Some thoughts!!

Go ahead, amuse me.

Got to think with keeping the future in mind. However, shooting a gun shouldn't fall under the gov't. it should be free willl. But candidates who go thru NCC should be given a chance to hone that skill.

BTW everybody missed something very important - comprehensive sex education.

Yup issues like this are taboo and are not covered at home or by society at large. TV shows built around educating ppl could go a long way but media is still underutilized for the public good.

These are two incompatible statements mate, two different perspectives.

PS. No to the house maintenance! That should be voluntary.

Care to explain why, compare the driving tests and the "skills" taught in our driving schools to other nations.... the differences are enormous.
We could save countless lives and crores of rupees by prohibiting that every idiot can get a truck license :hitwall:

I want to discuss the following things which came to mind while having afternoon rest. I think our education system (some in school and some in college) must have the following subjects(not related to mark and not for long duration) as compulsory.

Swimming : About 80% of City people do not know swimming resulting in deaths like Andaman, Mahanadi incidents. All children must be taught basic swimming. Even a 5-10 minutes remaining afloat may save your life.

Learning to use Gun : Do not assume that I am getting paranoid or being apocalyptic. See owing a gun is not same as learning to use a gun. I have shot only 5 rounds in a .303 rifle during my NCC days and now have a air rifle (which does not require License). No I am not advocating conscription or neither advocating firearms in each house (I can see the result in Pakistan)!!

House maintenance : Painting, little bit of plumbing, little bit of carpentering etc..

I will add more when I think more.....:coffee:

@levina @Sidak @DRAY @chak de INDIA @Dem!god @scorpionx @SarthakGanguly @Skull and Bones @janon @SpArK @Srinivas And others as I am in a hurry to mention..

I agree with you mate on Swimming and House maintenance :tup: But please do not bring in the gun culture into the society.

Care to explain why, compare the driving tests and the "skills" taught in our driving schools to other nations.... the differences are enormous.
We could save countless lives and crores of rupees by prohibiting that every idiot can get a truck license :hitwall:

Okay, you do one thing.

Get someone from there to drive in the interiors of any city here, and then we'll be in a position to compare. I'd like to see for how long can they evade an incident, when driving on such narrow and pathetic roads, combined with a disgusting level of traffic.

PS. I'm not referring to the truck drivers, but common public at large.

Okay, you do one thing.

Get someone from there to drive in the interiors of any city here, and then we'll be in a position to compare. I'd like to see for how long can they evade an incident, when driving on such narrow and pathetic roads, combined with a disgusting level of traffic.

PS. I'm not referring to the truck drivers, but common public at large.

If everyone would follow even the simplest traffic rules, there would be much less friction on the roads and significantly less accidents, knowledge of traffic rules is pathetic, courtesy and respect non existing, attention to safety measure non existing, I even saw a traffic expert talking about idiots using both feet to brake their lorries ....

I want to discuss the following things which came to mind while having afternoon rest. I think our education system (some in school and some in college) must have the following subjects(not related to mark and not for long duration) as compulsory.

Swimming : About 80% of City people do not know swimming resulting in deaths like Andaman, Mahanadi incidents. All children must be taught basic swimming. Even a 5-10 minutes remaining afloat may save your life.

Learning to use Gun : Do not assume that I am getting paranoid or being apocalyptic. See owing a gun is not same as learning to use a gun. I have shot only 5 rounds in a .303 rifle during my NCC days and now have a air rifle (which does not require License). No I am not advocating conscription or neither advocating firearms in each house (I can see the result in Pakistan)!!

House maintenance : Painting, little bit of plumbing, little bit of carpentering etc..

@levina @Sidak @DRAY @chak de INDIA @Dem!god @scorpionx @SarthakGanguly @Skull and Bones @janon @SpArK @Srinivas And others as I am in a hurry to mention..
I also want to learn shooting but dont know where is gun training facility in Bhubaneswar. heard that it helps in concentration. in this aspect envy US.

U wont feel envy when someone starts shooting indiscriminately in universities and public places.... As if we have shortages for these maniacs hear.

If everyone would follow even the simplest traffic rules, there would be much less friction on the roads and significantly less accidents, knowledge of traffic rules is pathetic, courtesy and respect non existing, attention to safety measure non existing, I even saw a traffic expert talking about idiots using both feet to brake their lorries ....

Those are human behavior specific issues. They are caused, not as a result of any flaw in our system, but cause of the general mindset of the people. With the growing impatience among the masses, this is set to continue. Modifying the driving license tests or making them more 'educative' is not going to change this.

Also, I fail to see how 'people following rules' would result in less friction on the roads?

However, I agree on the point of lack of attention to safety measures. This does need to be addressed, but not by the driving license course, but by the traffic police, cause all of what we are discussing is duly mentioned in the booklet they give you for driving tests. We just do not adhere to it.

Those are human behavior specific issues. They are caused, not as a result of any flaw in our system, but cause of the general mindset of the people. With the growing impatience among the masses, this is set to continue. Modifying the driving license tests or making them more 'educative' is not going to change this.

Well if you teach driving students certain rules and let them enforce properly by the traffic police, people will follow them. Yes, of course its a human problem, but its not gonna take care of itself. People will only drive properly if they are taught to and if they have to fear punishment for retarded and reckless driving.

Also, I fail to see how 'people following rules' would result in less friction on the roads?

Ever been to a non Indian road? Maybe the UAE or any European road?

Bhubaneswar re Archery ra training facility nahin, Gun ra koutharu asiba?

Ever been to a non Indian road? Maybe the UAE or any European road?

German, yes.

What's the point? They follow the rules cause of the mindset of the people, they're not only aware about the rules, but their mindset towards life, towards hygiene is very different from Indians. You cannot emulate such a situation here, not even 10-20 years down the line, majority is just not educated enough.

if you teach driving students certain rules

They already do. When people apply for a license, they are required to sit in a separate room, wherein they view a detailed audio visual clip of driving rules when on road. Further, they are given a booklet, which contains all the information, and set of traffic signs (and rules) that one is required to know, which is followed by a computerized multiple question test. Once the person passes, he is required to pass the driving test, with a few parameters aimed at evaluating both the driver's driving ability and his knowledge of the traffic rules. Once that is passed, he is issued a 'learning license', which one has to renew into a full license at the end of the period.

Now that is the established procedure, which, to me, is more than satisfactory in case of issuance of licenses. But it is not followed. Why?

Is there any flaw in the established procedure? No
Is our driving test procedure inefficient at evaluation? No
Is the procedure followed by the majority? No

Why is the procedure not duly followed? Arre bhaiya line mein lagna padega, pura din waste. Paise lo, kaam rafa dafa karo.

BTW everybody missed something very important - comprehensive sex education.

True, absolutely necessary in order to prevent the spread of HIV and to curb the population growth.

German, yes.

What's the point? They follow the rules cause of the mindset of the people, they're not only aware about the rules, but their mindset towards life, towards hygiene is very different from Indians. You cannot emulate such a situation here, not even 10-20 years down the line, majority is just not educated enough.

Germany? Good example.... I know that getting a license in Germany is pretty hard. Driving students get +10 hours of theoretical and +7 hrs of real driving training before they get admitted to the test which is divided in to 2 parts. They also have very strict traffic rules as well.

And its not just about the mindset, its a simple observation of human nature: If you dont have to fear punishment, you will drive more reckless. If you dont know how to follow traffic rules, you wont do it.

Mindset? Yes, but its no as significant as the above point. And the mindset of people is also largely influenced by the rules under which they live, because it becomes part of their life.

great thoughts, extend more options...

we had these courses in our school... however the swimming pool remained dry throughout my life in school... the house maintenance course that I studied 3 years was all theroy work.. and by the time I passed matriculation, civil defence course got abolished.

In Lucknow army Public school we had all these activities.We used to have swimming competitions,horse riding but we were not taught to use guns.Though swimming and horse riding were not compulsory.
We used to have "work experience" classes where guys were taught "carpentering" and gals had the option of choosing "art and craft" or "batik".
you're right education should not be just limited to reading books. I am for more and more activities in the school.
Unfortunately the CBSE syllabus is so extensive that children dont get time to do anything other than studying. The syllabus should be made intensive.

Edit:

We used to also get "community service" as punishment when the whole class used to default on something. :(

Swimming: Check

Firearms: Check (walther PPK, Glock-17, MP-5), local firing range with my land owner.

House maintenance: Ain't got time for that shit.