What's new

A tale of living in two different countries

Hafizzz

Reaction score
Mexicans in China - The New 'Model Minority'?
Mexicans in China - The New 'Model Minority'? - NAM

I’ll be honest with you: it’s going to take something exceptional to keep me in the United States. No, I’m not talking about a general amnesty. I’m not an illegal immigrant. Never was.

Allow me to explain. I lived and worked in Shanghai, China for several years. No, I’m not a Communist either. In fact, I cherish democracy, freedom and equality as much as any other patriotic U.S. citizen. And I would never give up my U.S. passport.

The funny thing is, I didn’t feel truly free until I lived in China, a closed authoritarian country. Oh how sweet freedom is!

I worked as a teacher in China, where I was seen with different eyes than in the United States. Everywhere I went, I received kind treatment, from shops to jobs to restaurants to bars. I was rich; I was educated; I was handsome. Women loved my eyelashes and my nose. Often I was confused for Italian or French. I’d smile and correct them: I’m Mexican American, while going on to explain that the United States is a land of immigrants – a fact the Chinese are very aware of.

In China I felt especially safe because someone else did all the dirty work. All the Mexicans and Mexican Americans I met were educated and bilingual. Could we be the new “model minority” – in China of all places?

It’s not that the Chinese are more “enlightened” than Americans concerning race and culture—they have plenty of issues with other Asian cultures. What made my life in China so enjoyable was their mistaken belief that all Westerners were wealthy. I suppose that, to them, I was just another exotic big-nose with lots of money. I was reminded of this when I recounted to Hispanics in Los Angeles that Mexicans don’t do the dirty work in China.