What's new

Backpacking in India on my own at the age of 24 was one of the greatest experiences of my life

Kashmiri Pandit

Reaction score
Country
India
india-collage.jpg

For as long as I remember, I had been desperately keen to visit India but I’m not sure I can pinpoint the exact reason why.

Every time the country was mentioned I would picture a place with dusty streets that were crammed full of people, women dressed in colourful saris, markets filled with delicious-smelling spices and the majestic Taj Mahal . Oh, how I wanted to pose coyly outside that white marble mausoleum à la Princess Diana.

The fact that none of my friends also had an urge to go to India didn’t put me off in the slightest, so at the age of 24 I packed my rucksack and booked a return flight to Delhi.

And just to ease my mum’s mind – and due to the fact that I’m not very good at navigating my way around and not too keen on slumming it – I booked myself onto a two-week tour which took me around the “golden triangle”, the tourist circuit connecting the capital with Agra (the home of the Taj Mahal) and Jaipur.

india3.jpg

Karen - back row, second right - with some of the friends she made in India

It meant that I got to see all of the places on my wishlist in relative comfort – our accommodation featured everything from mud huts to castles – and in an air-conditioned minibus with a group of like-minded people.

After travelling almost 5,000 miles on my own (via an unexpected night in Jordan thanks to an air strike, but that’s another story), I eventually landed in Delhi late at night.

As I left the airport, the hot air smacked me in the face and I couldn’t believe just how bustling those roads were. The taxi ride to my hotel remains one of the most scary ones I’ve taken as we dodged rickshaws, people, cars, vans, chickens and goats.