Indian media reports draw ire of politicians, public in G-B
By Shabbir Mir
Published: August 17, 2016
22SHARES
SHARE TWEET
1164025-Awamiworkersparty-1471385084-497-640x480.jpg

Many of them believe this has also cast a shadow on the genuine concerns of the people of G-B, who have been engaged in a peaceful struggle for their rights. PHOTO: FILE

GILGIT: Politicians and the public in Gilgit-Baltistan have been irked by Indian media reports which have billed political activities in Gilgit-Baltistan as anti-state movements. Many of them have raised questions over their credibility.

These media reports portrayed a video of an election rally, saying it was a separatist uprising against Pakistan. The rally was organised by Awami Workers Party (AWP) as part of the election campaign for Hunza by-elections.

The video, originally circulated by a news agency on Saturday, was shared by multiple Indian media outlets as evidence of an ongoing separatist movement in which hundreds of arrests have been made. In addition, the Indian media also portrayed the Awami Action Committee’s (AAC) shuttersdown strike as a protest against the presence of Pakistan Army in G-B.

5-24.jpg

“AWP rejects these reports as completely baseless,” read an official statement issued by the party on Tuesday. “AWP calls on Indian news outlets to retract baseless stories regarding this rally. [They should] investigate the stories they are reporting on and not serve as a mouthpiece for government propaganda.”

According to the statement, the video was from an election rally held on May 25 in Altit, Hunza as part of AWP leader Baba Jan’s campaign for the GBLA-6 Hunza by-elections.

“No separatist slogans were raised at any point in the campaign,” he said. “[The rally] was called for Baba Jan’s release. It [also] raised opposition to the corrupt ruling elite and [sought to provide] a pro-people socialist alternative.”

Concealing barbarism

The Indian state propaganda was also rubbished by AAC’s Ehsan Ali, who was a founding member.

While speaking to The Express Tribune, Ali said India used the tactics to conceal the barbarism it has unleashed in Indian-
held Kashmir.

“We have been deprived of our rights but that has nothing to do with India,” he said. “[They] must listen to the voice from Kashmiris instead of suppressing them. We will settle our issues on our own.”

Needless interference

Sadia Danish, an official spokesperson for Pakistan Peoples Party in G-B, urged India to mind its own business and not poke its nose in the affairs of other countries.

Sadia-Danish.jpg

“We rejected [India] nearly seven decades ago,” Danish said, referring to Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s speech in which he raised concerns about rights violations in Balochistan and G-B.

“Pakistan Army is ours and China is our [time-honoured] friend,” Danish told The Express Tribune. “There has never been a protest against the army or China anywhere in this region.”

The move was also vehemently criticised by Shujaat Bukhari, a senior journalist based in Srinagar.

“Can anybody tell us how many were killed in Kashmir and G-B in 2008, 2010 and in the last one month,” Bukhari said through a Facebook post. “PM Modi said on August 15 that he had been receiving calls from there for support to end human rights violations.”

“We got five more bodies this morning taking toll to 66,”
he added.

The distortion of facts by Indian media has earned the ire of the public. Many of them believe this has also cast a shadow on the genuine concerns of the people of G-B, who have been engaged in a peaceful struggle for their rights.

Published in The Express Tribune, August 17th, 2016.

Indian media reports draw ire of politicians, public in G-B
By Shabbir Mir
Published: August 17, 2016
22SHARES
SHARE TWEET
1164025-Awamiworkersparty-1471385084-497-640x480.jpg

Many of them believe this has also cast a shadow on the genuine concerns of the people of G-B, who have been engaged in a peaceful struggle for their rights. PHOTO: FILE

GILGIT: Politicians and the public in Gilgit-Baltistan have been irked by Indian media reports which have billed political activities in Gilgit-Baltistan as anti-state movements. Many of them have raised questions over their credibility.

These media reports portrayed a video of an election rally, saying it was a separatist uprising against Pakistan. The rally was organised by Awami Workers Party (AWP) as part of the election campaign for Hunza by-elections.

The video, originally circulated by a news agency on Saturday, was shared by multiple Indian media outlets as evidence of an ongoing separatist movement in which hundreds of arrests have been made. In addition, the Indian media also portrayed the Awami Action Committee’s (AAC) shuttersdown strike as a protest against the presence of Pakistan Army in G-B.

5-24.jpg

“AWP rejects these reports as completely baseless,” read an official statement issued by the party on Tuesday. “AWP calls on Indian news outlets to retract baseless stories regarding this rally. [They should] investigate the stories they are reporting on and not serve as a mouthpiece for government propaganda.”

According to the statement, the video was from an election rally held on May 25 in Altit, Hunza as part of AWP leader Baba Jan’s campaign for the GBLA-6 Hunza by-elections.

“No separatist slogans were raised at any point in the campaign,” he said. “[The rally] was called for Baba Jan’s release. It [also] raised opposition to the corrupt ruling elite and [sought to provide] a pro-people socialist alternative.”

Concealing barbarism

The Indian state propaganda was also rubbished by AAC’s Ehsan Ali, who was a founding member.

While speaking to The Express Tribune, Ali said India used the tactics to conceal the barbarism it has unleashed in Indian-
held Kashmir.

“We have been deprived of our rights but that has nothing to do with India,” he said. “[They] must listen to the voice from Kashmiris instead of suppressing them. We will settle our issues on our own.”

Needless interference

Sadia Danish, an official spokesperson for Pakistan Peoples Party in G-B, urged India to mind its own business and not poke its nose in the affairs of other countries.

Sadia-Danish.jpg

“We rejected [India] nearly seven decades ago,” Danish said, referring to Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s speech in which he raised concerns about rights violations in Balochistan and G-B.

“Pakistan Army is ours and China is our [time-honoured] friend,” Danish told The Express Tribune. “There has never been a protest against the army or China anywhere in this region.”

The move was also vehemently criticised by Shujaat Bukhari, a senior journalist based in Srinagar.

“Can anybody tell us how many were killed in Kashmir and G-B in 2008, 2010 and in the last one month,” Bukhari said through a Facebook post. “PM Modi said on August 15 that he had been receiving calls from there for support to end human rights violations.”

“We got five more bodies this morning taking toll to 66,”
he added.

The distortion of facts by Indian media has earned the ire of the public. Many of them believe this has also cast a shadow on the genuine concerns of the people of G-B, who have been engaged in a peaceful struggle for their rights.

Published in The Express Tribune, August 17th, 2016.

My dearest Gilgiti and Balti brothers, how will the Indians then sleep at night? They need to consolidate their rhetoric with reality. How does one, in a difference so stark, do that, you may ask? By fabricating one's own alternate reality to believe and live in of course.

Your patriotism is an example for all Pakistanis, only Indians can choose not to see it.

Bengali's were not less patriotic than G-B. But look what happened, time can change everything. ;)
its not bengal and the ruling parties of balochistan, gilgit and azad kashmir are parties with presence all across pakistan. its anot something like awami league with no seats in west pakistan.
secondly, odreaming of breaking pakistan, india should focus on giving rights and independence to its own people and dozens of groups who want freedom from india.
thirdly its not 1971 where your army can interfere and cross the border, we will vapourize them.

Bengali's were not less patriotic than G-B. But look what happened, time can change everything. ;)
So you saying people who says Jai Mahrashtra some day will be seprated from India...
Bangladesh was violation by india terrorist PM mody accepted it in Bangladesh how Indian army entered in East Pakistan.. i suppose this gives us atleast moral authority to enter in Kashmir.. But Bangladesh become another muslim country we are happy .. it was unnatural division by british..
:) how about Khalistan... tamil nadu nexlites assam all are waiting ,700 thousands army waiting to scare Kashmiries just imagin if they join hands together.

My dearest Gilgiti and Balti brothers, how will the Indians then sleep at night? They need to consolidate their rhetoric with reality. How does one, in a difference so stark, do that, you may ask? By fabricating one's own alternate reality to believe and live in of course.

Your patriotism is an example for all Pakistanis, only Indians can choose not to see it.

Pharmaceutical Industry in Pakistan has geared up the production of "Ativan 1 mg" in anticipated sudden rise in the demand of the sleeping pills across the border, after this news was posted.

Unjustified dealing with Bengalis was our fault and we are not going to repeat that ever again. On the contrary plz look out for Manipur, Khalistan, Mao, Naxals, Kashmiris etc etc. And most importantly plz dont forget to blame us for all that. I hope U have read the news completely, if not let me present the spice of this very news.

Reaction on expected lines. They have to show their patriotism for Pakistan to survive.

Lolz jha sahib i was not expecting these words from you. You are a sane indian member. Recently i visited hunza and gb there is not a single person i met who is against Pakistan or CPEC infact they are very happy because of CPEC. We all know how indian media reacts regarding Pakistan recent example breaking news of the century by arnab by calling dawood ibrahim's wife in karachi :D

Come to 2016, you are till in 70s. Era.
GB is one of the most safest places in Pakistan, with high literacy and lowest crime rate.

Lolz jha sahib i was not expecting these words from you. You are a sane indian member. Recently i visited hunza and gb there is not a single person i met who is against Pakistan or CPEC infact they are very happy because of CPEC. We all know how indian media reacts regarding Pakistan recent example breaking news of the century by arnab by calling dawood ibrahim's wife in karachi :D

:D Bhai, yeh post aapke liye nahi tha.. Was for some special members.

BTW is GB getting its fair share in CPEC ? Heard there were some protests.

you have waisted your time .. maybe thas all you have to do . who cares right
we talking about brutality of your National Army.. indian Army is rapist.. this is their way to surpress independance moment.. the more you push it the more powerful it become.. its not going to stop anymore
yes Khalistani are not there yet but doesnt mean they are dead.. you be surprise to get the punch from outside of your own people..
so condemn indian army do the right thing atleast once in your life time.

Reaction on expected lines. They have to show their patriotism for Pakistan to survive.

Why Hurriyat leaders dont do the same when Kashmir stories are cooked up in Pakistan (As per India's NDTV)?

Good for you and hope it remain so. I genuinely wish to visit that place once because it's so beautiful. :)

Its not just beautiful, the air is so clean and fresh, if you are a city dweller you will feel the difference instantly. The people are so polite and hospitable and food is amazing. you will love it

Let's hope it is maintained as it is and that in the name of development like for example infrastructure, metros etc., no one ruin it's natural beauty. Its the curse of our subcontinent, the ruling class thing development means building a lot of concrete jungle and destroy the nature. India and Pakistan are no different in that case. :(