Higher Education Commission of Pakistan

Hyde

SENIOR MODERATOR
Stunned by looking at the achievements made by HEC during past few years. So I thought why not create a thread here

===============================

Achievements

The creation of HEC has had a positive impact on higher education in Pakistan.

a) Established the finest Digital Library in Pakistan: Every student in every public sector university today has access to 45,000 textbooks research monographs from 220 international publishers as well as to 25,000 international research journals - regarded as one of the best digital libraries anywhere in the world.

b) Tripled University enrollment from 135,000 in the year 2003 to 400,000 in 2008.

c) Promoted research, resulting in huge expansion of international research publications from Pakistan from only 600 research papers /yr in 2003 to 4300 research papers in 2008.

d) During the 56 year period (1947-2003) not a single Pakistani university could be ranked among the top 600 universities in the world. Today 5 of Pakistani universities are in this category with the National University of Science and Technology standing at a very respectable number 350.

e) Four year undergraduate program introduced so that our degrees are internationally recognized.

f) About 5000 Ph.D. level scholarships awarded for study in technologically advanced countries (largest program in developing world) and some 3,000 indigenous Ph.D. scholarships have been awarded. The world’s largest Fulbright Scholarship program (US $ 150 million) launched with joint funding (HEC/USAID).

g) Fifty one new universities and degree awarding institutes and 18 campuses of existing universities established during (2003-2008). These phenomenal developments have been described as a "Silent Revolution" by the World Bank in a comprehensive report, and a number of editorials and articles have appeared in the world's leading science journal, Nature. In the most recent editorial (3rd September 2009) Nature has stated that what Pakistan has done under Prof. Atta-ur-Rahman's leadership during 2002-2008 is a lesson for other developing countries.

oops can you please move this thread to some other section?

I think it deserves a better place :D

i thought India was the one making bright and bold foot prints in education sector of south asia..

Its no Pakistan vs India man

rejoice the achievements of your country :pakistan:

PU ka kya haal hai?????usse 1947 top most univ. se compare karo to bilkul bekar kar diya hai.

There was a time when the whole of Punjab used to study in Punjab University only but now the times have changed. We have several universities in Punjab including in my city. So not everybody have to go and study in Punab university (which is like a whole city of university campuses).

It is still the best University in Pakistan i think but it is no longer the only source of attaining higher education.

come on.... i thought many Pakistani fellows would be happy to hear this news :angry:

but no replies here :angry:

There was a time when the whole of Punjab used to study in Punjab University only but now the times have changed. We have several universities in Punjab including in my city. So not everybody have to go and study in Punab university (which is like a whole city of university campuses).

It is still the best University in Pakistan i think but it is no longer the only source of attaining higher education.
Have u ever seen the PU's alumni board.Recall some greatest names from it?PU was the center of excellence in whole india.

come on.... i thought many Pakistani fellows would be happy to hear this news :angry:

but no replies here :angry:
Alas Pakistanis dont themselve know wat a goldmine PU once was.how can u expect them to answer in ignorance.

b) Tripled University enrollment from 135,000 in the year 2003 to 400,000 in 2008.

d) During the 56 year period (1947-2003) not a single Pakistani university could be ranked among the top 600 universities in the world. Today 5 of Pakistani universities are in this category with the National University of Science and Technology standing at a very respectable number 350.

f) About 5000 Ph.D. level scholarships awarded for study in technologically advanced countries (largest program in developing world) and some 3,000 indigenous Ph.D. scholarships have been awarded. The world’s largest Fulbright Scholarship program (US $ 150 million) launched with joint funding (HEC/USAID).

Good work by them, can you please provide numbers for these:
1. In 2007 I read about 1 univ in top 600, may be more have gone in that figure now so can you tell which 5 univ are in top 600.
2. I read sometime back that number of PhD's in your country has gone up very high can you provide source on number of PhD's that your country is generating every yr.
3. I see number of pakistnais studying in US has been going down but I heard that Europe is becoming more favourite studying destination, do you have any numbers for numbers of pakistanis studying abroad like Australia, Europe and what kind of professions are more popular among them.

I am just asking out of curiosity and by no means trying to contradict anything indirectly, if you have figure then post them else ignore this post.

Good work by them, can you please provide numbers for these:
1. In 2007 I read about 1 univ in top 600, may be more have gone in that figure now so can you tell which 5 univ are in top 600.

In 2009 we had higher rankings in University comparing to 2010. Now only 4 Universities I could find in Top 600 Universities and the top university among them (NUST) has dropped from 350 (2009) to 366 in 2010.

366 National University of Sciences and Technology (NUST) Islamabad
551-600 University of Lahore
551-600 University of Engineering & Technology (UET) Lahore
551-600 University of Karachi

Source: World Top Universities 2010 (501-600)
and: World's Top 600 Universities ranked by US News 2010 (301-400)
2. I read sometime back that number of PhD's in your country has gone up very high can you provide source on number of PhD's that your country is generating every yr.
Read this from official website of Higher Education Commission of Pakistan.

Indigenous Ph.D. Fellowship Program (5000 Fellowships)

3. I see number of pakistnais studying in US has been going down but I heard that Europe is becoming more favourite studying destination, do you have any numbers for numbers of pakistanis studying abroad like Australia, Europe and what kind of professions are more popular among them.

I am just asking out of curiosity and by no means trying to contradict anything indirectly, if you have figure then post them else ignore this post.

I have no idea about USA but true there is a large population of Pakistani Students in Europe. I don't know the right figures so cant answer this query

Aoa all

I want to ask that how can we authenticate that an internation journal is in approved list of HEC?