food Street
Dengue Fight
Laptop Scheme
Kalma Chowk Flyover
Muslim Town Flyover
Ring Road Expansion
Multan Road Renovation
Arfa Software Technology Park Completion
New CNG Rickshawas
New CNG A/C Buses
Renovation of Bus Stands
LWMC (Lahore Waste Management Company) - Public/Private Partnership