BSF protests shikar by Arab royals

Contrarian

JAISALMER: In winter, thousands of Houbara birds from cold countries come to the desert areas in Pakistan opposite the international border adjoining Jaisalmer-Bikaner without any inkling of the danger that lurks in the area. Teams of royals from the Arab countries camp here and hunt these birds. Since any type of firing near the international border is a violation of norms, the BSF had earlier sent a protest note to Pakistani Rangers. On Monday, a meeting was held with Pakistani rangers in Attari on the issue.

Even last month the issue was raised by BSF at the Indo-Pak DIG level border meeting held at Munabao.

Sources say members of the royal family hunt these birds with the help of dozens of specially-trained falcons. They are especially active at the international border adjoining Jaisalmer and Bikaner. SUVs equipped with modern communication gadgets chasing Houbara birds is a common sight.

For 2012-13, the Pakistan government has issued 12 permits for around 815 trained hunting falcons. It includes two permits for 135 falcons for the royal family of Saudi Arabia, five permits for 200 falcons for Bahrain's royal family, two permits for 250 falcons for UAE and three permits for 230 falcons for royal families of Qatar. The Pakistan government has given most of the hunting permits to the royalty and allotted them different desert areas for it. Each permit allows 100 birds to be hunted.

Sources say, these days Sheikh Abdula Bin Salem Al Khalifa, a royal from Bahrain is camping with trained falcons at Bahawalpur area in Pakistan opposite Nachna in Jaisalmer. Similarly, in the Shakhar and Sangad areas of Pakistan, UAE Sheikh Sultan Bin Khalifa Bin Jaiyad Al Nelyan and Sheikh Sultan Bin Jaiyad Al Neyan are camping.

The royals pay the Pakistan government millions of dollars to let them hunt the bird as its meat is delicious and is an aphrodisiac.

Last week, too, firing was heard near the international border opposite Nachna in Jaisalmer. A few days ago, there was firing in the area adjoining Shahgarh Bulj. After these incidents, the BSF sent a protest note to Pakistani rangers.

On November 7, in a bilateral meeting held at DIG level at Munabao the issue of firing near the international border was raised. Deputy director of Pakistani rangers had assured then that such incidents will not be repeated. But still the firing continues.

BSF protests shikar by Arab royals - The Times of India

Pakistan lets Arab Royals come to Pakistan for Shikar? For pete's sake, stop this nonsense. Its amazing what Arabs can do and get away in Pakistan. They have separate airports in Pakistan, allowed to come for Shikar, run and fund madrassa's directly. Whats wrong with you lot?

This is not new. It's being happening in Pakistan. They allow US to shikar human let alone birds.

You should be aware of what happens to Pakistani leaders after they are out of power. so, allowing them free hand will secure free flow of Money (personal accounts) but secure a safe place to live once required.

Amazing !!

JAISALMER: In winter, thousands of Houbara birds from cold countries come to the desert areas in Pakistan opposite the international border adjoining Jaisalmer-Bikaner without any inkling of the danger that lurks in the area. Teams of royals from the Arab countries camp here and hunt these birds. Since any type of firing near the international border is a violation of norms, the BSF had earlier sent a protest note to Pakistani Rangers. On Monday, a meeting was held with Pakistani rangers in Attari on the issue.

Even last month the issue was raised by BSF at the Indo-Pak DIG level border meeting held at Munabao.

Sources say members of the royal family hunt these birds with the help of dozens of specially-trained falcons. They are especially active at the international border adjoining Jaisalmer and Bikaner. SUVs equipped with modern communication gadgets chasing Houbara birds is a common sight.

For 2012-13, the Pakistan government has issued 12 permits for around 815 trained hunting falcons. It includes two permits for 135 falcons for the royal family of Saudi Arabia, five permits for 200 falcons for Bahrain's royal family, two permits for 250 falcons for UAE and three permits for 230 falcons for royal families of Qatar. The Pakistan government has given most of the hunting permits to the royalty and allotted them different desert areas for it. Each permit allows 100 birds to be hunted.

Sources say, these days Sheikh Abdula Bin Salem Al Khalifa, a royal from Bahrain is camping with trained falcons at Bahawalpur area in Pakistan opposite Nachna in Jaisalmer. Similarly, in the Shakhar and Sangad areas of Pakistan, UAE Sheikh Sultan Bin Khalifa Bin Jaiyad Al Nelyan and Sheikh Sultan Bin Jaiyad Al Neyan are camping.

The royals pay the Pakistan government millions of dollars to let them hunt the bird as its meat is delicious and is an aphrodisiac.

Last week, too, firing was heard near the international border opposite Nachna in Jaisalmer. A few days ago, there was firing in the area adjoining Shahgarh Bulj. After these incidents, the BSF sent a protest note to Pakistani rangers.

On November 7, in a bilateral meeting held at DIG level at Munabao the issue of firing near the international border was raised. Deputy director of Pakistani rangers had assured then that such incidents will not be repeated. But still the firing continues.

Have you Sir, Ever been to the Pak-India border?

Most likely not.

This news item is junk piece and thus you should have ignored it.

There are daily or weekly "flag meetings" between the border guards of the two countries. This is nothing new.

I have been to many hunting parties near Indian border.

Here is the protocol.

When you are within 1000 yards of the border, Pak border guards tell their Indian counterparts that hey do not worry, we have a hunting party in the area.

Now if this is true for a lowly baboo from Pakistan, Arab visitors must have much higher level of protocol.

So any hunting fire on Pak side should not be a HUGE surprise for Indian guards.

Oh and BTW both sides have phone contact too.

So as I said, this is another $hite news from a desi rag. So just ignore it please.

Thank you

lolz i went on same area of rahim yar khan district rangers never let go to zero point but you have whole thousands of KM desert for hunting .india has problem from each and every thing in pakstan .

No comments after this.

because they are not arabs of streets UAE primie minster visit hunting trip few days before Qatar ameer and UAE ameer and royal families do it .just go Dubai and then talk abut it :lol:

Pakistan lets Arab Royals come to Pakistan for Shikar? For pete's sake, stop this nonsense. Its amazing what Arabs can do and get away in Pakistan. They have separate airports in Pakistan, allowed to come for Shikar, run and fund madrassa's directly. Whats wrong with you lot?

no they don't have rahim yar khan air port -base bhawalpur airport they use and we have daily 3-4 flights on that airports . they just have vip protocol as they are VIP in real.

Great. You people are not even understanding why I am saying this.

Why do you allow foreign nationals to go hunting in Pakistan? That is just plain WRONG.
Why are they VIP's? Are they Heads of State? If not then they are NOT VIP's. Why should they get this. Why were they given a private airport. This goes against any kind of norms and sensibilities in India atleast. We donot let this happen.

because they are not arabs of streets UAE primie minster visit hunting trip few days before Qatar ameer and UAE ameer and royal families do it .just go Dubai and then talk abut it :lol:

There is a fundamental difference in perception here.

Shikar being permitted officially is history in India & that explains Contrarians response. I too am a former shikari and have shot a great deal on the Indian side of RYK. It does not happen any more.

Licences are sometimes granted to kill vermin but controlled.

The indignation is about allowing anyone least of all foreigners to shoot at will for pleasure and not even culling.

I recall reading of refrigerated vans accompanying such shooting parties in Pakistan.

Its their call.

As regards the protest by BSF - if they were not informed or the guns came too close to the border , they would protest. This was the convention earlier too.

Great. You people are not even understanding why I am saying this.

Why do you allow foreign nationals to go hunting in Pakistan? That is just plain WRONG.
Why are they VIP's? Are they Heads of State? If not then they are NOT VIP's. Why should they get this. Why were they given a private airport. This goes against any kind of norms and sensibilities in India atleast. We donot let this happen.

yes they are heads of states how many times i should told you . prime minister of UAE is not head of state so whom he is ? qatar ameer bhrain king and kuwaiti ameers are not random guys . thats what i told you they are VIP .

look at rahimyar khan air port these planes come for hunting trip .every arab have these to ride?

IMG_3468.jpg

IMG_3465.jpg

IMG_3483.jpg

2pak.jpg

Shikar being permitted officially is history in India & that explains Contrarians response. I too am a former shikari and have shot a great deal on the Indian side of RYK. It does not happen any more.

The indignation is about allowing anyone least of all foreigners to shoot at will for pleasure and not even culling.

I recall reading of refrigerated vans accompanying such shooting parties in Pakistan.

Its their call.

As regards the protest by BSF - if they were not informed or the guns came too close to the border , they would protest. This was the convention earlier too.
\

what ??????????? indian side of rahim yar khan? are you crazy? rahim yar khan is a pakistani city 50km inside border.:rofl:

Some crazy $hit!!!!!:cheesy:

Its their call.

Oh Bhai sahib,

Aap to atak gai gramaphone ki sui ki tarah. (My dear you are stuck like a record player needle).

I can go to America and my friends take me along for hunting trips. Canadian birds, local deer, rabbits, are hunted with no issue that a "FOREN-UR" and that too from Pakistan is hunting their animals.

What's wrong with you sir.

Did you wake up on the wrong side of bed this morning?

Please let go. This was a cr@p piece of news and you continue lapping it up as if it is sheer khurma.

Why?

Please live and let live.

Thank you