Replacing Pakistan Navy's Westland Sea King helicopters.

Instead of replacing with western equipment, we replace them with Russian or Chinese its better, because when we want to use western equipments in war, they impose ban on us, and stop deliveries of spars also.

But seaking is Sea King. I am really wondering why not PN have bought about 15 of these in the past. as they are superb machines to operate.

Answer is simple. Money.

Navy gets only a trickle of the defence budget. Naval planners therefore have to make do with the absolute minimum of every thing.

We can also consider British Navy Sea King Mark 7 airborne early warning (AEW) helicopters due to go out of service in 2016. They will b cheap and readily available as they r second hand. Furthermore, these helicopters r not new to us as v r already using them and knows there inside out.

Ihk sahab akhir kab tak app log chale hue kartoos war time main use karoge pori duniya ka junk kia pakitan hi khareedaga kia naval equipment ha digital warfare hai aj kal esa tu app mi 17 ma 2 lmg laga do wo bhi kam karega

We can also consider British Navy Sea King Mark 7 airborne early warning (AEW) helicopters due to go out of service in 2016. They will b cheap and readily available as they r second hand. Furthermore, these helicopters r not new to us as v r already using them and knows there inside out.
The thing is why should PN replace Sea King with Sea King when they know the limitation is parts.

Mi-17 is the best option, we have the huge maintaince factory for that in Karachi.

The thing is why should PN replace Sea King with Sea King when they know the limitation is parts.

Replace SEAKING's with SeaKking's ........ I never said that. I said, consider for buying British Navy SeaKing Mark 7 AEW, AShW and ASW helicopters which will retire from UK service in 2016 and add them with our old ones, it will benefit our entire SeaKing fleet as we already have a maintenance facility and spare parts inventory for our SeaKing's in Pakistan. We can then MLU'ed our old ones, like we did with our old Mirage's and F-16's.
If we have enough money then we can go where ever we want but if one have meager resources then he have to think hard how to save.
Now is the time, when we can have a bargain from UK for these helicopters and our desired spare parts too as one deal.
PLS don't forget that their SEAKING Helo's r equipped with quite advanced systems for AEW, ASW, AShW, Radars, missiles/torpedoes and some other goodies that we don't have or if we do then not in abundance or might not as latest as fitted in them.
I am not against Mi-17, if we go for them, from where u will get the advanced AEW, ASW, AShW, Sonars, naval radars, mission computers, weapons and other systems, still if we get all the things, we don't have the expertise to intergrade them by our self and it will take time and money for the experiments and research.
You can say that we can approach china again, as we already have few Newly built chines Z-9's for that role and we can buy more of these again. but because of the same money problem and limited capabilities of Z-9's our NAVY is reluctant and keeping it as a last resort.
Indian navy is also acquiring 26 more SeaKing helicopters, they r using more then 5 types of naval helo's and yet find SeaKings best for the naval role.

Ihk sahab akhir kab tak app log chale hue kartoos war time main use karoge pori duniya ka junk kia pakitan hi khareedaga kia naval equipment ha digital warfare hai aj kal esa tu app mi 17 ma 2 lmg laga do wo bhi kam karega

Bhai tab tak kharedey ga jab tak haath tang hey.... shukar karna 2nd hand key payesey bhi ho jayain to. or UK aap ko 2nd hand helicopters bhi dey dey to. hhahahhahaa. bholey badshaho.
secondly, we are talking about NAVAL Helicopters or helicopter for a naval role and Mi-17 not fit into that role.

Replace SEAKING's with SeaKking's ........ I never said that. I said, consider for buying British Navy SeaKing Mark 7 AEW, AShW and ASW helicopters which will retire from UK service in 2016 and add them with our old ones, it will benefit our entire SeaKing fleet as we already have a maintenance facility and spare parts inventory for our SeaKing's in Pakistan. We can then MLU'ed our old ones, like we did with our old Mirage's and F-16's.
If we have enough money then we can go where ever we want but if one have meager resources then he have to think hard how to save.
Now is the time, when we can have a bargain from UK for these helicopters and our desired spare parts too as one deal.
PLS don't forget that their SEAKING Helo's r equipped with quite advanced systems for AEW, ASW, AShW, Radars, missiles/torpedoes and some other goodies that we don't have or if we do then not in abundance or might not as latest as fitted in them.
I am not against Mi-17, if we go for them, from where u will get the advanced AEW, ASW, AShW, Sonars, naval radars, mission computers, weapons and other systems, still if we get all the things, we don't have the expertise to intergrade them by our self and it will take time and money for the experiments and research.
You can say that we can approach china again, as we already have few Newly built chines Z-9's for that role and we can buy more of these again. but because of the same money problem and limited capabilities of Z-9's our NAVY is reluctant and keeping it as a last resort.
Indian navy is also acquiring 26 more SeaKing helicopters, they r using more then 5 types of naval helo's and yet find SeaKings best for the naval role.

Clearly you do have a point that these British birds would be a great force multiplier but for a very limited time. As these would require many upgrades which would not be easy once the assembly lines are torn down for the new heavier next gen British Naval Helicopter.

Personally Mi-17 would not offer much but it would be lot cheaper to use and operate as it would be similar to the PA. Moreover it can be upgraded through China.

Z9 is a very good platform and it should be added but would be able to do all the tasks that the current Seaking do?

It appears that some honourable members do not realize the difference between land based and ship based operations.

Naval helos, especially for the ASW and Search & Rescue duties that Sea King so admirably performs, suffer long exposure to the salt water spray. Saltwater corrosion is one of the major problems encountered when operating helicopters at sea. Gas turbine engines are prone to loss of performance because of saltwater corrosion and salt encrustation. Damage resulting from corrosion can quickly make the helicopter non-operational. Naval version of the helicopters has structural components made of materials that are less susceptible to saltwater corrosion.

In addition to the above most Naval helicopters have floatation gear, folding rotor blades and a securing system to ensure safe shipboard stowage when not in use. Therefore any land based helicopter such as MI-17 would require major modifications before it can be used for shipboard operations.

Russians, originators of the MI-17, only use MI-17 for transport. Their main naval helicopters are Kamov Ka-31 & Ka -27.

if only 'common sense' was common.....

Good information never knew , why people went for these and not land based choppers on ships

However in Pakistan's case if we have no options I think we would be ok to maintain these choppers with wash down and cover ups at sea bound ships, a simple plastic cover sheet over blades and engine should be enough for accidental splash of sea water

The whole folding the blades perhaps seems nice idea for Air craft carriers which we don't have to begin with

99% of times sea water would not be hitting the chopper anyways as sea is relatively calm

If we have no choice , I say put more MI-35 calibre choppers as mandatory aviation choppers for Navy

Sea King Mk.45

Model History:

Sea King HAS.Mk 1 variant for the Pakistan Navy. 6 built
Organisations with this Model:

From Organisation with model Sea King Mk.45

pakistan naval air arm sea king 7 1974/now

Construction Numbers on database of Sea King Mk.45

6 mk45

pk.gif

pk.gif

Airframes conv to new variant