Lockheed Martin plans India-centred global supply chain

[Bregs]

The world's largest defence corporation US-based Lockheed Martin has become the first company to submit letter of interest for supplying F-16 fighter jets to the Indian Airforce, reports CNBC-TV18.

apg-68v9-960x400.jpg

The world's largest defence corporation US-based Lockheed Martin has become the first company to submit letter of interest for supplying F-16 fighter jets to the Indian Airforce, reports CNBC-TV18.

Last week the Ministry of Defence issued a request for information to global OEMs for acquiring single-engine fighter jets to replace the MIG-21s - close on the heels of the Rafale deal.

Lockheed Martin's global team is in India this week and met with various government departments to pitch for the F-16. The company's top executives today told CNBC-TV18 that not only will the company shift its entire F-16 manufacturing line from Texas to India but will export the fighter jets to other countries after India's requirements are met.

Below is the verbatim transcript of Randall L Howard and Abhay Paranjape's interview to Surabhi Upadhyay and Ronojoy Banerjee on CNBC-TV18.

Q: Have you responded to Ministry of Defence request for single engine fighter jets?

Howard: We receive some correspondence from the government late last week and we responded to that and our response went out early this week so very much so we are looking forward to conversation with your government about this acquisition and the opportunity for us.

Q: The one big thing that Lockheed Martin has put on the table is possibly shifting the entire F-16 manufacturing plant from Forth Worth, Texas to India. Tell us a little bit about that?

Howard: Yesterday all our F-16 were built in Forth Worth, Texas as you know we spoke earlier we have the history of having built up industrial capacity around the world. We built up F-16 in the past in Korea, in Turkey and Belgium and The Netherlands, but today they are only built in Texas, so the offer is to take our production line as it is existed in Forth Worth and bring it to India for Indian aircraft, but also for all the aircraft produced from this point forward.

Q: Even after the Indian requirements are met then if India does give you the contract and if they do start buying F-16 from you then even for future you will be supplying these F-16 out of India?

Paranjape: That is correct, what as Randall mentioned what we are looking at is establishing global supply chain that will be centred in India, so the F-16 production line will move to India that means that we will start manufacturing not just assembling the aircraft, but we want to move the entire aircraft as much as we can and we want to start manufacturing in India. Once we start doing that then this becomes the focal point of the F-16s worldwide and future exports will also be handled to the same production line here.

Read more at: http://www.moneycontrol.com/news/cu...ply-chain_7667021.html?utm_source=ref_article

apg-68v9-960x400.jpg

Last week the Ministry of Defence issued a request for information to global OEMs for acquiring single-engine fighter jets to replace the MIG-21s - close on the heels of the Rafale deal.

Lockheed Martin's global team is in India this week and met with various government departments to pitch for the F-16. The company's top executives today told CNBC-TV18 that not only will the company shift its entire F-16 manufacturing line from Texas to India but will export the fighter jets to other countries after India's requirements are met.

Below is the verbatim transcript of Randall L Howard and Abhay Paranjape's interview to Surabhi Upadhyay and Ronojoy Banerjee on CNBC-TV18.

Q: Have you responded to Ministry of Defence request for single engine fighter jets?

Howard: We receive some correspondence from the government late last week and we responded to that and our response went out early this week so very much so we are looking forward to conversation with your government about this acquisition and the opportunity for us.

Q: The one big thing that Lockheed Martin has put on the table is possibly shifting the entire F-16 manufacturing plant from Forth Worth, Texas to India. Tell us a little bit about that?

Howard: Yesterday all our F-16 were built in Forth Worth, Texas as you know we spoke earlier we have the history of having built up industrial capacity around the world. We built up F-16 in the past in Korea, in Turkey and Belgium and The Netherlands, but today they are only built in Texas, so the offer is to take our production line as it is existed in Forth Worth and bring it to India for Indian aircraft, but also for all the aircraft produced from this point forward.

Q: Even after the Indian requirements are met then if India does give you the contract and if they do start buying F-16 from you then even for future you will be supplying these F-16 out of India?

Paranjape: That is correct, what as Randall mentioned what we are looking at is establishing global supply chain that will be centred in India, so the F-16 production line will move to India that means that we will start manufacturing not just assembling the aircraft, but we want to move the entire aircraft as much as we can and we want to start manufacturing in India. Once we start doing that then this becomes the focal point of the F-16s worldwide and future exports will also be handled to the same production line here.

Read more at: http://www.moneycontrol.com/news/cu...ply-chain_7667021.html?utm_source=ref_article

It will be good FOr PAF.
Atleast we will start looking for some other platform

So The super air force i.e Hindu-stan

is going to get an air plane whose production lines are to stop anyway in country of origin ?

hmmm ..

India is large hearted

If LM starts production line then India will be allowing such facility only keeping in mind the interest of the countries who are still stuck with F 16s and need spare parts of these old birds time to time. ;)

BTW Rafale and Saab will be joining Lockheed with their proposals for Make in India :agree:

apg-68v9-960x400.jpg

I am surprised...
One would think the Russians would be the first to propose manufacturing F-16s in India.
Hopefully SAAB will be the first to propose manufacturing Gripen in India...

I am surprised...
One would think the Russians would be the first to propose manufacturing F-16s in India.
Hopefully SAAB will be the first to propose manufacturing Gripen in India...

Alowing a LM plant is one of the premier demands in the DTTI signed between India and US. SO, it's inevitable.

It will be good FOr PAF.
Atleast we will start looking for some other platform

What is paf waiting for? The plant to get operational?

Interesting comments Rafale has some thing to offer as single jet ?
Rafale is mentioned for its newer technology as F 16 production lines were being closed as stated by the poster above. The interesting confusion so caused was unintended. kindly ignore :wave:

i feel they will go for the f16 to appese the united states. india put a gun to its own head on this one.
if i was in charge. i would have done for the f18, as its not a bird that your adversary has been flying for the past 30 years+, and its twin engined. also lets not forget the ge-f414 engine. you buy alot of them you may get a licence to build them in india if you buy the f18, and also for the amca too. i dont buy that the indigenous engine will be ready then. heck they can be used on the tejas too, heck throw in the gripen too and its still fine!

India hasn't shown interest in the F-16 for multiple reasons. They might allow Lockheed-Martin to set up production since it brings in revenues, but buying F-16 is not something IAF wants at this time I feel. IAF already has options for better platforms.

So The super air force i.e Hindu-stan

is going to get an air plane whose production lines are to stop anyway in country of origin ?

hmmm ..
alee janaab hamme aef sollah ka mazeed ummda aur jadeed tareen larakka fizaaeee tayyrra mill raha hai jo ki blk 52 se at least 4 times jydaa capable hai her sense me

aur uska internal compouter & Radar and combined avionicks and combined EW+ECM+Jammaer suite hi in layman terms utna powerfull hai Blk 52 jitna powerfull latest desktop hota hai 2005 level ke 386-486 level desktop here 386-486 is Blk52 while latest quad core is Blk70/72 rest you can speculate yourself ....

sirji im not a compouter guy but i hope you got the point

alee janaab hamme aef sollah ka mazeed ummda aur jadeed tareen larakka fizaaeee tayyrra mill raha hai jo ki blk 52 se at least 4 times jydaa capable hai her sense me

aur uska internal compouter & Radar and combined avionicks and combined EW+ECM+Jammaer suite hi in layman terms utna powerfull hai Blk 52 jitna powerfull latest desktop hota hai 2005 level ke 386-486 level desktop here 386-486 is Blk52 while latest quad core is Blk70/72 rest you can speculate yourself ....

sirji im not a compouter guy but i hope you got the point

Teeka laga de ous ko ..

bus .. super plane hazir.

Abhi bata, torrent site kon se chal rahi hai ?
Punjabi movie torrent..